? 2/14 Noogi - AMPS 398 +5.5 329, PMPS 407 - time to increase dose?

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Another high number this morning :(
And I have noticed he's drinking more water.
I'm wondering if its time to consider a dose increase from 0.5u to 0.75u - perhaps from tonight?
Please could some experienced members look at his spreadsheet and give me their opinion.

I know I haven't done a full curve, but I do have lots of data.
I will be around to monitor him closely this coming weekend.

Thanks in advance for any input.
 
With SLGS, he actually earned a reduction by dropping below 90 a couple of days ago. The higher numbers you are seeing are him bouncing from greens.

Can you feed him less with the shot so that he eats a little later in the cycle? Bouncing is triggered not just by lower numbers but also sharp drops. You want to use food to "flatten" the curve.
 
With SLGS, he actually earned a reduction by dropping below 90 a couple of days ago. The higher numbers you are seeing are him bouncing from greens.

Can you feed him less with the shot so that he eats a little later in the cycle? Bouncing is triggered not just by lower numbers but also sharp drops. You want to use food to "flatten" the curve.
Thanks Bhooma. I think that green a couple of days ago was an aberration due to the fact that his appetite was off that morning and he didn't eat as normal. Didn't see him getting anywhere close to it the few days before or since.
For the last week or so I have been using an automated feeder for his snacks. He usually eats at time of shot, and then +2, +5 and +8 (ish). He is definitely more hungry at night and will pester me for more if he finishes his snacks, which might account for the higher AMPS number.
I think I will try feed him a little less with his shot as you suggest and maybe give him slightly more food for his snacks.
I'd so like to see him back in the blues and dark greens. Am I being very impatient? (yes, I am). Should I just give it more time?
 
Why not try TR since you're testing enough for it? Might as well get some gain from all the pain you are taking! That way you can increase his dose tonight and see what he does on it since you can monitor over the weekend.
 
Why not try TR since you're testing enough for it? Might as well get some gain from all the pain you are taking! That way you can increase his dose tonight and see what he does on it since you can monitor over the weekend.

I think I might do that. I need to re-read all about the TR protocol to get my head around it.
I know I need to do more testing an the nadirs.
How do care givers monitor the night-time nadirs? Set alarms and check 2am?
Since I got the feeder I am finally getting a better nights sleep. Compared to before anyway. I still get a cat eeeeping in my face at 5am. If I try to ignore him I get a paw on my cheek :D
 
I think I might do that. I need to re-read all about the TR protocol to get my head around it.
I know I need to do more testing an the nadirs.
How do care givers monitor the night-time nadirs? Set alarms and check 2am?
Since I got the feeder I am finally getting a better nights sleep. Compared to before anyway. I still get a cat eeeeping in my face at 5am. If I try to ignore him I get a paw on my cheek :D
You are testing enough for TR. TR requires at least 1 test per cycle in addition to the preshot test. In unregulated cats, nadirs can and do move around. They tend to later in bounce clearing cycles. Some cats nadir as late as the end of the cycle when clearing bounces and I see Noogi doing that every now and then.

You'll get the hang of it as you go along. A lot of caregivers balk at the idea of TR but once they try it and see how much their cats enjoy being in better numbers, they find it addictive. :)
 
Last edited:
You are testing enough for TR. TR requires at least 1 test per cycle in addition to the preshot test. In unregulated cats, nadirs can and do move around. They tend to later in bounce clearing cycles. Some cats nadir as late as the end of the cycle when clearing bounces and I see Noogi doing that every now and then.

You'll get the hang of it as you go along. A lot of caregivers balk at the idea of TR but once they try and see how much their cats enjoy being in better numbers, they find it addictive. :)
Thanks for the info and encouragement Bhooma :bighug:
If you are on the message board please keep an eye on Noogi's spreadsheet. I welcome any comments or advice :)
 
Good luck with the increase Helen, on your spreadsheet up top above where you have insulin can you put the date Noogi was diagnosed, you have trgf :bighug::cat:
You know, I had it filled that info in (on the World page where I enter data) but I am almost certain Noogi overwrote it on the US page! He always walks over my laptop keyboard, he just did it again know. He's a menace :facepalm::joyful:
I've copied it across again so should display correctly now !
 
You know, I had it filled that info in (on the World page where I enter data) but I am almost certain Noogi overwrote it on the US page! He always walks over my laptop keyboard, he just did it again know. He's a menace :facepalm::joyful:
I've copied it across again so should display correctly now !
Helen this just made me laugh :p
Date looks good now , Noogi is such a a handsome boy :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top