2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576 + 3 526 +5 586

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadow12345

Member Since 2014
YESTERDAYS CONDO
posting.php?mode=edit&f=9&p=1197435

Good Morning!
We had an eventful day yesterday. First time stalling. We think it went ok. Thank you to everyone who posted it was encouraging to have you by our side! We ended up stalling for a total of 1 hour, and checked every 15 minutes! phewwwww
Happy Valetine's Day!

2/14
AMPS 412
PMPS 505
+1 HI
+ 2 576
+3 526
+5 586
+8 412

(possible bouncing occuring, NDW)
ANyone have any suggestions to what is going on?! Shadow is HI, I am confused!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412

Great job stalling yesterday!!! Stalling for the first time is one of those "rites of passage" in the world of FD :lol: ...you are right, those blocks of time move soooooo slowly!

Look like a bit of a bounce this morning, but no doubt Shadow will hop right back into the game. Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI

great job surviving yesterday's excitement! at some point before too long you're going to be celebrating an opportunity to shoot low! but not the first time you see a low preshot - that gave you valuable data on how Shadow's blood sugar moves up at the end of the cycle.

Shadow's definitely bouncing from the green numbers yesterday. Here's a description of it (second post down): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012 She'll recover and you'll see good numbers again before long. In the meantime, we don't increase the dose for bouncing highs.
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI

hi there :cool:

Like Julie said - bouncing.

It was less than 24 hours from black to green last time Shadow saw black.
hopefully this will clear as quickly or maybe even a bit quicker!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI

julie & punkin (ga) said:
great job surviving yesterday's excitement! at some point before too long you're going to be celebrating an opportunity to shoot low! but not the first time you see a low preshot - that gave you valuable data on how Shadow's blood sugar moves up at the end of the cycle.

Shadow's definitely bouncing from the green numbers yesterday. Here's a description of it (second post down): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012 She'll recover and you'll see good numbers again before long. In the meantime, we don't increase the dose for bouncing highs.
THANK YOU FOR THE USEFUL INFORMATION!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI

TRUE POINT!
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
hi there :cool:

Like Julie said - bouncing.

It was less than 24 hours from black to green last time Shadow saw black.
hopefully this will clear as quickly or maybe even a bit quicker!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576

:-D you're welcome.

gosh andrea, you are a ton of fun to help. just want to say! i love your enthusiasm and your commitment to learning how to help Shadow.

hope you're having a good evening!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576

Hi Andrea!!

Those bounces are frustrating, but they eventually don't bounce as high, and don't take as long to clear a bounce. It's harder on us beans than it is on our kitties!

NDW is a totally different thing though. New Dose Wonkiness only applies to increases in dose...you'd think the numbers would come down with an increase, and instead, they go up. That's NDW! It's important those times to just hold on and let the dose "settle".

Here's more info on NDW for you!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576

Chris & China said:
Hi Andrea!!

Those bounces are frustrating, but they eventually don't bounce as high, and don't take as long to clear a bounce. It's harder on us beans than it is on our kitties!

NDW is a totally different thing though. New Dose Wonkiness only applies to increases in dose...you'd think the numbers would come down with an increase, and instead, they go up. That's NDW! It's important those times to just hold on and let the dose "settle".

Here's more info on NDW for you!

Hello, I read the info in NDW, so NDW is something that usually occurs within 2-3 days of the insulin increase, when you see the kitties numbers go up for no reason at all. Just so I understand completely..... Are we thinking because of the STALL from 2/13 PMPS that this is a bounce? Thanks for the help, and teaching. Much appreciated!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576

I really enjoy learning all of this information. I was just talking to my Husband, and we are so thankful to have found everyone on here. This information, the tools, the people & of course special Kitties! Are priceless
julie & punkin (ga) said:
:-D you're welcome.

gosh andrea, you are a ton of fun to help. just want to say! i love your enthusiasm and your commitment to learning how to help Shadow.

hope you're having a good evening!
 
Re: 2/14 Shadow AMPS 412 PMPS 505 + 1 HI +2 576 + 3 526 +5

Are we thinking because of the STALL from 2/13 PMPS that this is a bounce?

No, the Stall didn't cause the bounce, but the REASON you stalled did. Shadow's BG numbers dropped into the low blues and greens which is "unknown territory" for Shadow's liver right now. He's been diabetic long enough that his liver has become accustomed to those higher numbers and thinks that those are "Normal". So when Shadow actually does drop into lower numbers, his liver thinks something is wrong, panics, and sends out hormones and sugars to bring it back up to where it's "Used to". That's the bounce.

Now you just have to wait for those "bounce" hormones and sugars to clear his body, which can take up to 72 hours. You never want to increase the dose when you might be bouncing because when that bounce clears, they can come down FAST...and if you'd increased at the same time, you could send them too low again, and either have a hypo, or just set them up to bounce again.

Hope that helps explain it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top