2/12 Purrdy AMPS 187 +3 124 +4 117 +5 130 +7.5 194 walk +8.5 171 PMPS 194 +4 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Recap
AMPS 144 - after feeding a couple of tsp at PM +9, lowest AMPS to date :joyful:
+2 146
+4 144
+8 221 - highest he's been (excluding late travel shot) since dx :(:(:(
PMPS 202
+2 124
+4 99 :D
+6 108

Didn't get up for the +9 snack after yesterday's emotional roller coaster (his numbers and worrying about little Gracie's dental - dammit it's almost as bad as worrying about your own when there's stuff going on!) and having stayed up for the +6, will give it another shot tonight.

Dropped about 20 strips on the floor last night too, can I still use them? Will they give an error message if something's wrong or just the potential of giving wonky numbers. Maybe I can rely on them unless something looks wrong? I used strips from a new canister this morning in case I can't but obviously I'd prefer not to ditch them if I don't have to. I hate the little canisters of strips, I gave the canister a little shake to try and get to the back of a strip to pull one out, since you're not supposed to touch the ends. The little shake obviously wasn't little enough and half the canister landed on the floor. I also managed to glue a couple to my sweaty belly (still very hot here) - those one's I ditched!

Purrdy is well, so well he's tried to do a Houdini on me on the last couple of days walks - no chance buddy, that's what your leash is for! Good to see him jumping around though - go Zobaline. He did do 5 pees yesterday though - five! I want to test his urine for glucose, I have the strips but not the instructions - how fresh does the pee need to be? I'm thinking that it needs to be brand new which will be a little difficult, he sits really low to the ground when he goes so even if I happen to catch him in the act (which would likely only be on our afternoon walk) I'm not going to be able to get a spoon under there. If the pee can be older I can give him an empty tray and test it within 2 hours max.

So glad to hear that Gracie did so well and was spreading her signature stinkeye around :):):)
 
I hate those up and down numbers. I hope Purrdy gets back to green soon. I've used strips I've dropped before as long as they didn't land in anything. I'm not sure how fresh the pee needs to be. I think it should be as soon as possible after the cat pees.
 
like Carla, i think the urine has to be pretty fresh to test. not sure if 2 hours is 2 long or not . . .

i've also used strips i've dropped as long as they didn't get wet or sweaty (LOL).

So are ya planning to get Purrdy OTJ for your mom before she gets back? ;)
 
@julie & punkin (ga) so hoping to, mum doesn't think she'll be able to manage TR for him when he gets back so now is his chance. In that vein I've been wondering about dosing him 8 hourly for the time he's here - about another three weeks, although if it looks like he's getting close to OTJ he will stay and finish the job. I know it will be a killer but I'm sure I can manage it. He always seems to be on his way back up by +6 so it could work to keep him pushed down and in healing numbers. Don't know that I've heard of anyone doing that with lantus before but I'm thinking as long as I'm consistent with the 8 hourly the lantus won't mind, but maybe it will just mess things up if he then has to go back to 12 hourly with mum. What do you think? A bit too mad scientist or worth a try?

I found a strip in bed this morning too, must have been glued onto me somewhere! Glad to know I don't have to ditch all the dropped ones.
 
Last edited:
Hi Serryn, I've dropped strips on the floor, too, in exactly the way you did. They were fine. If you're worried, try a couple of tests on yourself.

Don't know about dosing Lantus every 8 hours. That might play havoc with the shed? If your mum doesn't think she can do TR, perhaps she could do the "relaxed Lantus" protocol. (in the event that Purrdy isn't OTJ by the time she gets back).

Still hot in your neck of the woods? :p:p

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
I also managed to glue a couple to my sweaty belly (still very hot here) - those one's I ditched!
I was following along until I read this part LOL! :smuggrin::smuggrin: I've dropped strips all over the floor and used them, but I agree, the ones glued to your sweaty belly are probably toast!

When we were new to this forum, I read that some people actually stuck a cooking spoon under the cats' rear end to catch urine. Tiger got so scared, it was too traumatic. Now I just watch when she heads toward the LB and stick the Ketostix under her rear end. I read the urine needs to be fresh. And if he pees 5 times, you have no excuse not to "catch" him LOL :smuggrin::smuggrin:
 
I put punkin in the laundry room to eat and i always added lots of water to his food. I had a back-up litter box (a cardboard box lid slipped inside a garbage bag) with non-absorbent litter (aquarium gravel, dry lentils or beans) in the laundry room with him. He was pretty obedient about eating and then peeing, then i just tipped the box and the urine ran to one end that i could test.

it's possible to dose around the clock, but probably not 8 hrs. People do that with Prozinc, but it doesn't last in the body as long as Lantus. One Lantus shot can continue to influence blood sugar for as many as 3 more days, and if you think of it as a cumulative effect you can see why that might be a problem. I think your best bet is to just stick to the protocol increases. It's already aggressive compared to other methods of dosing.

If you really want to do shots more than every 12 hrs, say so and i'll get some other experienced folks to weigh in on that. Sometimes people might give a shot at +10 to increase the overlap between the last dose and the onset of the next shot. That can sometimes be helpful but it has to be done in the right circumstance with the right cat, with the right timing so you don't create a problem with the depot continuing to give.
 
Serryn -

I don't think the issue here is duration which is why you'd consider three times a day dosing. I think you held on to the 2.25u dose too long and you haven't hit what will be Purrdy's "good" dose yet. You can't force a cat into remission. You may have a timetable but it won't work unless it's the same as Purrdy's timetable.
 
Mad scientist back in her box, thank you ladies. It was a shame hanging onto the 2.25 for too long, but when it looked like he would be boarded and then when we did know he was travelling I didn't want to keep pushing him any lower until he was settled again :(

@Tiger and Ruth Vyktor is fine with me sticking a tbs under him to catch the pee. The problem with Purrdy is a) he sits too low to the ground and b) he's relegated to the laundry so I don't have a chance to see when he's going. He does generally have a pee on his walks though, digs a nice deep hole and then sits on it. I'm going to have to try and work out a way of catching that, think I will try to put the strip straight under as you do - that doesn't take as much space as a spoon - thanks for the tip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top