Sean & Rufus
Member Since 2018
Yup.

Good morningGood morning
I’m wondering if his p-titis is causing him pain and if he would benefit from some bupe.
Also, has he ever had a dental?
Did she quantify what she considers ‘fair’?Regular vet sent me to dental specialist who said she needs to see a fructosamine test come back at least "fair".
Expecting BG to be regulated before addressing an infection that is fueling high BG is backwards thinking.
You start from where you are. Follow the protocol and adjust the dose accordingly. Monitoring strategically is key to seeing the whole picture and catching the signals that call for dose adjustments.That's why I'm confused. Aren't you supposed to dose according to the lowest number? He had a couple blues. But then bounces up. And how do I know its not the symogi effect? I so wish I could start this whole process over and test at home and do curve at home from the beginning.
This is backwards when issues are those know to fuel high BGs.Regular vet wanted to get him regulated and then work on other issues.
That doesn’t mean there is nothing wrong- so much of what can cause chronic infection is going on under the gums.As far as teeth goes, nobody "sees" anything wrong with them visually.
did they just fall out or were they removed? Even with professional extraction fragments can remain and cause infection.But he has lost 3 teeth in the last 3 months.
And he eats dry food funny, drops it, chews side of mouth. Wouldn't even attempt to eat dry for over a month.
Ditch the dry, both food and treats. It’s really best. Try it and see - it just might be the key to bringing his BG into the dentists comfort zone.As far as fruct test, I think she wanted it like 30 points lower.
The teeth fell out on their own. I know dry isn't ideal, but with me being gone and the other cat refusing wet, and with Rufus' dietary needs it just has to include dry.This is backwards when issues are those know to fuel high BGs.
That doesn’t mean there is nothing wrong- so much of what can cause chronic infection is going on under the gums.
did they just fall out or were they removed? Even with professional extraction fragments can remain and cause infection.
Ditch the dry, both food and treats. It’s really best. Try it and see - it just might be the key to bringing his BG into the dentists comfort zone.
You and me would both think that. But EVERYONE else is telling me his teeth look ok. I'm like yeah, then why are they falling out? Why does he chew that way? Why did he avoid dry? But, nobody will do xray until he's better. Hoping they do a fruct test tomorrow. Honestly, if they are worried about the anestitia I am too. Just want him to get the numbers down and I'm not sure they will if their is teeth issues. Thing is though, I had him on gabapentin for 4 days and didn't seem to change his eating habits. He won't even eat regular wet food now. It's all liquified with water into a puree.FWIW, pancreatitis doesn't cause your mouth to hurt. It makes your gut area hurt like crazy.
Teeth falling out, at least to my way of thinking, is a pretty good sign that there are dental problems. Teeth just don't fall out for no reason.
No, absolutely don't want DKA. I guess I've been told they they dose based on nadir. If we were still dosing based on his once a week check in at the vet, and that happened to be the 144 I caught, we would stop at the current dose. That's why I'm confused. I know that he's having high numbers right now, but also his lowest. I guess we'll see whta they say tomorrow.I brought this conversation over from yesterday’s thread.
You start from where you are. Follow the protocol and adjust the dose accordingly. Monitoring strategically is key to seeing the whole picture and catching the signals that call for dose adjustments.
I mentioned this yesterday but it bears repeating- to reduce insulin when a kitty is teetering towards ketone development is opening the door to DKA. You don’t want to go there-trust me.
I think the reason why the does the anesthia (sorry sp) is because they do it all at once. Both the reg vet and the dental specialst do everything in one swoop. Cleaning, xrays, extractions. I guess I could look for a different dentist if they could do xrays without putting them under. I'm not too excited about going to specialst because the low end cost is $1950Unless your cat is a horror at the vet's office, I'm not sure a cat needs to be anesthetized for x-rays. My kitty just had x-rays and an ultrasound without anesthesia.
Yeah, just called my old old vet (the one I'll be returning to soon), and they do it all in 1 swoop too. To difficult to do xrays on cat awake. I do feel that Rufus' numbers have hopefully improved enough to get in the "fair" range.My vet does it all in one fell swoop, too...I know they can do other x-rays without anesthesia, but I'm not sure they can do dental x-rays without anesthesia. Still, it's worth asking.
Rufus is inching down!!!
The reason you see his worst numbers the same day as his best numbers is because his counter-regulatory systems are currently quick to freak out over those good numbers. The counter regulatory hormones can take up to 72 hours to clear so 2 bounces, back to back can eat up 6 days easy. You are just closing in on 1 week (7 days) of data for both the AM and PM cycles; your first real look into the complete picture. The SLGS guidelines recommend the following:If you look on the days that he has his best numbers, he also has his worse numbers. How is that we don't know that he's getting to much insulin and his body is dumping glucose because it is freaking out from the lower numbers? Look at the other days. Reds and pinks, and then blacks, blues, and yellow. I can not wrap my head around these things.
I'm sorry I'm so dense. I really don't understand if he's getting a good number, say that 144 the other day, wouldn't that be his nadir and therefore we are on the correct dose? It's obvious he's still bouncing, right? He continues to bounce. If I did a curve tomorrow and the numbers came up the same as they did on 2.7.18 what would the dosage recommendation be then?The reason you see his worst numbers the same day as his best numbers is because his counter-regulatory systems are currently quick to freak out over those good numbers. The counter regulatory hormones can take up to 72 hours to clear so 2 bounces, back to back can eat up 6 days easy. You are just closing in on 1 week (7 days) of data for both the AM and PM cycles; your first real look into the complete picture. The SLGS guidelines recommend the following:
I recommend you do a curve soon. It looks like the most recent bounce is clearing and that would be a perfect time to do the curve and really get a look at where this dose may be taking him. If you wait until after the next low then all you will see is where his counter-regulatory takes him (and we already know where that is).
- After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit