2/13 Eleanor AMPS 279 +6 201 Cerenia Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...234-6-194-8-166-pmps-249.173053/#post-1894740

I hope it's a bounce and not because I reduced her dose. I'm trying so hard not to mess her up again.
Eleanor still isn't eating on her own, it's difficult for me to inject her when she is not distracted by food, never can tell if it went in right.

No vomit, one pudding poo. Neg ketones.

I was trying to put notes in the SS, instead of going in the correct area, it went where the BG numbers are supposed to go. I can't delete it, any ideas? Sheesh.

EDIT: Eleanor seemed okay, then she had a liquid poo and threw up her +6 snack. I gave her 4mg of Cerenia (this is her third day of it), left the room to go do something with the other cat, came back within 10-15 minutes and Eleanor had thrown up mostly liquid. Her Cerenia must have come up. Can I give her another one?
If she doesn't have it in her she will no doubt be vomiting non stop all day and night.
I called the vet but I don't expect to hear back.
 
Last edited:
Cerenia also comes as an injection, which is nice when they are vomiting. The needle will seem huge compared to an insulin needle and the shot can sting. I would probably give her another 4 mg pill, if you can't get the injection, and hopefully it will stay down. Do you have any ondansetron? That is helpful for nausea, also comes as pill or injection.
Liz
 
EDIT: Eleanor seemed okay, then she had a liquid poo and threw up her +6 snack. I gave her 4mg of Cerenia (this is her third day of it), left the room to go do something with the other cat, came back within 10-15 minutes and Eleanor had thrown up mostly liquid. Her Cerenia must have come up. Can I give her another one?
If she doesn't have it in her she will no doubt be vomiting non stop all day and night.
I called the vet but I don't expect to hear back.
Julie, it's better to reply with an update like the above rather than adding it to you first post for the day. Most people don't go back to re-read a post they've already read.
Do you have any ondansetron? I've read of people giving both ondansetron and cerenia. Ondansetron is more for nausea, but it might help. SEB might help sooth her tummy too.
 
Cerenia also comes as an injection, which is nice when they are vomiting. The needle will seem huge compared to an insulin needle and the shot can sting. I would probably give her another 4 mg pill, if you can't get the injection, and hopefully it will stay down. Do you have any ondansetron? That is helpful for nausea, also comes as pill or injection.
Liz

Thank you Liz. I have injectable cerenia but I have to give it to her with subq
fluids, which I'm not able right now to give by myself, I thought she would be
ok with the pill.
I do have ondansetron. I try not to give it to her because she acts so weird, twitching and staring at walls! But I went ahead and gave it today.
 
Julie, it's better to reply with an update like the above rather than adding it to you first post for the day. Most people don't go back to re-read a post they've already read.
Do you have any ondansetron? I've read of people giving both ondansetron and cerenia. Ondansetron is more for nausea, but it might help. SEB might help sooth her tummy too.
Thank you Dyana.
 
sounds like you need a bunch of really big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: praying for you and Eleanor... sending strength, comfort and health to you both... like Dyana said... we are all here if you need to talk to friends
 
I gave all my cats Ondansetron at one time or another. I've never seen a reaction like that. I, too, wonder if it was just a coincidence?

have injectable cerenia but I have to give it to her with subq
fluids, which I'm not able right now to give by myself
Why do you have to give it in fluids? I always gave it as an injection, like insulin (but with a bigger needle).
 
1 mg Ondansetron. The twitching and staring happened twice. I didn't give it to her again until I gave it to her yesterday, and she was fine. I have two other cats I've given it to with no reaction of any kind. Eleanor is kind of weird I think. I really don't know what is up with her, she seems to have unheard of symptoms after taking various meds!

The injectable Cerenia can sting, Eleanor is super sensitive to being injected with anything, I don't want to risk it stinging her.
Lantus was stinging when she was up to 5u and it became a huge ordeal for awhile getting her to cooperate with B12 injections, fluids, lower doses of
insulin.
 
Glad the ondansetron was fine this time. ECID! And Eleanore is extra special. :) I understand about the stinging, we were glad when we discovered that cerenia came in pill form and didn't have to give shots.
Liz
 
I found that the injectable Ondansetron stung, too. I think it has to do with the higher amount of the fluid being injected. Thanks for answering my questions. I'm glad the symptoms didn't show up this time you gave Ondansetron. There must have been some other factor present the two times she had issues, that wasn't this time, but how to figure that out? Let's just hope she doesn't need it very often.

Sending tummy vines, appy vines and good poo vines!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top