JenM
Member Since 2013
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-10-tink-amps-132-2-95-still-going.132904/
So, this morning's preshot was a surprise. 84!!!! I went ahead and shot, but I wont lie... it made me nervous. He was a bit lower at +2 so I gave some extra food and stuck around for another test. Down to 65 at +2.5 so I gave him a little bit of hc. That brought him back up to 75 after a few minutes. Needing to go to work, I put a little bit of hc in the feeder along with his lc food. It'll feed him every half hour until +4.5. I hate giving the hc if I dont need to... but I'd rather be safe than sorry, obviously.
But... this morning's preshot brings up a question. I know shooting "normal" numbers is expected with Lantus... but how low is too low?? We shot a 97 a few days ago and he did great, up a little at +2, then down a bit by +4. Surfed into a mid-blue morning preshot. But then this morning's 84, he didn't surf it quite as confidently.
I'm tempted to reduce to a straight 4u (we're at 4.25 now)... but I guess I need to wait till he earns it. He did have one day under 50 back on 1/22 (PM), and got into the 50's again on the 5th of this month. We're on such a roll that I hate to ruin it... but it's hard to go to work after such a low AMPS. Is Mr P waking up???
So, this morning's preshot was a surprise. 84!!!! I went ahead and shot, but I wont lie... it made me nervous. He was a bit lower at +2 so I gave some extra food and stuck around for another test. Down to 65 at +2.5 so I gave him a little bit of hc. That brought him back up to 75 after a few minutes. Needing to go to work, I put a little bit of hc in the feeder along with his lc food. It'll feed him every half hour until +4.5. I hate giving the hc if I dont need to... but I'd rather be safe than sorry, obviously.
But... this morning's preshot brings up a question. I know shooting "normal" numbers is expected with Lantus... but how low is too low?? We shot a 97 a few days ago and he did great, up a little at +2, then down a bit by +4. Surfed into a mid-blue morning preshot. But then this morning's 84, he didn't surf it quite as confidently.
I'm tempted to reduce to a straight 4u (we're at 4.25 now)... but I guess I need to wait till he earns it. He did have one day under 50 back on 1/22 (PM), and got into the 50's again on the 5th of this month. We're on such a roll that I hate to ruin it... but it's hard to go to work after such a low AMPS. Is Mr P waking up???
Last edited: