2/13 Darcy - PMPS 445, +1 389, +2 409, +3 359, +4 414

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
I did start with the .25 R this morning. Did the hourly BG checks. Where do we go from here? I have seen in several posts for others using R that the most important thing to know is when not to use it. I would like to know the parameters for that. No problems this morning except that it didn't seem to bring his numbers lower. He just gets higher and higher.

For tonight... .25 again? I'm going to shoot a little earlier (only 30 minutes) so I can hopefully get to bed (time change tonight, I think... Daylight Savings Time begins so I will lose an hour of sleep which I usually get very little of anyway :-( and have to shoot no later than 6 a.m. tomorrow morning.

last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-10-darcy-is-flying-higher-amps-353-5-447-9-392.242892/
 
I would try 0.25 units again. It takes a 2-3 times at a dose to see what is happening. The underlying Lantus action can mask what the R is doing.

When not to shoot R includes, the first cycle of an L increase (cause sometimes that's active by itself), and when a bounce is breaking and you might be getting downward momentum from that. Essentially you are trying to avoid situations where the R takes things down more than 100 points.

Things learned so far, it looks like the R onset might +2 with Darcy. That is typical. Note, Neko didn't like being typical. :p This R dose is probably too low, but let's give it another try tonight to make sure. You were probably dealing with some NDW action even without the R.

A couple other things to note with R. The action from R can sometimes be seen later or in later cycles. By giving the L some lower numbers to grab onto, you could see some action you wouldn't otherwise.

One very important thing to consider is your routine with giving R. Make sure you are present of mind and have a good process. We've seen people accidentally give an R's dose of L. :eek: Or mix up the R and Adequan vials. :eek::eek: I used to keep R in a vial, my L was in pens. If shooting at the same time, I always got out the L first, loaded the syringe and shot, then got the R out of the fridge. It was kept in a different part of the fridge, in it's original box while the L was in a small cup.

And lastly, you are going to be ultimately build an R scale. Something like, if BG is between A and B, shoot x units of R. For now, no R if less than 300. That may change. Sandy had a really good example on Black Kitty's spreadsheet. Note, R scales are very unique to each cat. Neko never got above 0.5 units of R (max L dose 8.75 units) but I've also seen a 30 units L cat need no more than 0.5 units of R. And some need a lot more. When Neko's dose was lower, her R dose was also very small.

Half hour early tonight should be fine, so what time Georgia time? I'll try to be on then.
 
I didn’t get to do it at 6:00 but it will be okay. He got his Lantus at almost exactly 12 hours. Then after that the R.
Thank you for the cautions/reminders about the R. I will try to place safeguards to ensure that I won’t make a mistake.

It seems very daunting!
 
:arghh:
I’m going to update my SS now. Darcy wasn’t feeling great today. I could tell because he wouldn’t stop drinking massive amounts of water. I finally had to take his water away from him because I could tell that he was about to vomit. He kept licking his lips and there were lots of sounds coming from his tummy. When he goes very high, this invariably happens.
 
Could you keep your subject line updated? You can remove the AM numbers and start with PMPS. It's quicker/easier for me than opening the SS each time. And speaking of SS, that second test from last night is missing.

Lip licking and water drinking and tummy noises sounds like nausea. Poor baby.
 
+1 is 389, but he's going to eat more with his sisters now... and eating really seems to spike him... so I expect him to rise.
 
Interesting to see him come down at +1.
Oops. I kind of screwed that up. That 445 was not a fasting number. I got home at 5:30 and tested him at 390 (that was the fasting number)... then I fed him... which I should not have done... but he looked so poorly... and hadn't been feeling very well when I left the house a few hours before... that the first thing I did to cheer him up after I gave him that 5:30 test was feed him. He was happy :-)... then stupid me, I realized that I shouldn't have done that... so I thought... oh, I'll go ahead and shoot now then... since I tested and fed him... but unloading groceries and starting food in the oven came in between.. so it was 6:30 that I finally re-tested and then shot at 6:30 p.m. but by then he was at 445 from the 5:30 p.m. feeding. (so he went from 390 to 445 after eating) ... but yes... from 445 to 389 with the help of the R may be a good sign.
 
When they are in high numbers, it's OK to feed. You just want to not feed before preshot if you are worried he'd be too low to shoot without food influence.

And back up again. :banghead:
 
But Wendy, I am excited that, despite all this craziness in blood glucose, his ketones came down more today... to 1.3. Something good is happening!
 
When they are in high numbers, it's OK to feed. You just want to not feed before preshot if you are worried he'd be too low to shoot without food influence.

And back up again. :banghead:
Yes... I'm just sort of "trained" to always not feed for 2 hours prior to a shot! It definitely influenced his later test anyway. from 389 to 445. thank you!
 
We typically tell new people not to feed for two hours before the shot. And people often forget to tell them it's only when they are new and don't have the data to do so. For example, if you know Darcy goes up about 50 points from food, then you never want to shoot a food influenced number under 100. (we can dream).
 
+ 4 was a disappointing 414.... but really what I don't understand are why he keeps going higher... for many months now he hovers in the 300s somewhere most of the time... so why would he keep going higher with all of the interventions that I am doing?

thanks for being there tonight.
 
Do you want to increase the Lantus tomorrow morning? If so, no R experimemt. If no, you could do 0.25 units R one more time.

The acro tumour can pulse up quickly. Sometimes it's a race to catch up to it with dosing.
 
Do you want to increase the Lantus tomorrow morning? If so, no R experimemt. If no, you could do 0.25 units R one more time.

The acro tumour can pulse up quickly. Sometimes it's a race to catch up to it with dosing.
Thanks. This morning, I kept him at 14 units and gave .25 R and am in the process of testing every hour now. Tomorrow I may increase him to 15 units and then, no R.
 
Any chance of updating the spreadsheet with that +4 this morning? I'm trying to figure out if you should move to trying a 0.5 unit R dose this PM, provided the timing works for you of course.
 
Any chance of updating the spreadsheet with that +4 this morning? I'm trying to figure out if you should move to trying a 0.5 unit R dose this PM, provided the timing works for you of course.
Sorry. I just saw this. I gave him the 14 L tonight with the .25 R. About 1.5 hours ago.
 
Pmps was 329! I’m going to put it all in a new thread. Got to go feed my ferals now. Then come back and test Darcy again. Then cook dinner.
 
Back
Top