2/13 Chyna PMBG 90 +4 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi there:) I guess I lost yesterdays and this mornings condos as I logged in from work this morning and posted before I saw the post on possible loss oops. So to recap what I can remember:

2/12 Chyna AMBG 124 PMPS 223 +4 241
Haven't ever shot that low and can't monior during the day so skipped the AM shot. Ended up reducing the dose last night as recommended, but couldn't measure the 1.75 very well and had trouble even with the syringe pictures on this site so pretty sure it ended up being 1.5. Some nice people suggested calipers (and a magnifying glass) so I'm looking into that:) For now I'll just put 1.5 in the spreadsheet and aim for that.

Today she is still purring, peeing, pooping and happy. Playful, never been much except in spurts so she has to be in the right mood, and I don't remember the other P. And I am happy to have found this board, and all the helpful people on it are much appreciated ;-)
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142

Hi Rachel, another trick for getting those in between doses is to count drops. Practice with a used syringe and load it with water or colour liquid like apple juice. Then turn the plunger so you get a drop out. Count how many drops are between the lines, then half of that number is the in between dose. Keep practicing so you are consistently getting the same number of drops between the lines. So the sequence of events for the BD's is to load the syringe to a half unit or so above what you need, get rid of the bubbles, go to the line above your dose, then count down the number of drops so you are half way.

Nice numbers for Chyna today!
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 104??

Thanks, I will try that too, although Chyna may be a bit nervous if I am standing around with a needle for long periods of time, LOL. I thought with the skipped shots lately we would not be this low so soon, even with a dose decrease...am I skipping again? We've been going down all day...Please help:(
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 104 skip?

Well, this is a good problem to have, great numbers. :-D You have these choices: shoot, skip, stall or reduced dose. If you're going to be around to monitor with plenty of supplies (strips, karo, MC and HC food), you can shoot. You are in charge if you are testing and have food and karo to bring her up.

We use the calipers, magnifying lamp and magnifiers that we wear on our head. I can find the link on amazon if you're interested.
Liz

ETA: I think these are the magnifiers that we use. There are different versions. We figure 12 drops per unit or 3 drops per 0.25u. So to measure 1.75u, I would go to 2 units, then squeeze out 3 drops and verify with the calipers.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 104 skip?

At the moment I am stalling and thinking about a reduced dose tonight but not sure what. I can monitor for awhile tonight, I just wish she'd do this on days off:P How much does skipping mess up momentum? It doesn't seem to be slowing it down much, lol. I'm wondering if the all wet food has something to do with all this reducing...I read that it can cause drastic reductions in insulin amounts...she's on day 5 of all wet EVO (no grains). (edit-thanks, I'll be checking those magnifiers out :cool: )
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 104??

raeifo said:
Thanks, I will try that too, although Chyna may be a bit nervous if I am standing around with a needle for long periods of time, LOL. I thought with the skipped shots lately we would not be this low so soon, even with a dose decrease...am I skipping again? We've been going down all day...Please help:(

You don't need to skip a shot; you can give a partial shot, maybe a .5u shot, or you could delay the shot to see if Chyna gets a rising number..... you have to hold back food until you decide if you will shoot full dose, partial dose, or skip shot.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 104 skip?

How about 1u? It would be better if Marje or Sienne could suggest a dose but neither seem to be on the board right now. Changing to a low carb wet food can really make a huge difference for some kitties. I hope that's true for Chyna.
Liz
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

Rachel

Keep in mind that because of the depot, her cycle is likely to look exactly the same whether you skip, shoot a reduced dose, or shoot a full dose at least in the first several hours. Look when you skipped the a.m. cycle of 2/11. The depot kept her numbers down until later in the cycle.

If you plan on skipping this, then you need to take her dose down again because you need to be able to shoot twice a day. This is a very shootable number but she's clearing a bounce so she will likely keep coming down.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

I do too, that would be awesome to have very tiny doses, or none! I wish I would have known all this info about wet food and Lantus at the beginning of December:) Well it's been 45 minutes since her last test and we're down to 90. Half an hour past normal shot time, and it makes me so nervous that she keeps doing this even though everyone says the numbers are good :shock: I think I'll be safe and skip...again. Maybe go down to 1 unit in the morning to see what that does? Hopefully Marje or Sienne will be on later and can advise...
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

Sorry Marje you posted while I was posting...should I give her maybe 0.5U tonight then just to give her some insulin or do you mean the 1.5?
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

It depends on what you can do. I'm not a big fan of skipping if you have a safe number to shoot, have supplies, and can be up to test. You can shoot a reduced dose but that is more for you than her. Because of the depot, you still need to test her and see where she goes.

The one advantage to skipping is she might come down low as she would but she won't hypo without insulin. I know you're tired and you have to work tomorrow so if that is the best option for you, it's absolutely fine. I want you to do what you feel is best for you and safest for her. She does bounce back really fast into nice numbers.

Your call...you hold the syringe ;-) But if you need to keep skipping, I'd reduce her dose tomorrow to 1.25u.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

Hey Rachel

I've got to run out and grab our takeout dinner but I'll check back in with you....I'll be back in 20.

Seriously...no pressure...do what you need to do, ok? She's doing great.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMPS 90 skip?

I need dinner too, getting hungry. I'm just too worried to shoot anything, especially since I already know I won't be able to come home for lunchtime tomorrow, my car will be in the shop. I really don't want to keep skipping though, so reducing I will go tomorrow morning. Guess tonight is practicing for counting drops for that between black lines dose:) Hopefully I can get this, otherwise it will be a 1 unit dose, lol.

Sorry to be such a pain! I have been reading all the "shooting low numbers" and such. It's all a jumble in my brain...I feel so stupid. On a good note, today I found a vet office in town (that my boss goes to and raves about) that has quite a few diabetic cats and some use Lantus, and they are open Saturdays (which the current vet is not) and a little later on weekdays. Chyna could use a check up anyways I think, so I made an appointment next Saturday (this week is already booked up for Saturday) to see if they will be a good fit, paws crossed. And we started using the new automatic feeder no problem:)
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMBG 90

Rachel

You are not a pain and you are not stupid! It's a steep learning curve. Why don't you get a +2 or before bed and get some rest.

Then reduce the dose tomorrow and see if you can shoot twice a day. I think Chyna might have some plans down the road a bit if you can get a dose that lets you shoot bid. Great news on the vet!
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMBG 90

It seems as soon as I see a low number, all the reading goes straight out my brain confused_cat . So thankful for you and the others on this site! I really do need some sleep, I'll do another test before bed:) I hope your kitty is feeling better soon, what a cutie:)
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMBG 90

I know it's got to be harder when you have to work. But shooting low (above 50) to stay low really is beneficial.

Thank you...she's a little quiet tonight but she's eating well. I think it might be the meds making her sleepy. I appreciate your thoughts.
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMBG 90

Aww poor sweet kitty, I'm glad she is eating and hope she is much better soon. You help so many others when you must be worried yourself so sending you lots of good thoughts.

I just had a little play session so that was good, kitty has been spending most of her time on the bed so I was wondering how she was feeling. It would be much less stressful to shoot some of the lower numbers if I didn't have to leave to go away to work or sleep and I wasn't worried the dose is too high now with the new diet. If she'd just pick a range to hover in so I could do two shots, lol. Where is that winning lottery ticket so I can skip work? :lol:
 
Re: 2/13 Chyna AMPS 202 +6.5 142 PMBG 90

We always wonder that, too, about the lottery ticket.

And still searching for that magic dose where Gracie just stays safe, flat, around 80. Let me know if you find it :lol:

Thank you for the wishes for my baby girl :-D
 
Ha, ha, yes I will, maybe we will both find that number. Still riding low at +4 but up a teensy bit. Tried ketones test but "someone" peed as soon as my back was turned, and not in the direction of the tin foil I had set up. No PM shot so I feel safe hitting the hay, good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top