Sue and Luci
Member Since 2017
Luci seems to be avoiding green - for whatever reason. Maybe today?


Too low! Immediately give high carb and retest in 20 minutes. You need to watch her for a while to make sure she comes up and stays above 50 until past her nadir.OMG! 41 - is this too low? Whoa nellie! should I give her a low carb food? She's looking for food...

My bad.. I shouldn't have said the above... every time someone mentions an increase, the cat always goes low.Otherwise, I would suggest you increase again tomorrow. Yes, again .. we need to find that good dose sooner than later.
Too low! Immediately give high carb and retest in 20 minutes. You need to watch her for a while to make sure she comes up and stays above 50 until past her nadir.
I did not retest - will retest in 20 - just gave her a med-carb food...and a tablespoon DM kibble.Did you retest to make sure it wasn't a bad test. It's a big difference from the previous test. If it is true, get her up over 50 and keep testing until she stays over for 2 more test without food influence.
Tends to be a pattern with her - dropping a lot between PS and +2 - did you see the drop yesterday? I thought that was huge.Next time you see a big drop between PS and +2, test at +3 always. You don't want to be lax about it.![]()
That is a large drop, yes. She did start higher so she was still safe. With the lower "starting" number today, she couldn't afford to drop that much.Tends to be a pattern with her - dropping a lot between PS and +2 - did you see the drop yesterday? I thought that was huge.
Yes, just now - she's at 50 - eating 'Gravy Lover's pouch as we speak.That is a large drop, yes. She did start higher so she was still safe. With the lower "starting" number today, she couldn't afford to drop that much.
Have you gotten another test yet?
Ok, we cross-posted... you need to test again in 30 minutes. 50 is not quite safe yet.That is a large drop, yes. She did start higher so she was still safe. With the lower "starting" number today, she couldn't afford to drop that much.
Have you gotten another test yet?
I always liked to get up to 60 after a low number.What number am I going for to feel a little less worried? I'm here...and can test as often as needed...
Ok, we cross-posted... you need to test again in 30 minutes. 50 is not quite safe yet.
I always liked to get up to 60 after a low number.
Thanks! At least I know what I'm looking for. She's doing quite well - I'm not but she is! Just got in her sleeping basket...for a nap... I need a nap!!Ok, we cross-posted... you need to test again in 30 minutes. 50 is not quite safe yet.
I always liked to get up to 60 after a low number.
It's always the humans panicking during these times and the cats are like what is the matter with you??

We do not have a pre-set schedule for feeding. I can test her again in an hour - she usually thinks she should get fed after being poked.Do you have a pre-set schedule for feeding? If no schedule, then wait an hour after the last test and you can feed her LC food if she's continuing to go up. But if she drops again, then feed her again - food depends on the number. My gut feeling is she may be starting a bounce now.![]()
There's the bounce! Glad she came up easily for you. The good news is that she earned a reduction. So her new dose is 1.50. Depending on if she really soars up for the PMPS you can do what we call "shooting through the bounce. Give her the 1.75 dose again and then tomorrow AM reduce to 1.5






