2/14 Chyna PM +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 +7 68 +9 97 Ketones?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Morning all! I left an extra 1/8 can of food out last night over the normal, and it wasn't eaten. Good sign? All the normal portions were gone. Purring kitty is waiting for her breakfast now. Starting another reduced dose...which looks like 1 unit instead of the 1.25 I tried to measure, still need practice on that! Yesterdays condo:

Chyna 2/13

Hope today is a good day for everyone:)
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna AMPS 171

Wow, Chyna's SS is sure looking good these days. That's great to see her dose moving down so quickly. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna AMPS 171

Thanks for the luck! Seems like I'm chasing the dose downwards with this all wet food diet, day 6:) Feels a little weird and fast but I'll take it. This morning she even got a little feisty and did some love bites while playing with me, which I haven't seen her do in months! And we had some good playtime last night :-D Happy V Day to you too!
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna AMPS 171 +6 167 PMPS 151

Thanks for the vines:) We'll see how this goes, AM and PM shot done today reduced to 1 unit (or so, I tried for 1.25, sigh)...first time in 4 days we had 2 shots. I need to find a caliper, didn't have a car today. And five minutes after supper and injection...puked up supper. I put down some more, but she isn't interested right now:*( We did have a mini hairball as I got home from work, so maybe there is another one coming...
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61?? ketones?

She ate another supper around half an hour after puke, and at +2...and now at +4 she is 61, eeeeek. I've just given her a LC mini meal...and I think I just got a small ketones test positive, I did two but they are hard to read, now what??
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61? Ketones positive?

Check yourself and see how close the color is, ok?

Is it trace or positive? If its trace, get as much food and water in her as you can and call the vet in the morning. You need to be sure she has food, water, insulin. Don't skip any more shots, OK? You gotta shoot something.

On the ketostix...you have to read exactly at 15 seconds...no longer.

I'm going to bed here soon but I will wait until you check the stix on you to see how they compare.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61? Ketones positive?

So she's eating, drinking....any chance she has any kind of infection at all...dental? UTI, URI?

I would be sure she has plenty of water and as I said, get the insulin in her tomorrow morning and call your vet. Don't delay on that ...maybe you could run to the store in the morning before vet opens and get another bottle?

It shouldn't be reading anything but negative if she doesn't have ketones....you've been checking her sll long with the same strips? And you notice a different color tonight?
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61? Ketones positive?

Eating, drinking, peeing, pooping...I don't know of any infection. Not sure what URI is. Pee doesn't smell and neither does her breath of acetone. She has fresh water all over. +5 is 61 still and she is having another small meal. I don't know which vet to call, the new one that I haven't seen or the old one...I haven't been testing her urine much, I did one two weeks ago that was negative, same strips.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61? Ketones positive?

If she seems ok, not lethargic, then I'd try to get another test on her next time she pees. I'd get we strips but also call the vet you seem most comfy with.....unless the next test is negative.

URI is upper respiratory infection.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61? Ketones positive?

No, she actually seems a bit wide awake...maybe since her glucose is low she feels all good? She has been a little more on the bed and less following me the last few days. I'm not really comfy with my "old" vet anymore after she made me cry on the phone on Monday. I haven't met the new one, that is scheduled for next Saturday. I guess I can call the new one first and see what they think, although they open before the pharmacy does I think. Should I do a full dose in the morning if she is still low? I'll set up a "trap" for pee again.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

Post and ask for help if she is low ok? But I wouldn't miss another shot.

My iPad is about dead. Are you ok? I hope you get another ketone test tonight. I'm glad she's feeling ok..I know you will keep a close eye on her.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

I will post. I'm trying to be ok but am pretty close to breaking down. I appreciate your help thanks:)
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

Ah sweetie...I'm sorry. I can get my charger and stay up with you! She's doing great BG wise. The change in diet really helped.

How can I help you? If you are really worried the test is a good one, take her to the ER.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

I don't know if we even have an ER, most vets have after hours on call but if I do that I would probably have to go to my old vet since they have the records? It should be ok to wait until morning? I just don't know much about them or how fast they do damage. Aren't ketones from them starving? I cut back calories but still went over the ideal, she's gained a bit of weight and she even didn't eat all her food last night from the extra left out. I keep thinking everything is going so well and then it all crashes down:(
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

Ketones result from infection + not enough insulin + not enough food/water

Unfortunately cats can have infections that are not apparent. Not to scare you but ketones can develop quickly and if all the above exist, it can go into D K A. As much as you don't want to, it might not be a bad Idea to call old vet just to be safe. If the strips were just showing negative last week and now they are showing more, it does concern me.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61? Ketones?

It's up to you.... You might not be able to get another test tonight and only you know how she is doing. Numbers coming up yet?
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

Very nice surf. I know you are tired and worried.

I'm sorry but if you are ok I need to get some sleep. Gracie is also in green and I need to catch a few zzzzs before I have to test her again.

If she seems fine and is eating then try to get another pee in the morning and call the vet if it us not neg.

If you want me to check back in with you tonight I will. Just let me know when and I will set an alarm.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

No you sleep. I'm just trying to decide what to do, call vet or wait till morning. I'm flat broke, which doesn't help. She is eating and just had a good drink, so pee may be upcoming. I hope it's the strips or I can't read right. She seems to feel fine other than irritated about all the ear poking...
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

I understand and it's hard to know. I think as long as she seems fine and is eating and drinking you could calling the a.m. We're talking about six hours or so
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

I'm leaning towards that, calling in the AM. Now if glucose would go up a bit and she would pee...
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

You could give her a little higher LOW CARB food. Gracie was about the same asChyna and I gave her some 8% and she's at 79 now but she's on lev and won't nadir for a while. You'd be doing it so you could get some rest.

And you can syringe her some water or add a few tsps to her food.

Ok...I will check on you in the morning. Hope you get some rest.

Ni ni
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS 151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 Ketones?

I only have the EVO low carb and the fancy feast tuna feast in gravy high carb, so I guess I could mix the two? (edit: I gave her a tsp of high carb mixed with low...) I mix water in all her food, she likes it mushy. And she did just have a drink...goodnight.
 
Re: 2/14 Chyna PMPS151 +4 61 +5 61 +6 65 +7 68 Ketones?

I see she's gone up to 97 at +9. I wouldn't feed her any more meals again until AMPS. We like to see a "true" reading at PS time that is not influenced by food.
I hope your next ketone test is negative. Fingers Crossed.
 
She did just eat a mini meal...3 hours to PS. I just did another ketones test, but I'm not sure when she peed as I laid down for an hour. Still looks pink to me, and mine looks negative. Question is can I wait until the vet is open? I feel like throwing up...
 
The ketone test is small?
Hopefully, she continues to rise, and you can give her her insulin at AMPS, and then get her to a vet first thing.
I have heard of vets (from this board) that act like ketones are no big deal. I would call the new vet and see if you can get a feel for whether they think ketones are important. If you want and are concerned, you can feed her one more mini meal right before +10. It's actually the last two hours before PS time, that we suggest you don't feed.

My kitty is a DKA survivor. I know how scary it can be. Hopefully, you'll get this treated and cleared up, before they get worse.
 
Yes, from what I can tell they show "small". I'm terrified right now and running on maybe an hours sleep, at this point I don't know why I even tried to lay down. Thanks for your encouraging words...I wish vets opened earlier. I am so indecisive about who to call but I am leaning towards the new one, even though I haven't seen them yet but I really don't want to deal with the one I have(had?).
 
You can always try the new vet first. If the vet can't squeeze you in, you could always ask if one of the techs could do a test for blood ketones. The blood test is more accurate than the urine ketone test. You'd only need to talk to the vet if the results were troublesome. Most likely, they'd put Chyna on an IV or give sub-q fluids to help flush the ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top