2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329 +4 321 +6 295 +11 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113680

Back in the high yellows this morning. That 458 was very high, but thankfully the highest he got last night before coming down.

I kept the dose at 1.50u this morning. I guess if he goes too high this afternoon I should raise it a bit? .25??

Rocky recap for yesterday:

AMPS 172
+2 110
+4 150
+6 312
+11 351

PMPS 309
+2 458
+3 419
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

When I look at 02/13/AMPS on the ss, I wonder - 'where did Rocky go last night?'

If you step back from Rockys ss and look at it, there is a consistent lack of data on the PM cycles between +4 and AMPS.
This is a big piece of the puzzle that needs to be filled in. Many kitties run lower on the overnight cycles.

Try and get some tests sprinkled in so that those 'wide open spaces' become less so.
Grab a +6 one night, a + 8 another, a +10 yet another night etc.

Remember - Lantus dosing is based primarily on nadir - for both the AM and PM cycles.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267 +2 552 (rt)196 (rt)284

Hi Sandy,

Yes, well, I don't have any after the evening PMPS cycle after +4 for a few days now because I was severely lacking sleep, and if I didn't get to bed before 2AM I was going to fall asleep while driving.

I'm not sure what just happened at this +2 but the numbers were all over the board. First poke at +2 was 552 which completely freaked me out. Immediately retested=(rt), and got 196. That was too much of a different so immediately did another one and got 284.

I'm going to wait until +4 to take another one. I need to get back to bed, again.

I'll work on getting a few evening numbers as soon as I can.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267 +2 284 +5 327 +7 390

He's going awfully high today. I am wondering if I should stop using the insulin prescriptions from 12/21/2013 and 1/10/2014.

I have a new Lantus Pen but have never tried it before. I am wondering if the insulin from the other two bottles might possibly be ineffective? Very tiny amount left in either bottle though anyway. Thinking of throwing them away.

Do you think I should increase Rocky's dose tonight, to 1.75u, even when using my new Lantus Pen?

Thanks!
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267 +2 284 +5 327 +7 390

Tina, both of those prescriptions should still be fine unless they have floaters or are cloudy. My vials have lasted a full 6 months in the refrigerator and although I went ahead and replaced it then, I think the insulin was still perfectly fine. I'm unsure as to why there'd only be a little left though. You haven't been on high enough doses that either one of those vials should be close to empty (or are they pens?)

I know it's awful hard to get up in those wee hours of the morning to grab a test, but I bet if you set an alarm, you'd be able to pretty much "sleep test" by now. There are many mornings I wake up and there's a number filled in on my spreadsheet that I don't remember doing, and when I check my meter, sure enough, I'd been up and tested at some horrible hour of the morning!

If you do use a new pen tonight, just in case there might have been a problem with the others, I'd hold the 1.5 and try to get one or two of those sleep deprived tests in. With the weekend here, if he doesn't show something tonight, you could increase tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267 +2 284 +5 327 +7 390

hmmm, i'm wondering about those 2 vials. were those repackaged by the vet? I'm scratching my head how you could possibly have used up 2 vials in this long.

if you didn't get an original vial from a pharmacy, i would be suspicious. i think it's still working because Rocky got down in the low blue numbers yesterday.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky AMPS 267 +2 284 +5 327 +7 390

Tina & Rocky said:
Do you think I should increase Rocky's dose tonight, to 1.75u, even when using my new Lantus Pen?
I recommend you hold tight until the overnight picture gets a bit clearer for this dose.

I also recommend that if you suspect your insulin is toast, you don't increase and use fresh juice at the same time.
Otherwise you could encounter unexpected lows (and the sleep deprivation that comes with the package)
Give the fresh insulin a couple cycles to settle in and take it from there.

In the absence of a crisis take advantage of the the luxury to change one variable at a time.
It will make for less head-scratching over results. :cool:
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299

Thank you everyone for your input.

Sandy, yes, those were the two vials that were re-packaged by the vet's office. I've decided to toss them. They cost a lot of money but I just feel uncertain about them.

I used the new Solaris Pen tonight and held steady with the 1.50u. Let's see how he does overnight.

He was like this before PMPS tonight. He had two stinky pinkies and the rest in the yellows:

AMPS 267
+2 284
+5 327
+7 390
+9 277

PMPS 299
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299

that was me asking about it. i'm thinking someone (sienne?) said that was illegal to repackage it. The way Lantus works is dependent on its PH. I know it can't be diluted because of its formulation.

i'll be curious to see if the new pen makes a difference.

did you watch the video on how to draw a dose from the pen? it's different than the vials. You don't want to contaminate it.

[youtube]u4KtK_skpmQ[/youtube]
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299

Hi Julie,

Thanks, yes did watch how to get the insulin out of the pen the other day. I was really worried about it at first because the pharmacist told me that it would be difficult to get out, even with the needled syringe. She thought there were be too much pressure to be able to pull it out. I remembered that you need to have the plunger part shoved all the way to the top and holding it with your fingers while you stick the needle into it. It worked fine.

Well, the insulin from the vet may or may not have been still good. It was definitely repackaged as they would only give me 2mLs of it at a time. I didn't know that it was illegal to do this until someone here had mentioned it. I think that it might have been Sienna.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299

It probably was Sienne. I also would not use repackaged insulin. I think you were better off to do as you did and start the pen.

Just be sure you hold onto the plunger when you insert the needle because the pressure can pull insulin back into the pen and you don't want that to happen.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299

once you've got a bit out of the pen the pressure equalizes, or something, in any case it doesn't want to suck the insulin back in from your syringe anymore. it doesn't take too long to get to that point.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

Hi Julie, well that's not good news about the pen. What is one suppose to do at that point if the insulin won't come out of it?

I think I might not throw the other insulins away just yet, if people think it will last 6 months. Neither vial is cloudy.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

That's not what she meant. She was referring to the same thing I was. When the pen has a lot of pressure, at first, it's harder to pull the plunger back as you draw the dose and you have to keep a grip on it or the pressure will cause the insulin to be sucked back into the pen. Once you've used it a bit, the pressure decreases and it's easier to draw the dose. I've used my pens to almost the last drop with no problem.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

Thanks Marje. OK that makes sense. I pressed really hard on that plunger when I was sticking it into the pen. I also didn't have a problem pulling it out into the syringe. Maybe my fingers are stronger than I realized.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

your lantus pen is made to dial the dose, just like that Caninsulin pen. There are "pen needles" that fasten onto the pen to inject using that dial on the end. Caninsulin isn't a cat insulin, though, it was developed for dogs. i see the pics of cats in the ad, but my understanding is that it doesn't last long enough for a cat's metabolism.

the reason we don't use the dial thing on the pen is because it isn't accurate enough to adjust doses in 0.25u increments, like cats need. it would be convenient though, if it worked.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

It still has too large of measurement and we need to microdose. With Gracie! I am sometimes adjusting her dose by 0.05u. You'd never be able to do that with a pen.
 
Re: 2/14 Rocky PMPS 299 +2 329

Marje I feel like I can barely micro-dose the .25u when change is needed. I don't how you manage to do .05u dosage. @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top