2/14 Whitey PMPS 42

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
Tested 46 and retested 15 min later and got 42. I'll wait and get some more tests but I'm guessing I shouldn't shoot. I haven't been good about getting spot checks for the last couple of weeks so hard to see trends right now. I know him well enough that I think if I did shoot he'd still be up over 200 in a couple of hours. He's had several 40's but usually happens 3-9 hour range never this low at shot time
 
Looks like Whitey want to try 1.0U again. :mrgreen: Keep testing, without feeding, every 15-20 minutes. Don't shoot unless he comes up above 50. If your schedule can take the change, you'll be good to shoot. You can move your shot time back 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes once a day. Since it's the weekend, you can get back on track if he doesn't take too long to go above 50.
 
Thanks. I have a 3 day weekend so I should have no problem delaying a bit and getting back on schedule.

He's been on a viscous cycle back and forth between 1 unit and 1.25. After a few weeks on 1.25 he starts getting into the 40s and then I reduce to 1 unit and he'll end up in the 200 and 300s all day long until I go back to 1.25 and then he'll come down and eventually stat getting really low like today. He likes to keep life interesting. We just took him to the vet last week and had full blood and labs and they said he's in great shape for his age other then the diabetes. They also think he might be around 14 which is a few years older then I thought but he was an adult when we adopted him so can't be sure.
 
Just got a 45 on second retest. I'm sure he'll get over 50 in the next hour. Of course he's acting completely normal as usual when he's low
 
My kitty, Cinco, acts completely normal when he's low, too. My vet has freaked out when I've told her he's been in the 40s and even 30s, but you would never know it unless you test him. I'm not sure if that's a good or a bad thing!

Have you considered doing a fat 1.0 or a skinny 1.25? If one is too much and the other too little, that might work. It's a pain to measure consistently, but it's worth a try. Good luck!
 
nemismom said:
My kitty, Cinco, acts completely normal when he's low, too. My vet has freaked out when I've told her he's been in the 40s and even 30s, but you would never know it unless you test him. I'm not sure if that's a good or a bad thing!

Have you considered doing a fat 1.0 or a skinny 1.25? If one is too much and the other too little, that might work. It's a pain to measure consistently, but it's worth a try. Good luck!
My syringes have 1/2 unit marks so measuring 1.25 is a pain sometimes and so he probably gets a fat 1.0 or skinny 1.25 some shots just because it's hard to get 1.25 exactly
 
Some people here use digital calipers to measure a dose. You set it once for that dose, then you have something to compare against for each subsequent dose. The BD syringes I use are pretty bad for consistency and I've measured almost .5U difference on the lines. Here's Marje's post on dosing with calipers if you are interested. The bonus I find is that the two of us can measure the dose and I'll know we'll both do it the same. And it's much easier to find those in between doses.
 
I rested again and got a 21 so I freaked out and fed him. He's back around 45 so that may have been a bad test. Should I stop his shot now since I wont know if rise is temporary from eating?
 
Probably best to skip tonight now. You want to keep testing though, to make sure he's on his way up with food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top