2/13 Disco AMPS 236,+11.25 115,+11.5 93,+12 73,+12.25 60,+12.5 50,+13 45,+13.5 75,+14 93, +15 94

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Disco had a smooth day yesterday, and his PM +10.75 was 258, and I'm so glad for the guidance to do +10 or 11's to see where he might be headed before him AMPS is due. Looking forward to getting back on schedule after the stall yesterday morning, and again, know how to do it with the info from the stickies and members! Thx!!
 

Attachments

  • 8DBD513E-3268-46AF-9DD9-9F53B3182E70.jpeg
    8DBD513E-3268-46AF-9DD9-9F53B3182E70.jpeg
    76.5 KB · Views: 76
Last edited:
here is the post

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-49-13-75-49-14-39-fed-2tsp-lc.225340/page-2

you stalled for 2 hours and then skipped.

he is falling rapidly tonight too. might need to stall, feed the 40s and skip. keep testing every 20 mins. poor disco's ears :-(
I hope that with time and experience, I can stress and read at the same time! Thank you for looking that up. I do his pads, his ears would be shredded after the past few crashes. Almost time to test again.
 
I hope that with time and experience, I can stress and read at the same time! Thank you for looking that up. I do his pads, his ears would be shredded after the past few crashes. Almost time to test again.

i feel your pain. i'm stressed as well. hopefully i will be a pro if and when Bandit decides to head low!
last time, Wendy had said to call it a skip at 49. let us see where he heads tonight in the first hour.

ETA: Wendy's post from the last time
"You never shoot below 50. When he hit 49 a while back, that was the time to call it a skip unless you were willing to really move shot time a couple hours. You always feed the 40's. Which influences the blood sugar and you'd have to wait to see if he really started zooming up before shooting. The 30's always means high carb food.

Looks like Disco is one of those whose numbers really drop without food on time. Good information to tuck away. He's done the late cycle dive a couple times. Might want to think about occasionally getting a +10 when you suspect it's time for him to break a bounce. That way you can give him a light snack at +10, hopefully prevent that diving, and not have a carb influenced preshot."
 
here is the post

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-49-13-75-49-14-39-fed-2tsp-lc.225340/page-2

you stalled for 2 hours and then skipped.

he is falling rapidly tonight too. might need to stall, feed the 40s and skip. keep testing every 20 mins. poor disco's ears :-(
i feel your pain. i'm stressed as well. hopefully i will be a pro if and when Bandit decides to head low!
last time, Wendy had said to call it a skip at 49. let us see where he heads tonight in the first hour.

ETA: Wendy's post from the last time
"You never shoot below 50. When he hit 49 a while back, that was the time to call it a skip unless you were willing to really move shot time a couple hours. You always feed the 40's. Which influences the blood sugar and you'd have to wait to see if he really started zooming up before shooting. The 30's always means high carb food.

Looks like Disco is one of those whose numbers really drop without food on time. Good information to tuck away. He's done the late cycle dive a couple times. Might want to think about occasionally getting a +10 when you suspect it's time for him to break a bounce. That way you can give him a light snack at +10, hopefully prevent that diving, and not have a carb influenced preshot."

+12.25 60 and yes, I should have fed him some LC when I got the 10.75 but was conflicted as it was less than 2 hours before him PMPS was due. I will now make sure I do a +10 and not let anything get in my way, set my phone alarm etc--I do that when I am home but was running an errand and time got away from me.
 
Wonder if I'll ever get back to his usual shoot time of 8am and 8pm...sigh

More of this and your 8am shot will be at 8pm and vice versa :D:D:D

When you skip a shot, you can give the next shot at +11.50 hours from what would have been your previous PS. So tomorrow morning, you can shoot at today's PMPS +11.5.
ETA: scratch the above line and see post below.
 
Last edited:
Since you've decided to skip, feed him his dinner and see where he goes. maybe add just a little MC to the mix to prevent drops. test again in 20-30 mins. I remember Wendy saying the last time that food takes that much time to act and testing before that would be meaningless.
Yes, I just read that, so every 15 min tests at this point are pointless, HaHa. Feeding him his usual LC dinner now, will test in 15 min
 
Oh, you don't know how much a comfort you are, and you are doing more than moral support, you are reading my old posts to me cuz I can't focus.

it's going to take me a while (and some) to forget that I recommended you feed LC when Disco was 39! :(

He just ate 3 oz of Darwin's Raw Turkey so fast, he may throw it up. his usual meal is 3 oz but the other 2 cats share a large plate of 3 oz each and usually he doesn't eat it all at once like the others do

Hopefully not. Anyway, since you skipped the shot, it gives you a bit of a buffer to get food into him.

Oh, you don't know how much a comfort you are, and you are doing more than moral support, you are reading my old posts to me cuz I can't focus.

Let us both bookmark your post of Feb 8th for future reference. Why do i feel we are going to need it again soon? :D:p
 
it's going to take me a while (and some) to forget that I recommended you feed LC when Disco was 39! :(

Hopefully not. Anyway, since you skipped the shot, it gives you a bit of a buffer to get food into him.

Let us both bookmark your post of Feb 8th for future reference. Why do i feel we are going to need it again soon? :D:p

He hit 45 at +13, fed him 2 tsp HC Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. Do I keep feeding him 2 tsp with each test if he keeps dropping?
 
He hit 45 at +13, fed him 2 tsp HC Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. Do I keep feeding him 2 tsp with each test if he keeps dropping?

Yes, hopefully he will start heading higher from the next test once the effect of his dinner kicks in.
Not sure how to achieve the balance of feeding him right - so he doesn't fall too low and doesn't zoom too much without the insulin. Safety first, i guess!
 
Yes, hopefully he will start heading higher from the next test once the effect of his dinner kicks in.
Not sure how to achieve the balance of feeding him right - so he doesn't fall too low and doesn't zoom too much without the insulin. Safety first, i guess!
Next test, if I wait 30 min from last test, is due in 15 min. I skip the 15 min increments, right?
 
Yup. You've fed him his dinner plus some HC. Lets wait for them to kick in. Give Disco a break.

75 @ +13.5...fat and sassy! I guess I could have waited on the HC til he dropped below 40 as I had fed him LC, but I was anxious though now I don't know which food helped him, and I probably fed too much LC but it was down the hatch in a nanosecond!
 
Last edited:
Here's a question I suddenly thought about. If you've skipped the shot, can you not shoot at 8am tomorrow? Let's see if someone with experience can help with this.
Great! No more HC and MC unless he falls below 50. Test again in an hour?
Yes, I am comfortable waiting an hour. Actually, now that 15 min has past, I think I'll do the next test at 30 min...an hour seems like an eternity...
 
Last edited:
Here's a question I suddenly thought about. If you've skipped the shot, can you not shoot at 8am tomorrow? Let's see if someone with experience can help with this.

This week got skewed a little. On Tues 2/11 AM, I was 45 min late in giving his insulin (gave at 8:45am). And yesterday, Wed 2/12,his AMPS was 113, so until I got advice, his shot time was delayed til 9:25am, so I shot him 15 min early in the PM on Wed 2/12 and 15 min early this morning (or could do the 30 min per day instead of the 15 min per cycle).
 
Last edited:
This week got skewed a little. On Tues 2/11 AM, I was 45 min late in giving his insulin (gave at 8:45am). And yesterday, Wed 2/12,his AMPS was 113, so until I got advice, his shot time was delayed til 9:25am, so I shot him 15 min early in the PM on Wed 2/12 and 15 min early this morning (or could do the 30 min per day instead of the 15 min per cycle

I think I was wrong (yet again) about the "+11.50 hours from today's PMPS". Maybe post a question tomorrow AM (on a new condo) asking about shot time? I think it should be fine to shoot Disco at 8am. But I would like a confirmation from an experienced member.
 
I think I was wrong (yet again) about the "+11.50 hours from today's PMPS". Maybe post a question tomorrow AM (on a new condo) asking about shot time? I think it should be fine to shoot Disco at 8am. But I would like a confirmation from an experienced member.
Thanks for hanging in there with me once again!
 
pfffft! it was nothing. where is he at now? have you managed to get a bite to eat?

btw, you could post a new thread for feb 14th right away since it is 14th now, right? you could get answers to whether you can shoot at 8am tomorrow by the time you wake up.
link this thread to that post.
It's 20 minutes til it's the 14th here, but I'll be up for a while, so good idea. And I had eaten dinner before all the excitement started, but am eating ice cream now...
 
When you skip a shot, you can give the next shot at +11.50 hours from what would have been your previous PS. So tomorrow morning, you can shoot at today's PMPS +11.5.
You can shoot any time you want tomorrow morning, because you skipped. You just need to be at least 12 hours after your previous shot which was this morning.

It’s unfortunate you didn’t feed him earlier to prevent the reduction. Like you said, next time get that +9.5 or +10 and feed if dropping. He is barely spending any time in healing green numbers. The goal is to spend as much time in the 50-120 range, if remission is your ultimate goal. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission.

The +1 cell on the spreadsheet for tonight needs a different colour, it’s too close to blue. After years of looking at spreadsheets, our brain gets wired to look for colour patterns.
 
Back
Top