? 2/14 Bailie amps 45 +1 78 gave .50u

hi there first thing this morning he was 2.5 and I gave him regular food and I put a bit of syrup in it. And I also gave him high carb food mixed with low carb food. But I knew he was going up, and I was terrified that he’s gonna go up really high so I gave him .50 I hope I didn’t overdose him. I tested hima half hour ago and he was 8.4 and then I just tested him now and he’s 7.3
 
151 half hour later 131 he’s never been this slow the last few days he has been. He just had his dental done last week.
 
hi there first thing this morning he was 2.5 and I gave him regular food and I put a bit of syrup in it. And I also gave him high carb food mixed with low carb food. But I knew he was going up, and I was terrified that he’s gonna go up really high so I gave him .50 I hope I didn’t overdose him. I tested hima half hour ago and he was 8.4 and then I just tested him now and he’s 7.3
Argh. I’m not familiar with those numbers. Can you tell me world numbers?
Don’t worry going to high at the moment that’s not the concern, you want to worry about too low and bringing him up and monitoring.
 
I wonder why he’s getting such low numbers all of a sudden.
When he goes to low numbers he is bouncing to high numbers. Very normal. He’s newly diagnosed and his body has to get used to being in lower numbers again so it reacts. It’s does this to keep him safe from going to a hypo situation. It takes time for them to stabilize. It’s a slow process and doesn’t happen overnight. And it’s possible the dental could have cleared out some infection and inflammation and he could be seeing lower numbers as a result of that, which is great if that’s what’s happening. That’s what you want to be happening as a result of a dental.
But you do need to monitor very closely to make sure he’s not going too low and of course you’re taking a reduction when he does go under 90 since you’re following SLGS.
You ignore the high numbers when they bounce up after seeing low numbers (don’t get too concerned about them and don’t dose accordingly about the highs, only the low numbers, the nadirs.
 
Just so you know, Marje is located in the southwest US and not yet awake at this time of day. For future you may want to tag Wendy, Angela, Bhooma. Try to know who is awake based on their location early in the morning.
It’s a challenge for me too, as I’m east coast, so not many people are up when I need to feed and shoot as well.
 
When he goes to low numbers he is bouncing to high numbers. Very normal. He’s newly diagnosed and his body has to get used to being in lower numbers again so it reacts. It’s does this to keep him safe from going to a hypo situation. It takes time for them to stabilize. It’s a slow process and doesn’t happen overnight. And it’s possible the dental could have cleared out some infection and inflammation and he could be seeing lower numbers as a result of that, which is great if that’s what’s happening. That’s what you want to be happening as a result of a dental.
But you do need to monitor very closely to make sure he’s not going too low and of course you’re taking a reduction when he does go under 90 since you’re following SLGS.
You ignore the high numbers when they bounce up after seeing low numbers (don’t get too concerned about them and don’t dose accordingly about the highs, only the low numbers, the nadirs.
Was it wrong for me to dose him at .50 should I just have skipped the shot?
 
I’m wondering why he’s not going up more since I gave him a little bit of syrup in food and also gave him gravy food. Just doesn’t make sense to me that he’s not higher. I panicked. Which I know I shouldn’t have done.
 
Just so you know, Marje is located in the southwest US and not yet awake at this time of day. For future you may want to tag Wendy, Angela, Bhooma. Try to know who is awake based on their location early in the morning.
It’s a challenge for me too, as I’m east coast, so not many people are up when I need to feed and shoot as well.
Ok thank you
 
Also, when you have the high carb food, it can last up to 2 hours then wear off. You then need to know what his numbers are as he can then drop low again so make sure you are watching and tasting him again until you know he’s safe and rising. Don’t leave him alone at home unmonitored.
Next time you see a 45, don’t give any insulin. That’s way too low. Don’t shoot under 90.
Make sense?
 
Try to breathe. You can handle this by monitoring and feeding him carbs to keep his numbers ok and keep him safe. Do you understand? Let me know if you’re ok.
 
Was it wrong for me to dose him at .50 should I just have skipped the shot?
In the future if he’s under 90 no shot. Skip.
Post for help before you think about shooting if he’s 90 or below. He was too low to shoot so you need to stay with him and retest and give him small teaspoons of high carb HC and or Karo or honey each time until he rises.

@Angela & Cleo can you help advise Nancy?
 
Nancy, is/was Bailie exhibiting any signs of hypo? Here are some from the sticky:

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness​
 
Is Bailie responding when you call?

Bailie is in safe blue numbers now so can you please take off the 911 from the thread heading. You have everything under control!

That dental may just be the reason you're seeing better numbers. More on that later. Lets start with getting another test an hour after you got the 131. Numbers can bob up and down with high carb food and karo/honey/syrup.
 
You are doing great! So if I have this correct:

AMPS 45 you fed regular food with syrup and shot 0.5 units
+1 119 - did you feed anything at this time?
+2 169 - did you feed anything at this time?
+2.5 131 - did you feed anything at this time?
+3 113 - PLEASE FEED HIM A TSP OF HIS REGULAR FOOD.
 
You are doing great! So if I have this correct:

AMPS 45 you fed regular food with syrup and shot 0.5 units
+1 119 - did you feed anything at this time?
+2 169 - did you feed anything at this time?
+2.5 131 - did you feed anything at this time?
+3 113 - PLEASE FEED HIM A TSP OF HIS REGULAR FOOD.
Yes, I fed him each time.
 
if he keeps going down by one every hour, do I feed him, high carb food or his regular food ?
113 is still a safe number but it is early in the cycle. I would feed him a tsp of high carb food now then decide with the next test what % to feed.
Here are a few things to keep in mind:
The higher depot is influencing the first half of the cycle.
The dental cleaning, antibiotics and inflammation subsiding are contributing factors to "better" numbers. this is wonderful news.
They usually are more tired in lower number at first until their little bodies get used to them. Then they're little balls of energy in normal numbers. Perfectly normal :)
 
113 is still a safe number but it is early in the cycle. I would feed him a tsp of high carb food now then decide with the next test what % to feed.
Here are a few things to keep in mind:
The higher depot is influencing the first half of the cycle.
The dental cleaning, antibiotics and inflammation subsiding are contributing factors to "better" numbers. this is wonderful news.
They usually are more tired in lower number at first until their little bodies get used to them. Then they're little balls of energy in normal numbers. Perfectly normal :)
Thank you so much. I really appreciate all your help. I’ll keep posting when I test next.
 
So now that you're feeling a little calmer, a couple of things to keep in mind with SLGS:
We NEVER shoot a lime!!!
You do not shoot a number under 90. You would stall, without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes. And POST for help.

My thinking is that the antibiotics and inflammation subsiding from the dental are all contributing to the lower numbers. Are you still feeding the Dr. Elsey's dry? What's your schedule like over the next couple of days? Will you be able to monitor as you have been?
 
So now that you're feeling a little calmer, a couple of things to keep in mind with SLGS:
We NEVER shoot a lime!!!
You do not shoot a number under 90. You would stall, without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes. And POST for help.

My thinking is that the antibiotics and inflammation subsiding from the dental are all contributing to the lower numbers. Are you still feeding the Dr. Elsey's dry? What's your schedule like over the next couple of days? Will you be able to monitor as you have been?
The doctor Elsie‘s dry is all crumbly and he really doesn’t like it so I have been adding a few of his old kibble in with it just so he’ll eat it. My schedule is free the next couple of days so I’m going to be monitoring him for sure. I guess going forward his dose will be 1.75? I also offer wet food at every meal. Depending on what it is, he’ll eat it. He seems to like the seafood, but I don’t like to give him seafood that much.
 
SLGS would have you go down to 1.75 but with all the factors (dental and antibiotics) I'm inclined to ask for a few more eyes on your spreadsheet.

How long before the +4?
 
So to recap:
AMPS 45 you fed regular food with syrup and shot 0.5 units
+1 119 - fed
+2 169 - fed
+2.5 131 -fed
+3 113 - fed
+4 142

Looks like Bailie is in the clear. When was the last time (at +?) you gave any high carb food? I would get another test in at +5 just to be sure.
 
So to recap:
AMPS 45 you fed regular food with syrup and shot 0.5 units
+1 119 - fed
+2 169 - fed
+2.5 131 -fed
+3 113 - fed
+4 142

Looks like Bailie is in the clear. When was the last time (at +?) you gave any high carb food? I would get another test in at +5 just to be sure.
Yes and gave him a few licks of churu as reward after test does this look ok to you
 
I just tested him now he’s 15.2. Oh my goodness
between the lime BG, token dose and the high carb food, a bounce was expected :rolleyes:
So he's safe now and I think you can stop testing (unless you're curious) until PMPS.
The dose going forward is 1.75 units unless he falls under 90 (5) then its another immediate reduction.
Try and get some rest! Its been a doozy of a day so far for you both :bighug:
 
between the lime BG, token dose and the high carb food, a bounce was expected :rolleyes:
So he's safe now and I think you can stop testing (unless you're curious) until PMPS.
The dose going forward is 1.75 units unless he falls under 90 (5) then its another immediate reduction.
Try and get some rest! Its been a doozy of a day so far for you both :bighug:
Yes, it has been a doozy of a day. Thank goodness for you people. I really appreciate everything you’ve done. You guys are wonderful. I’m gonna relax now. Lol:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top