2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2; 456

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Is it time to up him yet again? After his one day in the green I was hoping he'd have lower numbers. And I was sure today would be a good day when his AMPS was 239. Instead he has gone way up again. Do I wait or do I up him? Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Hi Susie. Elian Did jump up there this cycle. I can't offer any dosing advice but I'm sure someone that is qualified will be here shortly. Often these furry buddies of ours have us scratching our heads trying to figure them out.

Welcome to Lantus Land.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Hi Susie,

Based on the protocol, not my opinion, it looks like he could use a raise. Its just troubles me that there are some nadirs missing so I can't say whether he should be raised .25 or .50. Can you try to get a PMPS +6 tonight or something in that area? I know it's difficult when you shoot as late as you do, but the increase is based on his nadir not his pre-shot and you are on his 6th cycle now. It would be helpful to see what he's doing at night. I'd be happy to look at spreadsheet in the morning and post what I think here. I get up way earlier than you.

Can ya' do that?

Edit: I'm no expert on this I'm just reading the stickies and going on what I've learned in the past 4 years. If anyone would like to offer their opinion, I'd be grateful. THANKS!!!! :razz:
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Thanks for the welcome. And Caryl - I'll try to get one tonight at 3:30. I'm actually up early but I'm usually caring for other animals so it just worked best for me to get done with everybody else and then take care of Elian. Also - it allows me to finish up with everybody at night and then take care of him - hence 9:30 am/pm.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Susie and Elian said:
Thanks for the welcome. And Caryl - I'll try to get one tonight at 3:30. I'm actually up early but I'm usually caring for other animals so it just worked best for me to get done with everybody else and then take care of Elian. Also - it allows me to finish up with everybody at night and then take care of him - hence 9:30 am/pm.

I understand...Alex's schedule is going to be changing next week also. Not that it matters really since he is not on tight regulation. But my shift changes completely on Monday and it stinks...that's why I've been so happy...NOT. angry(2)_cat

Anyway, not a problem but no one can really make a judgement about E's dosecrease without all of the information. Don't know if he's going up or down at night?
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

I would give him another cycle and see how he does. Sometimes bounces can take 72 hours (3 days) to clear.
I agree with Caryl. Please get a mid-cycle test, tonight.

Come on down, nice and easy, Elian. Dosecrease threat.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

I agree with Caryl and if you don't get a more definitive response and need to shoot tomorrow - go with the small increase of 0.25. baby steps and a safe way to increase if you are going to.......
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Wow - here I was so proud of myself for getting middle of the night readings lately but I didn't realize I haven't been consistant! So much and so many depending on me each and every day - I lose track! I will get up tonight and get some readings. I really thought today was going to be a day where I had to watch him closely - fearing he was going to go really low again - based on his amps....one of the lowest he's ever had. No rhyme or reason to his readings. At least not to me - I'm as confused as day 1.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

That's why at this point you need to be getting tests every cycle. He may have gone low during the night and his
Preshot may have been before he bounced but we'll never know,right?
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Hi, Susie.

I think you're fine to increase Elian. Seeing what tonight's cycle looks like will help. I would suggest increasing by 0.25u. You were seeing greens at this dose so you don't want to be too aggressive by increasing more than 0.25u.

It does look like Elian is bouncing. It's possible that he's even bouncing off of yellow numbers.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Thanks. I will make sure I get a few readings during the night. He had a 371 pmps again tonight - got his shot at 9:30. Will check back in the morning.
 
Re: 2/13 Elian - need help again, please? amps 239; 433 +2;

Susie and Elian said:
Thanks. I will make sure I get a few readings during the night. He had a 371 pmps again tonight - got his shot at 9:30. Will check back in the morning.
I just checked his spreadsheet and was looking to confirm what Sienne said and I don't see the Mid cycle reading filled in.. Please fill in the spreadsheet when you take tests as we aren't all on same schedule and you need to keep it current

That said, I agree with.25 increase.

Good Luck and monitor him today :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top