Brianna & Xander
Member Since 2024
Yesterday's post
Hi everyone. Sorry, gonna be a long one. It's been... a bad night.
The day before yesterday, I thought maybe we'd finally found a good dose for Xander at 1 unit. Nadir was 97. Yesterday we spent all day in the yellows again (not sure why, doesn't seem like he went low enough to bounce). Then last night he had one of his random, seemingly unpredictable dives.
From 12:30 AM - 1:00 AM, he had dropped by 72 in about 30 minutes, then another 76 by 2:00 AM. I didn't see that until later, but I was woken up by the Libre's low glucose alarm at 2:40 AM, he was at 54. I thought this might have been a compression low because he was sleeping on the bed with us, because when he got up the number went up a little, but then it just dropped again.
At 3:08 I gave him 0.4 oz FF Grilled in Gravy (~14%), about 2 tsp. It seemed like he had a tiny bump and then dove again. At 4:17 I gave him 1 oz of the same food. Again a small bump, then a dive. At 4:45 I just gave him the other half of the can (another 1.4 oz) to try to get a bigger bump and stop the diving. Naturally right after that it kicked in and the cycle seemed to wear off and he skyrocketed.
For anyone who's been following me, you know that getting manual blood checks is basically impossible with Xander. If he's <50 on the Libre I attempt it (and usually fail), but fortunately most of the time it's not needed. The one time we were able to directly compare, the Libre seemed to be about 10 points lower when in the 50-80 range.
Anyway. Guess this still isn't the right dose. I don't understand the dives. It's not even just that he goes <90 so often, it's that there are these big drops and it seems like he just doesn't stop going down. I was so hopeful because of that cycle the other day. It's dropping just as low at 1 unit as it was at 1.75 units. It doesn't help that this batch of needles has been a pain because the stopper doesn't line up to the 0, and I have to adjust to accommodate it. I'm trying my best, but maybe last night he actually got 1.125 or 1.25 unit instead of 1 and that's why this happened. I'm starting to just grab a different needle every time I see that because they're impossible to be super specific with.
I understand that with SLGS he's earned another decrease, but given the situation with the needles I just mentioned, is it worth sticking with the 1 unit a little longer to see if he drops that low again, or should I just immediately decrease again?
Any idea what's up with these uncontrollable dives? It seems like he doesn't respond all that much to food until it feels like it.
I had been considering switching to TR but I feel like I just need more info and understanding about my specific cat, which I never get because he just seems so random. No consistency. Nothing solid to base anything on.
I'm so tired. I've mentioned before that this is literally my entire life now, no time or energy for absolutely anything else. I'm also chronically ill and generally it's hard enough to take care of just me. One major thing is I have narcolepsy, which means these 2 months of being even more chronically sleep deprived than usual is making me physically ill and emotionally always falling apart. (For reference, studies showed that a "normal" person would have to go over 3 days without sleep and try to function like they normally would to feel the same degree of fatigue a person with narcolepsy has on a typical day. Last night I got a whopping hour and a half. A normal person would be miserable but I don't know how to express to you what that's like with narcolepsy.) Thanks for reading.
Hi everyone. Sorry, gonna be a long one. It's been... a bad night.
The day before yesterday, I thought maybe we'd finally found a good dose for Xander at 1 unit. Nadir was 97. Yesterday we spent all day in the yellows again (not sure why, doesn't seem like he went low enough to bounce). Then last night he had one of his random, seemingly unpredictable dives.
From 12:30 AM - 1:00 AM, he had dropped by 72 in about 30 minutes, then another 76 by 2:00 AM. I didn't see that until later, but I was woken up by the Libre's low glucose alarm at 2:40 AM, he was at 54. I thought this might have been a compression low because he was sleeping on the bed with us, because when he got up the number went up a little, but then it just dropped again.
At 3:08 I gave him 0.4 oz FF Grilled in Gravy (~14%), about 2 tsp. It seemed like he had a tiny bump and then dove again. At 4:17 I gave him 1 oz of the same food. Again a small bump, then a dive. At 4:45 I just gave him the other half of the can (another 1.4 oz) to try to get a bigger bump and stop the diving. Naturally right after that it kicked in and the cycle seemed to wear off and he skyrocketed.
For anyone who's been following me, you know that getting manual blood checks is basically impossible with Xander. If he's <50 on the Libre I attempt it (and usually fail), but fortunately most of the time it's not needed. The one time we were able to directly compare, the Libre seemed to be about 10 points lower when in the 50-80 range.
Anyway. Guess this still isn't the right dose. I don't understand the dives. It's not even just that he goes <90 so often, it's that there are these big drops and it seems like he just doesn't stop going down. I was so hopeful because of that cycle the other day. It's dropping just as low at 1 unit as it was at 1.75 units. It doesn't help that this batch of needles has been a pain because the stopper doesn't line up to the 0, and I have to adjust to accommodate it. I'm trying my best, but maybe last night he actually got 1.125 or 1.25 unit instead of 1 and that's why this happened. I'm starting to just grab a different needle every time I see that because they're impossible to be super specific with.
I understand that with SLGS he's earned another decrease, but given the situation with the needles I just mentioned, is it worth sticking with the 1 unit a little longer to see if he drops that low again, or should I just immediately decrease again?
Any idea what's up with these uncontrollable dives? It seems like he doesn't respond all that much to food until it feels like it.
I had been considering switching to TR but I feel like I just need more info and understanding about my specific cat, which I never get because he just seems so random. No consistency. Nothing solid to base anything on.
I'm so tired. I've mentioned before that this is literally my entire life now, no time or energy for absolutely anything else. I'm also chronically ill and generally it's hard enough to take care of just me. One major thing is I have narcolepsy, which means these 2 months of being even more chronically sleep deprived than usual is making me physically ill and emotionally always falling apart. (For reference, studies showed that a "normal" person would have to go over 3 days without sleep and try to function like they normally would to feel the same degree of fatigue a person with narcolepsy has on a typical day. Last night I got a whopping hour and a half. A normal person would be miserable but I don't know how to express to you what that's like with narcolepsy.) Thanks for reading.
Last edited:
I don't say this to sound dramatic, it's just true: on the hard days I feel like my soul is just shriveling up and dying. Wish I could turn the power off until I have to feed or dose and just not have to be conscious for the rest. Anyway. That's depressing. Sorry!