2/12 Oberon +10.5 279, +13 135ish, +16 187, +20.25 118, +22 148, PMPS 230, +2 356, +4 351

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
Oberon is checked in at the vet and I'm settled at the hotel. The vet already did a general physical and oral exam and said he looks great overall. Some gingivitis and a lot of tartar buildup. No red flags, but we won't know for sure until he gets the tartar cleaned off and does x-rays. He'll let me know when they start the procedure, call me mid-procedure to let me know if he needs extractions or anything, and then again to let me know when he'll be ready to go.

BG is dropping... he was in the 300s overnight, 279 at +10.5 and about 135 when the vet checked him at about +13. (Not sure what kind of meter they're using; I would guess AlphaTrak but I didn't ask yet.) I warned them that when he drops this fast he can go pretty low before he levels off. They're going to monitor closely and said they can give IV glucose if needed to keep him safe.
 
Just talked to the vet. Everything went just fine. He saw some age-related changes in his teeth, but nothing that needed attention. So no extractions or anything, and he said he can already see the gum inflammation going down. BG was 187 at about noon. I need to find out what they did about his insulin dose. I think they skipped it, but I'm not positive.
 
Great news on the dental being done. Good call on guessing what Oberon would do with his numbers today. :rolleyes: Probably didn't help with no food today.
 
And now I have the fun of reestablishing the depot again while also sorting out whether his dose has changed. At his current pace it's possible that he would have gotten a reduction by now if not for the skips. And who knows what the dental might do for him. Any thoughts on how I should handle tonight's dose? Stick to the current 6.5 U for now? (If he's spiking again because of the skip, I'll also use R.)
 
What you do tonight may depend on how he feels tonight and what his BG is doing. Test him when you pick him up, then test again at PMPS. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, some don't. If he's dropping into PMPS, or his mouth is sore and he's off appetite, you may with to be more conservative with tonight's dosing. Also, if there is inflammation from the cleaning, his numbers could be up for few days because of that. So yes, 6.5 until proven otherwise.
 
I don't think the depot would have depleted to much for 1 skipped shot. You have time to decide and see how he is until PM dose is due.
 
Makes sense. If things go smoothly I'll be getting home at about +8, so I can check then and again at +10 or so to see how he's trending before PMPS.
 
Climbing now... 356 at +2. If he'd done that just a bit earlier I would have given him some R. Oh well. At least I should get some sleep tonight.
 
Back
Top