2/14 Raymond James AMPS +3,227, +6, 172, +12, 151

Suzanne asked some good questions. With SLGS, you hold the dose if you are seeing nadirs between 90 and 149, which you do seem to be seeing now. He's looking much better! How's he feeling/behaving now?
 
Suzanne asked some good questions. With SLGS, you hold the dose if you are seeing nadirs between 90 and 149, which you do seem to be seeing now. He's looking much better! How's he feeling/behaving now?
He's ok. Thanks for asking. I'm going to lower the dose to 40, OK?
 
40 for the next ten days? And you will be getting AMPS and PMPS numbers every 12 hours before shooting each day and evening, right? Sorry, just trying to understand. Your work schedule sounds rough.
 
Next time you post for dose help, please keep the spreadsheet up to date. We are all very data driven here and need to see the numbers. 85 earned a reduction. If you were able to monitor I would have suggested 45 units.
 
40 for the next ten days? And you will be getting AMPS and PMPS numbers every 12 hours before shooting each day and evening, right? Sorry, just trying to understand. Your work schedule sounds rough.
I will try to update every day, thanks. Yep, always test before shooting and more if able.
Unfortunately, I can't post for help in the morning, on my way out the door. I was so worried about Raymond James all day with 85 BG. Couldn't wait to get home. Now he's high again, my fault. Not asking enough questions. When Raymond James has six cycles of his lowest numbers, and test at 85 BG, do I still shoot 50/40 units not home to watch him. So nerve wracking. I'm glad he was lower but worry when I'm not home. Thanks to you and Wendy soooo very much.. Guess I need to start over...
And they're he is with a smirk on his face, where's my food!!!
 
Last edited:
Next time you post for dose help, please keep the spreadsheet up to date. We are all very data driven here and need to see the numbers. 85 earned a reduction. If you were able to monitor I would have suggested 45 units.
Thanks Wendy. So worried about low BG, which is great, as I said to Suzanne, not home to test with the lowest BG ever. Six good cycles and then 85 AMPS. Spoke to my vet who asked me to keep him up-to-date, vet said I can live with the low numbers but that's a lot of insulin. So what do I do when he is lower than usual and shoot 40/50 units and gone for 10 hours?
I know, I have anxiety.
Yinz keep me going and I sooo appreciate everyone's knowledge. I wish I knew what to shoot and leave and not worry!!!!
 
If you are on your way out the door when you shoot, at what +time do you get up in the AM? Just wondering if you could get a +10 or +11 when you first get up and use the AMPS with that to figure out if he's on his way up or down at AMPS. If he's on his way up, it's easier to shoot. I'd stick with 40 units for now, since you've got 4 cycles on it now. Then when you get a chance, grab some more mid cycle data and we'll figure out where to go from there.

One day, when you can, it'd be good to do a curve, testing every two hours, so we can figure when his onset is (when insulin shot starts to lower his numbers). Neko's was +5, so it was really easy to shoot lower numbers as I knew she was going up for hours yet.
 
If you are on your way out the door when you shoot, at what +time do you get up in the AM? Just wondering if you could get a +10 or +11 when you first get up and use the AMPS with that to figure out if he's on his way up or down at AMPS. If he's on his way up, it's easier to shoot. I'd stick with 40 units for now, since you've got 4 cycles on it now. Then when you get a chance, grab some more mid cycle data and we'll figure out where to go from there.

One day, when you can, it'd be good to do a curve, testing every two hours, so we can figure when his onset is (when insulin shot starts to lower his numbers). Neko's was +5, so it was really easy to shoot lower numbers as I knew she was going up for hours yet.
Did get a PMPS, +6, insomnia. Doing a curve, 2-18. BG, back to 300's...
SS, updated!!!
 
Poor RJ is so pink. Good job getting the test. I'll be glad when you can increase his dose back up when your schedule returns to "normal." How many more days?
 
Also, I'm really glad you are using Levemir. I could not handle the dives that a lot of cats see on Lantus ... and you not being home a lot.

Seems like you got some good daytime data today so far though. He's fairly flat (that's why I'm liking the Levemir).
 
Also, I'm really glad you are using Levemir. I could not handle the dives that a lot of cats see on Lantus ... and you not being home a lot.

Seems like you got some good daytime data today so far though. He's fairly flat (that's why I'm liking the Levemir).
Yes, can't remember who advised to use Levemir for high dose. Tried lantus, prozinc. Thanks again to all who are so knowledge in diabetes. Also, advised to get tested for acro, that is what Raymond James has. Then advised to administrate cabergoline for the over-growth of hormones. Amazing how much expertise here. As you have heard before, more than vets... Something is finally working!!!!
 
How is that beautiful boy today?
Awww, you're soo sweet suzanne. Thank you for asking. He's ok, got a ferocious appetite. Activity, not much. Purrs, seems like not peeing as much. Not too beautiful, fur is matted, try to brush every day. Poor baby, my sister said he looks awful...
 
Poor RJ is so pink. Good job getting the test. I'll be glad when you can increase his dose back up when your schedule returns to "normal." How many more days?
Thanks for the confidence. 40 units, seven cycles, four days. What would I increase to? Hear we go again, then he drops, which is wonderful. How low is BG, cycles, days, before he would go hypo, if possible??? That is the question with data, insulin, cycles, days. Guess hard to predict...
 
I would go up to 45 units when you can monitor again. 40 is not enough and he looks stuck in pink right now.

Next time, could you start a new post instead of just adding to the old one? Thank you.
 
What’s the lowest number you’ve ever seen on him? 85? 85 is a safe green number and not a hypo number. It would be good to see him come down gradually from pinks to yellows to blues, etc. and if you really aren’t home a lot it would be fine to stabilize him in blues. Of course, our cats don’t always cooperate with us.
 
What’s the lowest number you’ve ever seen on him? 85? 85 is a safe green number and not a hypo number. It would be good to see him come down gradually from pinks to yellows to blues, etc. and if you really aren’t home a lot it would be fine to stabilize him in blues. Of course, our cats don’t always cooperate with us.
Right on....
 
I would go up to 45 units when you can monitor again. 40 is not enough and he looks stuck in pink right now.

Next time, could you start a new post instead of just adding to the old one? Thank you.
Welcome, thank you for everything!!!
 
Back
Top