2/12 Zeke AMPS 160; +1/151 +2/135 - Dose advice plz

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O)

Healing vines to all that need them.

Well, I'm continuing to be MIA due to work demands. I'm checking condos but find that if I start posting, my schedule gets derailed too much and I end up getting to work way too late. So although I'm not leaving any posts, please know that I'm checking in and rooting everyone on to better appy's, BGs and FD management in general.

Zeke's holding steady on the 0.75u. We're pleased that, for the most part, he's been under 200 and seeing lots of blues and green. It is however a little puzzling how much he's up and down on this dose. Can't seem to gain any real consistency. We are finding that we're having to really manage his feedings in order to help this dose along. We've backed off on the 7% and are feeding mostly 4%. We changed up his feedings in that for the most part he doesn't eat after +3, and most times we cut him off by +2.5. We don't leave food out, so he goes quite a few hours without eating, but he seems to be fine with the current feeding arrangement. We're doing this in an effort to maximize the benefit of the insulin and because his BGs do tend to rise after even just a little food after +3 or +4.

We weighted him on 2/2 and he was at 16 lbs 2 oz, down about 5oz since 1/16. A bit too much of a drop, don't you think? We thought this was too much, so we planned on adding an extra teaspoon of food every cycle. What we're finding however is that, on this dose, this little extra food is causing his BGs to rise earlier than they had been before or stay flat at a number a bit higher than we'd like. So, we're not giving him the extra food. For this reason, and the fact that we're having to micro manage the carb percentage of his food, I'm wondering if we shouldn't consider increasing the dose - perhaps just a little fattening.

Do you think that perhaps it's time to consider a little fattening of the dose or even a dosecrease? Zeke's been on this 0.75u for 9 days. I'm curious to see what you all think. I would greatly appreciate your input.

Thanks,
Laura

Zeke's previous condo from Feb 7th
 
Think Zeke was looking over my shoulder. He just dropped to 87 at +2.75. Still curiuos to see what you all think. :?: :? :?:

I have to laugh because I meant to say in my earlier post, "looks like we might be having a flat blue day." Zekey thought otherwise - which is good of course. It's funny that he seems to start off higher in the AM but then get down to nice greens, while he starts off lower in the PM but then fizzles out. Though I must say, my DH is handling the PM cycles and does tend to break out the 7% when he sees these low PSBGs (when I might not have).
 
Hi guys .. no advice from me, other then you should never post a condo when you have a kitty nearby! They like to read it and then throw you off :-D have a great day guys!
 
My only concern with fattening the dose is that Zeke is seeing 50s and 60s at 0.75u. He's in good numbers. You could try fattening if you can stick with this kind of testing. However, Zeke is largely in normal range numbers. The exception is at AMPS which is often the last number to fall in line. Had you given any thought to trying to give Zeke a "snack" at +8 or +9 to see if it brings his pre-shot numbers down?
 
I think you'll find that his #s will improve a bit more as you continue to feed the lower carb food. Putting him on a feeding schedule may also help, too. All you can do is try it and see what happens.

You may find that weighing the food may help, too. For instance, I give Blackie 41 grams of Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey at the preshot time, and then 31 grams at +1. That's about 5 oz./day divided. Considering that Zeke is a male, he'll more than likely require more food due to his size. The weight difference that he's shown you isn't significant, and a cats' weight can fluctuate like a human's. If you feel like he's lost a significant amount of weight, and you want to try and get him to maintain his current weight, perhaps an increase in food may be required. Ultimately, it may also raise his BG's, and a dose adjustment may also be required to compensate. I'm not a dose adviser by any means. Please wait for someone with more knowledge about dosing helps you.

Good luck, and I hope that both give you the results that you are looking for.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Had you given any thought to trying to give Zeke a "snack" at +8 or +9 to see if it brings his pre-shot numbers down?

The problem is that means I'll have to get up at 2:00 or 3:00 am. I'm not a morning person so the 5:30am feeding routine is taxing enough. However, I can try this weekend as I can go btb then. This is just not something I think I can maintain. I guess the benefit is that (potentially) we can keep him in healing numbers longer by stringing the cycles together, right? That's what you're thinking?


Thanks, Sienne, Devon and Angela for the support and advice.
 
I bought a timed feeder but haven't yet used it. The problem is we have 3 cats and unless we keep Zeke confined in a room by himself (which he won't like) we've no guarantee that he's the one that's eaten. I can give it a try though. He does seem to eat more than the other two so more likely he'd be the one to eat. So what's a "snack"? Maybe like 1/2 teaspoon of Tiki Cat (0%) or would it be better to give him a little carbs, say 2% (Evo) or his regular 4%, and if so how much?
 
the point of the +8/+9ish feeding is that the little bit of carbs can stimulate the pancreas. when it kicks in, it will often drop the numbers by a bit. that shows up in 3ish hours.

i'd use a low carb (say the 4%) and see what happens. probably a little more than 1/2 tsp - i'd try 2 tsps. so much of this fine-tuning is really about what works with each individual cat, so if you give it a try, see what happens and adjust from there. i'd probably try the timed feeder and have him sleeping in his own room. tell him it's to help get off of the pokies! :YMHUG:
 
Laura, nice to see you, just wanted to say hello :-D I hope you can figure out the timed feeder and fuds connundrum! Chyna loves her timed feeder, but she's the only kitty. I'm glad Zeke is hanging out in nice healthy numbers :razz: . Have a nice evening!
 
I agree with Sienne on the nadirs. I think he's at a good spot for his nadirs and he's stopped bouncing into yellow.

While you might err a little lower PS if you feed at +9, is it worth it? I think, over time, it will come down on its own. I wouldn't get up to feed that :lol: you're lucky that he tends to nadir early especially with your work schedule.

Holding the dose when kitty looks this good can really pay off. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top