2/14, Pookey, AMPS 115, +3 72, +4 81, PMPS 112, +3 78, +4 88

He's managing the insulin so well! Good luck with the decision (I can't see where a decrease would hurt--you can always go up, right?).
Thanks Mary!! I think that’s the way I’m leaning too. We shall see what happens. Appreciate you talking it through :bighug:
 
He's managing the insulin so well! Good luck with the decision (I can't see where a decrease would hurt--you can always go up, right?).
You know, what I would really like to understand is what actually is happening, physiologically speaking, to these kitties moving toward remission. I wonder if holding them in these normal-range numbers longer with a little bit of insulin helps them have stronger remissions. Elise said on someone else's post (I think Andrea and Merme's 2/14 post) that it's important to get rid of the blue numbers altogether (with a drop dose) to get a strong remission. Anyway, I think knowing what's happening with them as they are moving toward remission helps people like you, who are so close to remission, make decisions about dose changes.
 
You know, what I would really like to understand is what actually is happening, physiologically speaking, to these kitties moving toward remission. I wonder if holding them in these normal-range numbers longer with a little bit of insulin helps them have stronger remissions. Elise said on someone else's post (I think Andrea and Merme's 2/14 post) that it's important to get rid of the blue numbers altogether (with a drop dose) to get a strong remission. Anyway, I think knowing what's happening with them as they are moving toward remission helps people like you, who are so close to remission, make decisions about dose changes.
Right! I saw Elise say that. Scientifically I have no idea. Like is the pancreas taking over some of the insulin production how it’s supposed to? The cats in actual remission have mostly solid greens so that part worries me.
 
Right! I saw Elise say that. Scientifically I have no idea. Like is the pancreas taking over some of the insulin production how it’s supposed to? The cats in actual remission have mostly solid greens so that part worries me.
When Jude went into remission, he didn't have solid greens. His blues were low, and he was within normal bg range (80-120) for 14 days. That said, I wonder if I had gotten Jude to the point that he was in solid greens (or, as Elise said, 50 - 100 most of the time), his remission would have been stronger (it only held for about six months). I didn't know to do that at the time--no one suggested it to me. I do think that for cats, the pancreas heals itself over time, or something like that. There is probably a sticky that explains this :D
 
When Jude went into remission, he didn't have solid greens. His blues were low, and he was within normal bg range (80-120) for 14 days. That said, I wonder if I had gotten Jude to the point that he was in solid greens (or, as Elise said, 50 - 100 most of the time), his remission would have been stronger (it only held for about six months). I didn't know to do that at the time--no one suggested it to me. I do think that for cats, the pancreas heals itself over time, or something like that. There is probably a sticky that explains this :D
Still, 6 months is great. I wouldn’t beat yourself up about it, maybe it can look different for each cat too. I can’t remember, what brought Jude out? I’ve got my reading project for tonight ;)
 
Still, 6 months is great. I wouldn’t beat yourself up about it, maybe it can look different for each cat too. I can’t remember, what brought Jude out? I’ve got my reading project for tonight ;)
He had a UTI. I tested him every week when he was in remission, and suddenly his numbers started rising. I took him into the vet, and he had a UTI. And now we're here today :confused:
 
He had a UTI. I tested him every week when he was in remission, and suddenly his numbers started rising. I took him into the vet, and he had a UTI. And now we're here today :confused:
Oh my gosh. That is crazy a UTI would do that. I’m really glad he’s in better numbers these days.
 
His nadirs are a tad higher on this dose than the previous one. You could just hold the dose a little longer and then see whether you need to go up or down in dose.
 
Back
Top