? 2/13 Panic AMPS 78 - Dosing help needed

Panic

Member Since 2019
So I'm skipping for the AM but I need help figuring out how much to give her at PM. On 1u she just wasn't cutting it but I knew 1.25u was a bit much for her, so after drop dosing was suggested I started doing that where I would give her a dosage right in the middle at about 1.125 (or a fat 1u) and it still wasn't enough, so after a week I put her back on 1.25u ... but now this morning she is at 78. 1.25u is the only amount setting her in greens but they're low greens. :/ I'm doing SLGS method so anything under 90 is supposed to earn a reduction.
 
Last edited:
I'm doing SLGS method so anything under 90 is supposed to earn a reduction
ON SLGS it would be back to 1u, you might find she does better on it this time round.
On SLGS it would be 1u for a week, unless she earned a reduction by dropping below 90 again. I'm not sure a micro adjustment is the way to go.

I've not been on the board for quite a bit, but you are testing enough to do TR, as long as she isn't on dry food (seems not from your signature), any particular reason why you picked SLGS/
That would allow you to hold the dose longer, which may benefit Panic by getting her to spend more time in green, which usually means you can get them regulated more quickly/easily than on SLGS.
I see that once ore twice a week monitoring during the day is tricky, but that's something that you would be able to work around when doing TR, by skipping, leaving extra food out, giving token dose.... (see info post on TR on a full time job)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
There's been at least two instances where I put her back on 1u after some below 90 numbers and she never seems to take the reduction well, just goes right back into the 200s.

I was literally just considering TR...it was those gaps in my SS that make me hesitate, that's during the weekend when I'm not home essentially the entire AM cycles. I've been afraid not being available to monitor during the weekends will make TR difficult if I'm too afraid to give full doses while I'm away. Still yet if there's a way to do it I'm starting to think she'd probably benefit more on TR.

On TR though, do you always give full dose unless they're in the 30-40s? I've peeked around at other boards and most people are still giving full dose in the 70s!
 
On TR though, do you always give full dose unless they're in the 30-40s?
With TR you would shoot (eventually) anything over 50.
But if he gave you a lower than usual PS at the weekend, and you couldn't monitor, then you can skip.
With time you might mind that you would be happy to give full dose even though you are out, but you would need to leave food out for Panic, I use an Autofeeder for regular snacks while I am out, and so that I can get a full nights sleep.


When George was on insulin, I would stack the feeder with higher carb food in the early part of the cycle, to keep him safe if I was out.
On TR, with a couple of cycles where you can't monitor you might not take your dose increases to allow Panic to show you how low the new dose is getting her before the weekend. So, you wouldn't raise the dose on a friday night say, because there's a chance you could see her dose start to build by the sunday while you are out. Taking a dose increase, on a sunday night would make more sense, gives you all the way till friday night to see what her dose is doing, even having enough time to take her up again midweek.

On TR you would reassess the dose every 6 cycles, if nadirs aren't in normal range you would take the dose up, but with the limited testing, you might choose to hold a little longer so your dose increase doesn't coincide with the weekend.
And of course she earns reductions for a single drop under 50 on a human meter.

If she was looking too good on a dose, and you felt nervous about the weekend, you could take the dose down on friday morning or night to give yourself more headroom if you felt the nadirs were a bit on the low side, a temporary reduction, before going back to the normal dose on Sunday night.

With time as you gather data, and learn how she responds to her carbs at different points in the cycle, it will get easier.

Do take a look at the post I linked above, there's a lot of great info there.
 
There's been at least two instances where I put her back on 1u after some below 90 numbers and she never seems to take the reduction well, just goes right back into the 200s.
Yes, but it took her a while to go off completely and there were a few skips in there. Her insulin needs can fluctuate.

If you are home do you think you could grab a +1 or +2, it would be interesting from a data point of view to see what she does with food on board and no insulin??

It will be interesting to see the duration of the last shot.

It might be she hasn't nadired yet....
 
I'm in a similar situation... wavering between .75 and 1u for my Edward... also wavering between SLGS and TR. This thread and @Gill & George 's comments are helpful. Best of luck to Elizabeth and Panic!
 
Yes, +2 is 339. A bounce possibly.

I'm in a sticky situation on those weekends because I use a feeder too but for reasons outside my control, Panic stays outside while I'm gone. I keep the feeder out but if she doesn't stay on the porch she doesn't hear it go off. My other cats may eat it if she isn't around, so it's kind of just a hopefulness that she sticks around and remembers to eat. So even if things can be controlled with food without me there I can't guarantee she'll eat. I would assume then the best method for a questionable day where I can't monitor would be to just skip on TR?

I've read over the link you sent as well as the TR protocol, I'm not really seeing any mention of token doses at certain BG numbers, is that supposed to be just based on your own cat and their data?

@SnowKat Best of luck to you and Edward too!
 
This may be a bit of a dumb question but why does Panic need to be outdoors on the weekend?

You can give a token dose on TR. The headache is that your cycle count starts over any time you adjust a dose.
 
I live with my parents and they don't like any of the cats inside while I'm not home. They won't budge on the rule, I've tried, so I make do.

So if I did start TR, would I go back to 1u, hold the dose for 5-6 cycles, then bump up to 1.25 if it's inadequate?
 
With TR, Panic's numbers would need to drop below 50 to warrant a dose reduction. Since you skipped a shot this morning, your cycle count would start over at PMPS and you would then evaluate the dose after 3 days/6 cycles and consider an increase if the nadirs are not in normal numbers, unless Panic drops into dose reduction territory.
 
So if I start TR tonight, I give 1.25u? Or 1u?
If I had been doing TR prior, would I have given her a full dose this morning at 78?
 
Back
Top