2/12 - Sami - PMPS 184; +2 139; +3 115; +4 131; +5 106; +7 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo

Sami did quite well coming down from her RED/PINKS yesterday.At +7 PMPS last night when Sami was still in the mid 200's wasn't planning on testing any more over night, but Sami had other plans. She woke me up at +10 so I got up and did a quick test. I also gave her about a teaspoon of food. She also woke me up for AMPS, about 15 minutes early. She was hungry, which is why I try to give her a bit of food at +8 and +9 because she is rather persistent when she wants to eat. I had removed both of those small meals from the feeder in hopes to make it from +7 to AMPS without food, but Sami definitely had other plans. The teaspoon of food did seem to get her most of the way to AMPS and it didn't seem to affect her BG.

If she still runs in the same pattern she will probably rise before she falls again, but I am really hoping to see some BLUE today. I will probably try to get a +1 and a +2 this morning, because if she is still falling from last night she might continue, even though she has eaten. She ate about ¼ - ⅓ can food. It is always difficult to tell how much she eats because I always mix a bit of water into the food before I spoon it into her dish. I would say what I gave her was about 3 tablespoons maybe a bit more.

Hope everyone else has a great day.
 
So far today I am very happy with Sami's progress out of the higher numbers yesterday. I expected to see her go back up, but so far she is surfing the BLUE, and I really hope it continues, or maybe she will get down into the GREEN by PMPS. Which really makes me nervous, and I need to have a plan in place if that happens. Here are my thoughts, please let me know if this is the right way to go, or let me know what you think I should change.

If her PMPS is in the GREEN:
Shoot 2.0 units
Feed regular at AMPS with 4-5% carb food ¼ - ⅓ can (5.5 oz)
Provide 8-9% food at +4 - about 2 tablespoons
Monitor to make sure she doesn't go too low

I will probably provide regular food (4-5% - 1-2 tbsp) at +2 and +6 if she seems hungry and as long as she seems to be surfing and not dropping hard and fast. As I have mentioned she tends to like to eat often so I try to only give her a bit at a time, and will probably leave food in the feeder for +7 and possibly +8 and +9 and depending on where she is at +6 I will decide if it should be 8-9% or 4-5%.

More than likely I will get more than enough tests tonight to make sure that she is safe.
 
I tend to be a big fan of letting the numbers dictate what I do. I wouldn't plan on giving a higher carb food at +4 unless the numbers indicate it's needed. In many cases, LC food will help to keep a kitty surfing along quite nicely. If you're going to be home to monitor, using LC and then testing to see the effect on Sami's numbers may
 
I'm really, really happy to see you shooting the 2u dose! Good for you!!! :):):):) And for Sami!!!

I do agree with Sienne, though. You can't really plan ahead what you are going to do because things can change and quickly. So let's just see what she does today.

Now that I've got Gracie's dental behind us and have rested some, I'll be around tonight and can help you with shooting a green number and stay with you. Can you let me know what time your local shot time is so I can check back in on you all? And also...please let me know if you think you might do a +10 or +11 so I can check in then, too.

edited to add: BTW, I do rotate Gracie's shot site every day. I shoot left side in the a.m. and right side in the p.m. and alternate between chest, side, and flank. I save her scruff for R. The reason I rotate is she developed a little fatty tissue in the area where I was shooting in the scruff consistently. That slows absorption. Since I've been rotating, I can't really tell any difference from site to site in her numbers. But, just in case there is better absorption in other areas, I do only shoot R in the scruff.
 
Last edited:
@Sienne and Gabby Okay I won't plan the food, but if she does have a GREEN PMPS what type of testing schedule should I make for tonight?

@Marje and Gracie I am in Eastern time zone and Sami's shot time is 5:30. I will get a +10 (3:30 pm EST) or a +11 (4:30 pm EST) AMPS, which do you think would be better?

We leave the office at 5:00 pm and I go home and test by 5:15 pm and shot by 5:30 pm. I know I will shot the 2 units no matter what, but I might need some help steering the surf if necessary. I just tested at +8 and she is at 135. I just gave her a small snack of about a tablespoon and will try to hold off giving her any more food before PMPS unless she asks for it or if I test at +10 and get a LOW number, but the way she has been surfing today I don't expect her to get into the danger zone between now and PMPS.

Thanks you both, and everyone else, for sticking with me and letting me have my little freak outs. I think re-reading the threads from 2010 helped me to get a level head and it was a HUGE reminder how much more this group helped me over what the vet had recommended.
 
@Marje and Gracie I have moved back to the scruff for Sami's injection, but I don't know if it made a difference or if she just started to clear the bounce last night. I guess I will stick with the scruff for now, and only do the flank when I will be giving fluids. At least until the next time she seems to stop reacting as I expect. Then the entire plan goes out the window. LOL!
 
How about a +10 and we can go from there. That way, if she has continued to drop a lot, you can give her just a tiny bit of LC food to see if she will flatten out.

I'll check back in at 3:30 your time and also at 5:30 your time. I'll be around.

Thanks for putting this year's SS on a new tab....awesome!

Also...on the shot site....I was just confirming what Julie told you I do but each of us should do what we find is best for our cat. I have not found that moving it around makes for wonky numbers.
 
@Marje and Gracie Sounds good, +10 will be in a little over an hour from now. If she wants it I will probably give her about a teaspoon of food at that time as well. It seems like having a bit of food does help her stay level or even pushes a bit more of a drop out of her.
 
Looks like Sami is on the rise to PMPS. I just gave her about a tablespoon of Wellness Turkey and I am hoping that will keep her somewhat level through PMPS. I was hoping for some GREEN today, but maybe tomorrow.

I am pretty sure that we have to wait 10 full cycles before another increase since she is getting down into the BLUE so nicely.

Today my positive is that she has spent to much time in the BLUE, and I hope she continues that trend tonight as well.
 
Ok...you should be good to shoot on time with 2u. I will check back at PMPS a in case she double dips and you get concerned.

Also....remember that you fed her some LC a little bit ago and that little bit of food late in the cycle could bump her up. She might come back down.

See you soon.
 
@Marje and Gracie Yes, I do know that she might have a slightly higher number at PMPS because of the food at +10. The main reason I like to give her a bit of food is because she gets anxious when she wants to eat and can't, and I would think that would increase her BG as well. So in this case it is one or the other. LOL!

We will be leaving the office in about 45 minutes and I will post her number when I get home. Even if she is about the same or slight higher or lower I think I will be okay to shoot tonight. I got a bit of extra sleep last night so if I need to monitor more closely I can. I would love to see the GREEN tonight.
 
PMPS 184; should I worry about getting a +1 or should I just hold off for the +2?

Fed approximately 3 tbsp, half Wellness Turkey and half Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet Dinner
 
+2 - 139

Sami is currently having a bit of LC food, there was a bit over a tablespoon in the dish. Should I let her eat it, or hold back food just in case she goes lower?

When should I test next?
 
I'd let her eat it and I'd get a +3 because her +2 is more than meter variance below her PMPS. Remember we are gathering data and so we might test a little more so we can see if she does drop a lot when her +2 is more than meter variance below PMPS.

See you in an hour.
 
You're welcome!!! I am giving Gracie her shot in one hour....about the time of your +3....but don't worry; it won't take me long and I'll be on just as soon as I shoot. If you see a high (say, above 80) green number, don't wait for me but feed two tsp of LC food. I'll be on shortly after to tell you when to test next. If it's a green number lower than 80, that's a fairly good drop early in the cycle so I might feed a couple tsp of a higher LC food (around 10%) or lower MC (12%) to see if you can get her to slow down so we can get her to surf.

But, like I said....I'll have everything ready to shoot just before your +3 and I should be on while Gracie is finishing her dinner.
 
@Marje and Gracie I think I would be okay with an hour. I will still keep an eye on her and if she starts to act funny I will do a quick test. Right now she is tormenting her sister. LOL! Which tells me she is feeling so much better.

Thanks again. I will be bookmarking this thread so I have the info readily at hand for the next time I have to shoot a low number.
 
I'm just basing it on the fact that she didn't drop that much between +2 and +3 and I don't want you to have to poke her every 30 minutes if she's above 100. Once she starts down, if she does it with any speed, then we can modify testing times but for right now, paws crossed!
 
+4 - 131

So now what. Wouldn't Sami's +2 - +3 - +4 be about the same due to meter variance?

How often should I test for the rest of the night?

Should I go ahead and let her eat again, and if so how often?
 
@Marje and Gracie Okay, I will test again at +6. I am not sure I will be able to stay up that long, but I can leave a bit of low carb food out just in case she wants to eat some. If I stay up for the next hour I might go ahead and get a +5 before going to bed for an hour.

If I test at +5 and she is a bit higher than +4 do you think I could wait until +7 to test again instead of testing at +6?
 
I just tested at +5, and she was 106. I gave her about 3 teaspoons of LC food, 4-5%. I would like to sleep for an hour and then test again at +6. Would that be okay?

Should I leave a bit of food out?
 
I know you're tired but I'd like to see her coming up. I wouldn't feed anymore tonight so we can see if she continues up on her own.
 
Do you feel comfortable trying two hours? There's really no data that gives me a clue but she's late in the cycle. I won't be up, though....I've got about an hour left in me because looks like I'm also going to be getting up and down tonight.
 
@Marje and Gracie I am nervous about letting her go 2 hours without food. I will check her again in an hour. What should I do if she is about the same? She has a tendency to drop for a full 12 hours, but that is when she has been much higher to start with.
 
If she's surfing, thats great. Yeah...I don't see a time at night when she's kept dropping for 12 hours when she's been blue or green.

If you're nervous, you've got two choices:
Keep checking her or feed her some higher carb food and get her up so you can sleep.

It's up to you. I have fed higher carb food just to bump Gracie up enough that I could get 2-3 hours sleep uninterrupted so don't worry about doing that.
 
@Marje and Gracie

Okay, I am going to test her again in a few minutes, which will be about 30 since the last test. If she is about the same then I might give her some medium carb food and go back to bed for a few hours. Too bad she didn't pull this tomorrow night when I don't have to work on Saturday.
 
+7.5 - 105

I know this could just be meter variance. Should I just give some medium carb food or low carb and test again in an hour?
 
+8 - 103

@Marje and Gracie
She seems to be surfing nicely, but I am still nervous about going to bed. I will give her a couple of teaspoons of 8% food and then go to bed. I will check her again at +10. Thanks again for all the help tonight. Hopefully she will keep surfing these low blues for the rest of the night.

But what to do at AMPS. If she is still about the same or lower would it be okay to give her medium carb food right at the start of her cycle along with her full dose. Obviously I will be able to monitor closely tomorrow during the day so we can make sure she doesn't go too low.
 
I'm so sorry you've been up all night and have to work tomorrow.

If she's still surfing at AMPS above 100, you might continue the LC and see how she does.

I hope you get some rest. Night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top