2/14 Maverick - PMPS 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36669

I'm working on avoiding an evil neck tension migraine. The head forward/down positions are a huge trigger. I've had to pill my dog the last few days as she's discovered treats have the pills. And it took multiple attempts this morning and I gave up. Going to have to figure something else out. So I'm in bed, propped up. The memory foam neck travel pillows are worth their weight in gold. My brother got me two for Christmas the year before last. I have the flexeril/muscle relaxant at the side table. If I can get the muscle to loosen up it won't trigger the nerve. I hate losing the day to sleep but I hate losing the day to pain so much more.

Maverick is on day 2 of the increased dose. I'll have to take a picture of it to know if its .25 or not. Forgotten what the .25 looked like. Spreadsheet isn't up to date two 90+ readings last night. Chatty Kathy was off visiting last night. Thank you!

Off to visit.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

hope you can avoid those very painful migraines. Take care of yourself.

Maverick be good for your Bean and surf some nice numbers today.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Good morning guys .. nice start to the day maverick .. now please make sure to take care of your beanz .. just be careful and take it easy .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hi Karrie, sorry to hear about your neck and migraine trying to rear its ugly head, sounds so painful. I should look into those pillows. I see the Neurologist Thursday about the cervical spine spondyliosis (fancy word for osteo arthritis of neck). I could never fool my cat with those pill treats. My GA kitty would somehow get the pill removed. They are too smart for us! That's a very nice AMPS this morning for Maverick. Happy Valentine's day. don't forget the B Day party today for Raja, Shadow & Chaos!
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hi guys,

I'm going to be reading condo's but typing is causing my shoulders to tense up. So no typing for me.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hi Karrie, just take it easy on yourself today and rest in bed. Maverick looks like he's doing so well, too! I hope you're able to pill your dog today. I tried wrapping the pill in tuna for my kitty one time and barely made it. My nephew used to wrap a pill in part of a hot dog for his dog; it worked even though the hot dog isn't a great food. Thanks for the info on that neck pillow, nice price, too. I'm going to send for it! My problem is pressure on a nerve root; I have the MRI report, and the Acupuncturist helped interpret it for me. I think they do steroid shots for it according to some research I'm doing to educate myself!
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Wonder if some cheese would work for the doggie. Anyway, I do hope you can rest today Karrie...
Sending feel better vines to you and some hugs too! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hi Karrie, I hope you'll be able to get some good rest today to take the pressure off your neck and get rid of the migraine. Are there any gentle exercises you could do? I'll send you some vines later, if I can get the ice off them!
Good luck with measuring Maverick's new dose!!!!! And good luck with the dog pills. Do you have one of those pill shooters? When we had to pill Stu, that was the only thing that worked (at least some of the time!)

Feel better!

Ella

Hey Mav., we're heading out to the big birthday party in Florida later today. Shadow, Raja, Gabby, Chaos, Gizmo, Atlas, and Brianna are celebrating birthdays this week. Mannie & I are working on a FD friendly cinnamon cake. See you later.
Rusty
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Nice amps for Maverick! I'm sorry about your neck/head. My neck also triggers my migraines, so I know how you feel. Ever tried Imitrex? It really works. I really hope you can avoid the entire headache and have a good Valentine's Day!
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Thanks guys. I'm avoiding the migraine part so far *clapping*.

Where do I buy a pill shooter - at the vets? I'm going to have to try this. She really tries to bite my fingers that I use to put the pill in her mouth with. Its a gel cap. So it becomes sticky if it doesn't work on the first attempt. I ended up having to forgo the meds this morning. I can't risk her getting some of the meds from a split capsule and pilling a whole new one. The medication makes her heart contractions stronger.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hi, Karrie and Maverick ... Maverick's #s look good as always ;-)
Yikes on the pain.. I hope you get to feeling better soon & that you can have a good day :-D
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108 - protocol info to print for the

While I'm avoiding work:

Hi all,

I have this nagging feeling about not having a vet for Maverick. He doesn't need a vet right now but I didn't want to have to bring him back to the old place if we ever needed one.

So I spent a few hours yesterday looking up vets closer to us. I was going to risk driving him to the vet 1 hour away because they are so awesome with Nike (except for recently with the UTI and fighting to get this taken seriously...

So I called a vets office 15 minutes away and spoke with the receptionist. I explained I was looking for a vet that was more receptive to owner input and explained that I was doing a tight regulation protocol for his diabetes. I asked if they had any vets that would be cool with this, and if it wasn't a good idea, I would keep calling around.

Dr. Als got on the phone. Cool huh. I normally would have to pay $70 to meet with the vet and then do a vet visit with Maverick. I explained what I was doing and that I'm 100% confident managing his diabetes but am not confident not having a vet in case something ever happened or to do preventative wellness checks. He seems like a decent guy. He has very little experience with asthma. Most of their cats are on prednisone (uhoh). But I told him the puffer is working amazing for Maverick and he is fully controlled. He wanted to know about Maverick's numbers and thinks he should be off insulin. Of course we know differently here LOL.

So we are bringing in Maverick for a vet visit on Thursday. His last visit was end of October. Its not really needed. He's doing well. maintaining weight, eating etc. Even wanting to play. We will get some blood work done. And go another six months maybe before we need to see him again. I do want his teeth checked out. Also since he has that one kidney (the other one they found by accident doing his second peg tube I guess is very tiny - maybe its functional though) I want to make sure kindeys are in good order.

I admit I'm nervous but feel MUCH more at ease that I was able to speak with him on the phone first. Wish us luck!!!!

A big thing is what would you guys recommend actually printing and bringing along in case he wants to read up on our protocol. I wonder if there is english info scientifically backed for the german forum and their modification of the queensland university protocol?
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick AMPS 108

Hey, Karrie! I was fighting off one of those headaches last night... too many drills during my tennis lesson on Saturday! Hope you are finding some relief! Have you tried massage therapy at all? My therapist is very good with cranial sacal massage and I swear she can massage a migraine/tension headache right out of me... it is bizarre because I'll leave with some of the other symptoms still in place (light sensitivity, a bit of nausea, etc.,) but absolutely no pain. it has been a lifesaver over the past couple years.

When I went to our new vet, I printed out the Tilly stuff, the version we follow here, the abstract to the recent publication (they likely have access to a database that will let them print the full-text of the article) and the Queensland dosing recommendations. In addition to your spreadsheet, maybe type up a narrative of what happened during Maverick's OTJ trial? You know, just in case he can't get past "OH MY GOD!!! You test HOW often?!?" :lol: :lol: I also know the "need to find a new vet" worries, so we have fingers and paws crossed for this to be a working relationship that is good for you!!

Hope you're having a very happy Valentine's Day!! :)
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick - printout on protocol for new vet?

I've decided I'm not bringing his spreadsheet. Although he seems more receptive to my doing my own thing - treating asthma with prednisone made me second guess converting him. It would just be an FYI type thing with the protocol. I think I may just bring the abstract so that he knows its the real deal and not something I'm making up :lol:
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick - printout on protocol for new vet?

Honestly I'm too scared to try massage or accupuncture. I worry a twice a month thing may become chronic once you start manipulating it. Still waiting for an appointment for a head/neck specialist for a formal diagnosis. I'm glad you get some relief. I really can't complain over two days a month. Many people have evil migraines that last days. The flexeril helps keep mine to less than a day. I think its the sleep it allows the muscle to free up and prevent the migraine.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick - printout on protocol for new vet?

Hi Karrie,
I hope the new Vet works out for you. I gave my Vet both Protocols, but he's never commented one way or the other. He thinks I test too much. He does ask for the SS every week, so I E-mail it to him. The only thing differently he wanted me to do this time for Maggie falling off the wagon was to give one unit instead of a half unit, but you can see she's doing fine on the half unit. I hope you're feeling better.
 
Re: 2/14 Maverick - printout on protocol for new vet?

Cool Sienne. Thankyou. I'll be printing that out :) Good to know about your experience Anne. I think the spreadsheet will add complication that I don't want to deal with. If this vet turns out to be amazing I may share.

Maverick for some reason has a low PMPS tonight. Not sure why. His appetite has been really awesome. He's been peeing a lot more than normal lately and not pooping as much. Will be watching him closely for constipation. I'll weigh him tomorrow. If he's above 15.4lbs I'll have my answer ;)
 
Hi again, Karrie,
You can get pill shooters at cat food stores (in the "medicines" and "health aids" section) or in animal feed stores. Or online. Lisa sent me a link last summer to the one she uses , but I can't find it at the moment. I'll do some looking and get back to you.

Good luck with the new vet!!!

Ella
 
Hi Karrie - good luck with the new vet - I hope it works our OK for you. very nice numbers for maverick tonight.

Have a great night guys! Mannie hopes that Maverick will come to the birthday bash in Florida.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top