2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, +3 210, First SubQ Fluids!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS 245
PMPS 247
+2.75 341!
+6 281

Good morning, LL, and Happy Valentine's Day!

It's good to be back home from my vacation.
I'm looking forward to beginning some treatments to help Ripley with her kidneys: this morning I added phosphorus binder to her food for the first time, and I'm hoping to be able to begin fluids either tonight or tomorrow night.
I'm also going to increase her Lantus from 0.75 to 1.0u starting tonight, to help bring her numbers down.

I'm sending much love to Michelle and Tony, and feel-better vines to Moonie and Gracie.
Also, Happy Birthday to Gabby!
And Happy Annifursary to Tarragon!

I wish all beans and their Valentines (whether hooman or furry) a wonderful day!

~Josie
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley AMPS 292

Welcome home! It is always so nice to get home. Good luck with the binder and fluids. You are on top of it! Good luck with the increase as well. Happy Valentine's Day!!
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley AMPS 292

Morning Josie ~O) ~O) ~O)

Welcome home! I hope you had a wodnerful, and relaxing vacation. Somehow it always feels good to be back home. :cool:

Good luck with all that you will do for Ripley and her kidneys - all sounds good, and I expect it will help her with her renal values. Wishing you much luck. Good luck too with the dosecrease. Ripley - you are one lucky kitty - more juice, and good meds to help you.

Have a great day today. I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley AMPS 292

Good Morning & Welcome Home Josie ~O) :smile:

Good luck with Ripley's treatments & dosecrease!

Happy Valentine's Day!
 
2/14 Ripley AMPS 292, +8.25 262

Thank you for the "welcome-homes" and "good-lucks!"

Ripley is now doing one of her favorite things: basking in the sun. It's about 70 degrees here ~ perfect sunning weather!

Even though her numbers are higher than I'd want them to be, she seems to be perkier. Maybe it's because she's no longer taking Clavamox.

A funny thing happened last night: I was lounging on the couch, and Ripley left her rocking chair to come snuggle with me (for the first time in about a month!). I missed her so much while I was away, so I was showering her with pets and scritches. She suddenly looked annoyed and gently swatted my hand (something she usually only does with our civvie and our dog). I think I was being punished for being gone! When I stopped being affectionate, and after my DH and I stopped laughing, she continued to nuzzle and snuggle with me. Guess it had to be on her own terms! She's such a cat sometimes :lol: !
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley AMPS 292, +8.25 262

Welcome home, Josie. Good luck with the fluids and phosphorus binders. You're doing great by starting right away with everything. Maggie has been on fluids for a few months now, and she's so at ease I can do it while she's sleeping. That is hilarious with Ripley swatting your hand. :lol: It definitely has to be on their terms. She's the boss.
 
2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, First SubQ Fluids!

I just saw Moonie's candle ~ this week has been extraordinarily difficult with the passing of Scrabble and now Moonie. Though I've only been a part of the LL family since November, I feel like I've lost a couple of kitties truly dear to my heart. And my heart is breaking for my LL friends who are grieving; we all know this is a part of the process, that it takes a while to remember how to fill that empty space with love and happy memories. So tonight I dedicate this post and the lighted candle near me to Michelle and Roni and their dear husbands, and to Scrabble and Moonie.

Today was a big day for my Ripley.
1. First phosphorus binder added to food.
2. Increased her Lantus dose to 1.0u.
3. She got her first sub-q fluids!

I am to give Ripley 50cc of fluid, every other day.
I was so nervous, but tried being brave for Ripley. I'm so glad my DH was there to help ~ he's Mr. CalmCool&Collected.
Ripley stayed put, though she tried to get up before we were done with her fluid amount. And she tried to bite me when I didn't let her leave her chair. (Luckily, as with the 'gentle swat' she gave me last night, Ripley's never been one to follow-through with her strikes; she never uses her claws, and I don't think she could hurt someone even if she really tried.)
The amount (50cc) really isn't much, so it only took a few minutes. Afterward, she bathed (esp. in the spot where the fluids were ~ probably felt strange), got some freeze-dried shrimp, and she is now sleeping (her favorite hobby).

This went pretty smoothly, thank goodness. She puts up with so much. My sweet valentine.

Hug your kitties tonight, and continue to love love love them.


cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, First SubQ Fluids!

It is amazing what our kitters put up with, they are such troopers. cat_pet_icon And you are so right, it's been a sad day and a hard week in LL, we are so attached to all our kitties in this LL family. Congrats on your first fluids! We know that is down the road for us as well with Zener, he is in early stages of CDK and we are trying to get him on lower phosphorus foods and adding more water to his foods. When the time comes, we'll come to the experts here in LL for our training! The knowledge here is awesome.
Hope you have have a restful Valentine eve and Ripley gives you lots of cuddles and purrs. :razz:
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, First SubQ Fluids!

(((Josie)))

What a sweet post and dedication. It has been such a sad week for our LL family. Mike said tonight, while we don't know each other in person and we've never seen each others cats, we get so attached to these kitties and to each other.

Congrats on your achievements today! Great job! One thing that I wonder about is giving fluids every other day. Does Ripley have any cardiac issues? Generally, it is much better to give them fluids daily provided they totally absorb the fluids you give them before the next time you do it. 50 mls of fluid is tiny.....10 tsps. My little six pound Teddi Bear got 75 mls sid and her numbers were lower than Ripleys.

However, I will add that it might help her starting out to do EOD but Id ask the vet soon about daily squids.

I'm glad she's feeling better. Good luck with the increase. You are such a great mom!

PS. Thank you for mentioning Gracie...I'm sure your well wishes helped to make her better! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, First SubQ Fluids!

Hi, Marje ~ thank you for the advice about the daily squids. My vet visit got cut short today due to an emergency (a poor dog was attacked by 3 other dogs), so I do have several unanswered questions for the vet (the amt. and frequency being among them). I'm planning on calling him tomorrow. I have a feeling that he doesn't have many (any?) clients who administer fluids, so his experience is likely limited (as with FD). So it may be time for me to print out some info for him...

Oh, and Ripley doesn't have any heart issues (that I know of). I didn't realize that 50mls = 10tsp! It is such a small amount.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 2/14 Ripley PMPS 262, First SubQ Fluids!

I agree; for instance, giving 50 mL every day is better than 100 mL every other day, or splitting the dose into morning/evening if it gets to that point. When it was subq time for my civvie, I'd say "Are you ready for your lump?" because it always created an amusing little hump on her. Sometimes it stayed up on her back like a camel, and other times it shifted around. I guess you have to find the humor in these situations... :roll:

MJ
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top