Re: 2/14 Choco pmps 106, +1 88, +2 58 +2.5 49 +3 42
marleesan71 said:
Okay, I have a newbie question. When it's mentioned that Choco may have earned a reduction after tonight, what exactly does that mean? I mean I get what reduction is but we reduced tonight and he dropped like crazy (at least to me he did). Just trying to understand.
Hopefully someone can come along behind me and explain this better than I am about to.
Lantus has what we in Lantus Land affectionately call a "storage shed" or insulin depot. This insulin has a cumulative effect, so each 12 hour cycle is affected by what happened in several cycles leading up to it. The reason this is relevant is that even though you reduced the dose to 1 unit tonight, that 1 unit shot was carrying effects from the 1.5 unit shots from the past few days. Almost always, the effects of a dose reduction are not seen in the first cycle when you reduce the dose, but are more visible 2-3 cycles later. This makes it as confusing as heck to understand what is going on with your cat's numbers until you have been here a while!
So, while you did reduce to 1 unit tonight, really this cycle was really carrying the action of this morning's 1.5 unit cycle. Therefore, while Choco did earn a reduction, he really earned a reduction off of the 1.5 and not the 1 unit. That would make his new dose 1.25 units BID.
Incidentally, that is why I suggested that you lower the dose and shoot early tonight rather than tomorrow, when you have to leave (I know it probably would have made more sense to you to reduce the dose when you
won't be home rather than when you will!). I knew there could be leftover action from the 1.5 tonight, but by tomorrow there should be less of that action remaining and you should see more effect from tonight's reduced shot.
Please post your number in the morning if you have any questions about shooting. There will be people watching for you and they can help. This would be my suggestion for your plan as of now, but cats have a way of changing our plans for us without warning. ;-)