2/14 Bella AMPS 287 last night +5 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
Bella Bella.. still liking those yellows and pinks :(
Checked my house out thoroughly.. she’s not getting into anything at night unless she’s opening cabinets.
( no evidence of this)
Can’t leave cat food out at night.. two other cats everyone’s on a different food. :(

She’s been on .75u Lantus since am 2/12 am heading into 5th cycle on this dose.
Acting fine.. all P’s in place.
 
I know the food situation...4 cats - 4 different diets....Is it possible to put her in a room over night...or will that just cause WW3?


She is feeling good and no keytones again I see!
 
I know the food situation...4 cats - 4 different diets....Is it possible to put her in a room over night...or will that just cause WW3?


She is feeling good and no keytones again I see!

I already have one other cat in a room over night because he torments the other two.
I really can’t put her in a room over night. She sleeps and pals around with my third cat. It would actually be more stressful not less. I know she’s not getting into food.. I’m extremely aware of that.. nothing is left out / counters wiped off, crumbs swept.
She is feeling good.
She’s in yellows today... hopefully a downward turn???
I don’t know what to think.
I’m paranoid that I’m not getting the insulin in her... i have my husband watch me give it for verification.
Does her lab work show anything unusual to you?
Nothing really stood out to me.
The first labs were right at diagnosis the second set were right before I started her back on insulin. She’s been on the low carb wet food diet for a month.
Input welcome.
I’m doing all I can.
Bella has other ideas, I guess.
 
With Lantus you can smell it...it is very distinct. There is days that seems to "absorb" more insulin or work the insulin better than others. It is hard sometimes just not know what is causing what.

You have the keytones at bay, so now I think you are just chasing that dose that will start to bring her numbers down. You are following SLGS and I know Sandy is watching you.

The cat in in control....so yes, do what you can, bang head here :banghead:, wash, rinse and repeat. (you can throw in a beverage in every now and again if that helps).

I am not good at lab work myself but I see nothing glaring. You can tag Marje if you want some interpretation, there is another member but I can't remember off the top of my head who is good with lab work.
 
Last edited:
She is most likely getting the insulin, try not to worry, this is where all that patience stuff comes in to play. Number one thing is no ketones and she's feeling good! :cat: Now you need to find a workable dose and you are on your way. I think you're safe to increase to 1 unit tomorrow morning.
 
She is most likely getting the insulin, try not to worry, this is where all that patience stuff comes in to play. Number one thing is no ketones and she's feeling good! :cat: Now you need to find a workable dose and you are on your way. I think you're safe to increase to 1 unit tomorrow morning.

An increase already?
I’m all for it.. baring anything bizarre that happens between now and then.
It sure will be easier to measure!
(Especially with those early morning doses when my eyeballs are still in bed)
Thanks so much for the input.
I will work on being patient.
 
An increase already?
I’m all for it.. baring anything bizarre that happens between now and then.
It sure will be easier to measure!
(Especially with those early morning doses when my eyeballs are still in bed)
Thanks so much for the input.
I will work on being patient.

Yes, it is safe to increase with the numbers you are seeing after 6 cycles on the TR protocol. You are on "Bella's special anti DKA protocol" at the moment, but just to base it off of something and because you test enough for TR anyway.

Good catch, absolutely the increase depends on anything that happens up until that point. Sometimes just the mention of an increase makes cats want to show us up with some greens! ;)

It will be much easier to measure, always a plus. :)
 
Yes, it is safe to increase with the numbers you are seeing after 6 cycles on the TR protocol. You are on "Bella's special anti DKA protocol" at the moment, but just to base it off of something and because you test enough for TR anyway.

Good catch, absolutely the increase depends on anything that happens up until that point. Sometimes just the mention of an increase makes cats want to show us up with some greens! ;)

It will be much easier to measure, always a plus. :)

I like that.
“Bella’s special DKA protocol”
 
Solid yellow AMPS to PMPS...
I agree with Stacy, if you don’t see any significant action overnight it’s time for the next step up to 1u.

I’m curious what her next number will be...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top