2/13 Zhoom Boy PMPS 129/ +1 113 / +2 97/ + 3 83/ +3.5 81/ +5 87

CRL

Member Since 2019
Just decided to try out TR and am being put to the challenge already, only 3 cycles in....I have never shot anything under 150 before & his numbers seem to be going down/late nadir. Do I shoot a full dose or a reduced dose? I am supposed to give him his shot now. Not sure what to do.
 
No, not yet. I am stalling and hoping you would show up! Thanks for showing up!
 
Been 15 minutes, test again to see what direction he's going. This is a safe number if you can monitor, have plenty of high carb food and test strips. Lowest you have shot before is 177.
 
Been 15 minutes, test again to see what direction he's going. This is a safe number if you can monitor, have plenty of high carb food and test strips. Lowest you have shot before is 177.
Yes, 177 was the lowest.......I just tested him - he is at 136 - a little up - think a full dose is ok? I have plenty of strips and a full 5.5 oz can of 17% carb food.
 
Trend is good, he won't onset for a couple hours so will rise until then. Get a +1 and a +2. And keep the subject line updated. There are three cats stalling/low numbers right now so we'll need to keep it easy to keep an eye on you and see if we need to jump in.
 
Trend is good, he won't onset for a couple hours so will rise until then. Get a +1 and a +2. And keep the subject line updated. There are three cats stalling/low numbers right now so we'll need to keep it easy to keep an eye on you and see if we need to jump in.
Got it. Thanks so much for your support.
 
Uh oh, we are going down, not up. Might be a long night....I will give a +2 in an hour
 
What is your feeding schedule? A tsp or two of LC might be good.
Just gave him a wee snack. His regular feeding schedule gets him a snack at +2.5 and +4.5. I think there will be many snacks for Zhoom tonight. He loves these kinds of nights :)
Fortunately for me, I have a kitty who will pretty much eat anytime food is offered.
 
We are still heading down, even after a LC snack. Time for a MC snack maybe?
 
I would stick to LC for the moment.
Are you still around? I know it is late. I caved and fed MC food at +3 - he went down even after the MC snack. Starting to get nervous. I know he has a way to go yet before he gets below 50, but should I keep feeding him?
 
I fed him. He went up a little with the 2nd MC snack. I'm going to hold off on food for now and check in half hour and see where he is at.
We've not chatted before, but I'm up with my cat and saw your thread. I'm pretty much a newbie, dx Oct 2019 and on Lantus just a month. Here for moral support as can't advise but glad he's going up!
 
We've not chatted before, but I'm up with my cat and saw your thread. I'm pretty much a newbie, dx Oct 2019 and on Lantus just a month. Here for moral support as can't advise but glad he's going up!
Hi Teri & Disco. Thanks for reaching out. Always nice to have company during a PJ party! I am so tired. I keep lying down and setting my alarm. Looks like Disco is starting to go back up too, slowly but surely.
 
Ideally you want to see numbers rising on their own, without influence of carbs, before you call it a night. That’s the down side of feeding MC instead of LC. You have to wait for those carbs to wear off. One option, because it is night, is to carb him up high enough that he will be safe overnight. Keeping in mind of course, that carbs can wear off in a couple hours. Or if you have an autofeeder he will use, load it up to feed him every hour until nadir.
 
Hi Teri & Disco. Thanks for reaching out. Always nice to have company during a PJ party! I am so tired. I keep lying down and setting my alarm. Looks like Disco is starting to go back up too, slowly but surely.
Yes, I way overfed him his usual LC meal when he reached 50 and aborted shooting. He's crashed twice this week, first time last Saturday so he got a dose reduction and I was hoping that was behind us but he fooled me tonight. But I had had tested him at +10 instead of +10.75, I could have fed him a small snack of LC and maybe prevented this. I won't let that happen again, sigh. And Sienne and Gabby also reminded me that the impact from eating takes at least 20-30 minutes.
 
Yes, I way overfed him his usual LC meal when he reached 50 and aborted shooting. He's crashed twice this week, first time last Saturday so he got a dose reduction and I was hoping that was behind us but he fooled me tonight. But I had had tested him at +10 instead of +10.75, I could have fed him a small snack of LC and maybe prevented this. I won't let that happen again, sigh. And Sienne and Gabby also reminded me that the impact from eating takes at least 20-30 minutes.
These kitties are always full of surprises!
 
Ideally you want to see numbers rising on their own, without influence of carbs, before you call it a night. That’s the down side of feeding MC instead of LC. You have to wait for those carbs to wear off. One option, because it is night, is to carb him up high enough that he will be safe overnight. Keeping in mind of course, that carbs can wear off in a couple hours. Or if you have an autofeeder he will use, load it up to feed him every hour until nadir.
I see. Well, I'm in it for the long haul. Thanks Wendy.
 
Back
Top