2/13 Maki AMPS 205, PMPS 191, +1 226, +2 206, +3.5 148, 5+ 179

That 205 isn't much different from last night's PMPS and you shot that. I see Maki is a recent transition to wet food. If you shoot get a +1 and a +2 to start.
We don't know how low this dose took him last night though. I urge you to get more tests if you see a +2 that is lower than the preshot number. You may need some higher carb food if he goes low. do you have MC & HC, or syrup? And lots of test strips?
 
Last edited:
Hi Patricia. You didn’t get tests after +2 last night. I bet he dropped a lot lower and is now bouncing but we don’t know. It’s important to set an alarm until we figure out her dose and patterns now that you are eliminating dry food. I hope you got a good night’s sleep.
 
You didn’t damage her. Did you leave lots of food out for her? If you think you will fall asleep do that next time. :bighug: I know you were exhausted but I have to admit I was worried. I hope you are a person that can nap. I’m not so I never could catch up on all the pj parties unless Max bounced.
 
She did have a whole bowl of FF for the night. I slept through even the alarm I had set. That is unlike me, think it just caught up with me. I will be a better kitty mommy today going forward
 
No apologies needed. The food kept her safe. That’s exactly what to deal in case you don’t wake up. Your shot a safe number. It’s just all the changes that worried me. Good job.
 
Patricia, just to confirm - Maki is now eating only the low carb Fancy Feast, right? You have discontinued the Glycobalance wet and dry? No way she is sneaking into it. Especially the dry? It is out of reach?
 
Bhooma, all set is secure in glass jars up high. Only keeping it for hypo situation. The MC, HC wet foods are in a wooden box hypo kit.

So no way she is eating anything I don't know about.

Maki is only eating FF wet classic pates per the FDMB good chart.
 
Will you be able to stay awake and test? It’s not much lower than 200. I would shoot the full dose if the answer to my question is yes. But you will need to test as often as needed and post results. What do you think?
 
I will reset alarms for every hour (and won't take my night meds until bed).
So Yes, I will stay awake and test. Thank you for being direct. Seriously.
So, shooting again at 1.25U Correct?
 
Get another reading 10 minutes after your last test. You have not yet fed right? You might not need to test a lot. It depends on the bg.
 
No problem. It takes 20-30 minutes for the food to influence the bg. That was more for you than anything else. If you are too scared you can shoot a reduced dose but it’s up to you.
 
So this is a topic I have been meaning to write about. Those needles are so tiny and I asked the pharmacist for some with more .25 ml graduations. They said those do not exist and I should just try to keep relative doses. So no way to shoot exactly .25. so I have been keeping the insulin all relative to my best attempt at the correct marking on the syringe. This sound, correct?

So in this case it was less than my 'usual 1.25U' ...I put 1.0 in the spreadsheet.
 
Last edited:
PMPS +1 = 226
So she seems to jump a little up just after eating/shooting (+1), then will drop +2 and beyond. Is this 'normal'?

Also weighed her. 9.8 lbs. SO good she gained a few tenths.
 
Yes. It’s a food bump. The insulin will kick in around +2 and it’s called onset. We will know more then.

They do make syringes with 1/2 unit markings. That’s what we all use. Another way to be more accurate is to use digital calipers. That’s what I used. Actually I used both. .25 can make a big difference. You can take a used syringe that has good markings and use colored water to make a sample meanwhile.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
 
Ok. Good news I have sets of calipers. I don't think they are packed yet. So will go looking in the garage tomorrow in daylight. Once I have those I will re read again and again the caliper links and videos you sent above.
 
That’s great. It’s the best way to get accurate doses. The lines on the syringes are often off by as much as .25. When you measure for the calipers, pick the best one you have where tge beginning line is nice and straight.
 
Back
Top