Julie and Kitty
Member Since 2020
Previous threads: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...wn-to-70-at-5-last-night.225262/#post-2521229
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-1-kitty-pmps-198-to-shoot-or-no-1-176.225099/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-2-kitty-pmps-223-dosing-advice.225145/
Full story: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-update-on-kitty.224044/
I'm pretty new to this and am struggling to figure out what is going on with Kitty.
Lately, her PMPS BG levels have been consistently low, with the AMPS levels being generally high.
We've been skipping shots due to not being able to monitor through the night. Yesterday morning I decided to decrease her insulin dose to 0.75 so I could give her PM shot, but then it was super low, 86! Needless to say I skipped again.
This morning it was high so gave her the 0.75 again (should I have done 0.5?).
Anyway I've been messing with her food so I wonder if that has something to do with it.
I'm still struggling to get her eating wet food. However I found something called "Tuna for Cats" (it's the same as this stuff just from London Drugs here in Canada http://catfooddb.com/product/trader joe's/Tuna+For+Cats), it contains taurine, but I don't think I should be feeding her that all the time since it's Tuna, but it is low carb and the only wet food she's eaten consistently
.
Today I mixed it with a tiny bit of tuna flavoured wet cat food. When I tried that before she wouldn't touch it, but I did like 50/50. I mixed with just a very small amount this morning. Fingers crossed.
Does anyway know about this "tuna for cats" stuff? Or what is going on with Kitty's BG levels? Would a different type of insulin that's given once per day potentially work better for her?
Thank you for your thoughts on this.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-1-kitty-pmps-198-to-shoot-or-no-1-176.225099/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-2-kitty-pmps-223-dosing-advice.225145/
Full story: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-update-on-kitty.224044/
I'm pretty new to this and am struggling to figure out what is going on with Kitty.
Lately, her PMPS BG levels have been consistently low, with the AMPS levels being generally high.
We've been skipping shots due to not being able to monitor through the night. Yesterday morning I decided to decrease her insulin dose to 0.75 so I could give her PM shot, but then it was super low, 86! Needless to say I skipped again.
This morning it was high so gave her the 0.75 again (should I have done 0.5?).
Anyway I've been messing with her food so I wonder if that has something to do with it.
I'm still struggling to get her eating wet food. However I found something called "Tuna for Cats" (it's the same as this stuff just from London Drugs here in Canada http://catfooddb.com/product/trader joe's/Tuna+For+Cats), it contains taurine, but I don't think I should be feeding her that all the time since it's Tuna, but it is low carb and the only wet food she's eaten consistently
. Today I mixed it with a tiny bit of tuna flavoured wet cat food. When I tried that before she wouldn't touch it, but I did like 50/50. I mixed with just a very small amount this morning. Fingers crossed.
Does anyway know about this "tuna for cats" stuff? Or what is going on with Kitty's BG levels? Would a different type of insulin that's given once per day potentially work better for her?
Thank you for your thoughts on this.
