2/14 Choco +4 47, +4.5 54, +5 64, +6 70, +10 110, +11 123

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleesan71

Member Since 2011
Good morning all, I am due to get Choco's amps number in at +11.5 (6:00am) to get back on schedule from this weekend but as you can see, his number is only 96. This was right around the same number he had on Saturday night so I waited until +13 to shoot when he hit 111. Hours after shooting him he got all the way down to 34 and I'm afraid with him having such low numbers today, the same thing will happen. I'm hoping his numbers will go up in the next 45 minutes but I don't forsee them going up enough for me to feel safe about shooting his dose which is 1.5 units. I know you are not really supposed to mess around with the doses of Lantus but I think at this point, 1.5 units would be too much. PLEASE ADVISE. THANKS.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36657
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96 HELP

hi

quick question for others that may want to know...are u home this morning after your AMPS?
will you be able to stall at AMPS if needed? without messing with your schedule.
see what the AMPS will be and check back, hopefully others will be around.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96 HELP

I will be this morning but I am going back to work tomorrow so I'm trying to get back on my 6:00 am/pm schedule.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96 HELP

If you shoot your regular dose this morning, because of the lower number, maybe you should shoot at +11.75 this morning and at +11.75 tonight to get back on schedule. I've heard that 15 minute increments in the adjustment of the shot schedule are less "felt" (I haven't had coffee, yet) by the cat. Another words, what I am trying to say, is that an early shot is like a dose increase and a late shot is like a dose decrease when shooting 30 minutes or more off schedule, but I've heard 15 minutes off doesn't apply so much. kwim?

So, something like 6:15am and 6:00pm...are those +11.75s?

I'm off to get coffee and start to get ready for work. Be back in a bit.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96 HELP

You still have some time here. Let's get another number at 11:00. You can still get back on schedule. Things can change in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96 HELP

Good morning Barbara. This +11 was at 5:30 but I am getting ready to take his +11.5.

Dyana, my plan was to test at +11.5 and shoot at +11.75 (6:15). This would put me back on track for tonight where I would test at 6:00 (+11.75), feed and then shoot him at 6:15 pm.


Happy Valentine's Everyone!!! :razz:
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125 HELP

He's movin' on up. Is it okay to feed him to get him ready for his shot or will that mess things up?
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125 HELP

Yes, I'll test him at +11.75. His poor little ear. I can't seem to get enough blood from his right ear so I've been using his left this whole time. It doesn't seem to bother him though.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125 HELP

Seems Choco is on a mission. We're along for the ride. You have HC, karo? See you in a few.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126 HELP

Are you comfortable shoot this? It is about the same number? Hopefully we can make up the 15 minutes tonight. What are your thoughts?
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126 HELP

Should I feed him the HC? You don't think the dose should be reduced?
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126 HELP

Get another test and see if it has gone up. We can make up the 15 minutes tonight. K? Computer is slow this morning. You can remove the HELP for now.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126

Okay, his amps is 138. I will shoot 1.5 units but don't know if I should feed HC or LC food. I'm thinking HC because I want to see how that works with his numbers in case this happens tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138

Good to go. Yes, put a little HC on his LC and get a +1. You are doing great. Well get you back on schedule. See you in 1 hour. Surf nicely Choco. Good job Maria.
 
Re: Choco 2/14/11 +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126 HELP

Hi. I have been discussing this with Barbara. I don't know if you shot yet or not. My opinion, for what it's worth, is that you were on a higher dose on Saturday, when you earned the dose reduction with the 30 something.
I think you should shoot the full dose, since you are home to monitor today, collect data, HC if you have to, and maybe earn a dose reduction today. And save the BCSs for the days you are scared because of a low number and have to leave for work. Others may advise you differently. Whatever you decide to do, you need to feel comfortable. You're doing great.

Oh yeah, Happy Valentine's Day :-D
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138

Good morning.
I am not sure I would feed HC right now. You want to see what the actual numbers would be and that would give you a better indication of what to feed tomorrow morning.
I read through you last thread and I have to go back and reread it but how did Choco respond to the HC when he was low the other day?


Edited to add.....you have already gotten great advice from Barbara and Dyana. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +10.5 96, +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138

I agree with Miriam. I also think you should wait to give HC, until you need to. He is rising now.
Keep checking his numbers. I would start with a +1. Post your numbers to the board. If his numbers start to drop pretty fast, then maybe give some HC. But ask for advise first. Today, is more data collecting for the days you will be at work.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

Dyana, what are BCS's? I've been running the house for the last hour trying to take care of my foster baby who now has a cold so I just now read everybody's posts about the HC food. I actually fed him his LC food but DID mix in a little bit of Fancy Feast Chicken/Gravy Lovers food. This LC food is the Blue Tuna Temptation that he liked and ate the other day but licked his food and walked away so I ended up putting his food in his mouth and helping him eat. I'm going to have to look at Binky's list and try out some other food. He's not liking the higher quality food so I guess if he likes the LC food, it will be cheaper and a whole lot nicer on my shrinking wallet. I will be home until 1:00 today but then I have to go to my appt although I'm really thinking about canceling it. I'll call and see what they say. Oh yeah, I did get a urine sample this morning and it was negative for keytones.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

A BCS is a Big Chicken Sh*t dose. Get a +2 and see where he is headed. I suggested a little HC because yesterday he did not rise at +1. He is doing okay. See you in an hour.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

This is a good number but probably a little HC influenced.
I would not feed again and check at +2.

There are many lc Fancy Feast choices on Janet and Binky's list. Look at the old list to find the FF brand foods.
BCS....means "big chicken sh%t dose. A reduced dose. One of the options when you have a ps number that is low.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

I actually started him out on the LC Fancy Feast food but he after the first two days, he didn't like it. I got about five different flavors and he snubs his nose at them all. He seems to "kinda" like 9 Lives and there are some on the list that have high protien and low carb so what do you all think about 9 Lives or Friskies? I just canceled my appt so I will be able to be here all day. @ BCS's, that's funny. :lol:
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

Any lc food is fine. I guess I just assumed it was FF.

Do you have any lc treats...another thing to add to your drained wallet. I buy Halo freeze dried chicken. When Putty does not like a particular food (which is very rare) I just sprinkle a few on top and he loves it.

Here is the link. This is the cheapest I have found them.
http://wholesalesupplementstore.com/liv ... reats.html
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

I have never used 9 lives. I have used some of the Friskies (special diet). Have you tried ProPlan? They get picky. What they eat today, they will not eat tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

Good morning guys .. no dosing advice here, but it sounds like you got some help in that department ... just want to say nice numbers choco! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/14/11 Choco +11.5 125, +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158

Thank you PeterDevonMocha and HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY TO YOU ALL!!! :-D
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 12

I was just looking for an update for Choco and could not find you.
When you are updating your numbers make sure you also post in your condo so you bump it up. If you just edit your subject line it does it does not move your thread to the top and you will get buried.

Looks like a little drop at +3. You can wait until +4 to see where Choco is headed.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco +11.75 126, amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 12

Okay, I understand. I will test again here in a few minutes.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85

I am very concerned about how his numbers keeping dropping because I will not be here during the day to make sure he eats and give him HC food if needed.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85

You got great advice today...Choco is doing so well this am!!! You are doing a good job here!
Look he's in the 80's a normal number!!--Keep up the good work..Try different foods, you'll stumble on one that he will like...You are in control of all this--You have your LC,MC,HC foods, strips, and karo---That's all you need to keep him in good numbers! Hope you have a good day :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5

He ate a little Fancy Feast on his own between +4 & +5. I do not want to force him to eat anything unless the numbers get low enough to where I have to help him eat (due to him being picky) because I am wanting to see how his numbers might be when I'm gone to work the rest of the week and he's on his own.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5

Good job. Healthy numbers, just a little scary for the bean. Fancy Feast classis has some fish flavors that are lc. I only use fish once or twice a week.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5

woo-hoo!!

look at Choco go!

nice work!

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5

Looks like you are doing an excellent job, Maria. Those are great numbers.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5

I don't have one Miriam. I don't know that he would benefit from one just because he always has food in his bowl by the time I come home. If he were to start eating like a GOOD BOY and eat all his food in the morning then I would definitely need one so that he had food through the day. I guess I should look into investing in one just in case he does start eating like he should and that way I will have it.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59

I ordered the 2 unit from Petmountain. It works. You can make catsickles. Place small amount of food he will eat mixed with water in ice cube trays and freeze. You can leave them out when you go to work. I would feed a small amount her and see if he will continue surfing and come up a bit.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59

They are nice numbers. Just scary for a new bean. Choco is on a mission. We are along for the ride. Normal bg is 50-120. Off insulin, sometimes Tuffy throws a 39 or 45.
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85

Maria,

I think people are concerned about lowering Choco's dose because of his past DKA. However, I don't see the sense in giving him a dose that you think might be too much for him (and you) and then "correcting" that dose with high carb food early in the cycle.

Cycle-long greens are uncommon this soon into the process. That alone makes me say that the dose is a touch high for where Choco is right now. He may still be clearing the excess from the 1.75U dose on 2/12/11, but what do you think about not giving him HC food for the rest of this cycle (unless it needs it because of very low numbers), and trying a 1.25U dose tonight?

I know that there are sometimes conflicting concepts that folks are tossing at you to juggle right now, but I want to respond to your concern that you will not be around to monitor his numbers or his food intake tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59

Hi Venita, that sounds good to me. I was definitely thinking 1.00-1.25 might work better with him (and me:) because of his numbers getting down to where they are and me not being able to be here to help him. At least if I shoot him with 1.25 tonight, I can see how much difference there will be in the morning.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +2 157, +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59, +7 67

Yep, nadir (lowest point in the cycle) was +6. See where he goes on his own from here.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59, +7 67, +8 75

Doing great, Maria! Choco is making such wonderful progress!! I completely understand the anxiety over dosing and then leaving. Had to leave Willie this morning in the blues and won't be home until +11.5 or +11.75 tonight. I may have to rethink our schedule again. You will figure out what works best for both of you, I know. I'm just a newbie, but I think with your work schedule and Choco's eating patterns, I would probably be inclined to decrease even if it hasn't technically been earned if I were in your shoes.

I hope you guys are having a great day!!
 
Re: 2/14/11Choco amps 138, +1 158, +2 157, +3 126, +4 85

Venita and The Boyz said:
Maria,

I think people are concerned about lowering Choco's dose because of his past DKA. However, I don't see the sense in giving him a dose that you think might be too much for him (and you) and then "correcting" that dose with high carb food early in the cycle.
With all respect to Venita, to me there is no sense in NOT giving sufficient insulin. Correcting with higher carb food is exactly how a cat who is one week out of DKA should be handled. They need enough insulin and food to help prevent relapse. If the cat is responding so well to a dose that they need to be given more (or higher carb) food to counteract the insulin, then that is what needs to be done. I have actually been concerned that Choco's dose has been reduced too much since he has been home, so I'm glad he has been able to hold this dose for a few cycles. Maria is doing an excellent job of monitoring and feeding the curve, so it makes sense to continue being aggressive as long as she is home. Additionally, the data she has collected over the past few days is making the picture a lot more clear about what should be recommended for when she goes back to work. She even had the foresight to try not forcing food today to see how he managed his own curve without her prompting. That was a GREAT idea, by the way. :smile:

While it appears that Choco is almost done with this dose, and he might even earn a reduction tonight, it does not look like he is so far above dose to be in danger when she goes to work. He is getting nearly perfect Lantus curves, and I don't see a reason at this point to back down. So many times, we see beans who back off too quickly when their cat first starts getting good numbers, just to see them lose momentum and head back to yellow and pink. You can look at my Lucy's spreadsheet her first time running down the dosing scale (I think it was October 2009) to see what I mean.

Cats that are only one week removed from a DKA do require more intervention and more aggressive treatment than a regular diabetic cat. My SOP is to apologize to the bean in advance but say "sorry, you do not have the luxury of easing into this the way some peopl do." If I didn't say that to you right off the bat, Maria, I apologize. We had two new DKA kitties show up in LL the same day and I know I posted that to one of you.

If Choco does earn a dose reduction despite Maria's efforts, then I would never recommend that she hold the dose anyway. So far, though, his numbers are safe.

Sorry to post and run, but I have an appointment in a few minutes.
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +3 126, +4 85, +5 69, +6 59, +7 67, +8 75, +9

Hi Christie! Yes, total anxiety. We obviously want our babies to be taken care of and when we can't make sure that's happening, it's a really helpless feeling. Did you switch Willie over to a raw food diet after being diagnosed? If so, how well did he take to that?
 
Re: 2/14 Choco +4 85, +5 69, +6 59, +7 67, +8 75, +9 79, +10

So I need a little advice here. I need to get back on schedule for my work day tomorrow. This morning his amps was at 6:30 and then he ate and he got a shot at +.5 (6:45). I need to get back to getting his amps at 6:00am and then give him his shot at +.5 (6:15). Can I go ahead and push his pmps to 11.5 tonight?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top