2/12 Noodle +9.5 195 PMPS 145 +2 50 +2.5 48 +3 51 +3.5 68 +4 97 +5 115 Reduction AM?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice of her to bounce during the day so you could work and save the greens for the night cycle. :rolleyes:
 
PMPS 145

I have to leave until +2, lets hope she can surf and not crash *fingers crossed*

Question about food:
On less cypro, she's not eating as ravenously and therefore not finishing her 3oz can within a half hour of shot time. How much does she have to eat before I can safely shoot? I know lots of cats graze and eat smaller meals, just want to make sure of what she should be getting in beforehand.
 
Last edited:
+2 - 50

Gave some LC to try to help her surf this like she did last night. She doesn't seem as crazy about her wet food as she has been in the past (she likes it in the can, not the dish anymore, and I dare not put too much water in it!). I'm going to order some Fortiflora + get some new options at the store tomorrow. But for now, shes getting spoiled with some tuna water in the dish. :cat:
 
+2.5 - 48
+3 - 51

Gave some MC after 51, the numbers weren't changing with LC--thinking her LC might be too LC to help her surf? Shes eating Proplan Kitten Chicken & Liver (what she was eating at the vet and until yesterday LOVED), which is only 2% on Dr. Lisa's chart. I have some 4% proplan adult I might try if she comes up enough for my comfort here.
 
Wow! Looks like Noodle wants you to start practicing that 0.1U dose. :D

Regarding food, you want to make sure she gets a good amount, maybe at least 1/2 before onset, which is typically around +2. She doesn't have to eat it all before shot time. Also, when kitty drops like that early in the cycle, you might want to try higher carb food - there's still a lot of the cycle to go.
 
@Wendy&Neko I've been updating her spreadsheet but forgot to do the thread since I'm doing some work, too.

+3.5 - 68 (no food)
+4 - 97 (no food)
+5 - 115 (no food)

So if she drops this early again, just go with MC right away? I have a few cans of 4% carb Proplan, I think I'll feed her that in the morning and see if she drops as fast. I feel like she tells me pretty early on what's what with a cycle. Also, did she earn a reduction? She barely got below 50 but I also caught her right at 50, I don't know how that works!

Tomorrow is so tricky though: I'm going to be at work from +2-8ish (maybe earlier), then I have another work event from +10-PM+1. I'm wondering what to do about the PM shot, made trickier if I don't feel comfortable giving her AM shot. At night, I wouldn't get home until +2, realistically. I could shoot late, but I'd immediately have to shoot at +11.5 in the AM (and not be able to monitor for 3 hours after) to make my schedule work, then move it up by 15 minutes from Sunday AM on to get back to a good time. It just seems like that's a whole lot of inconsistency for a kitty who is responding so well.
 
What you did for food tonight seems to have worked. Kitties are different in how carb sensitive they are. Maybe just have the higher LC or MC handy in case LC doesn't work next time.

I said reduction cause I see that you caught a 48 in there. In a newly diagnosed kitty, anything under 50 means a reduction.

For tomorrow, maybe you could do two shots in 36 hours. There is a technique of shooting 2 back to back 18 hour shots if you can't make a regular +12 shot. But you'll be away at +18, so maybe there's a way of doing two shots in 36 hours (to get you back on schedule), where those 2 shots are at least 12 hours apart. That way it's less impact than a skip.
 
Tonight I did +2 LC, +2.5 LC, +3 MC, then no food afterwards.. still tempted to mix in the slightly higher LC tomorrow just to see if she's more interested in eating it.

Actually... doing them at +18 would mean 6am tomorrow, 12am, then 6pm Saturday... 12am tomorrow night would be pretty difficult to monitor, but I would be home for all those shots.. what do you think? Think that would be safer as far as low numbers go than trying to shoot at +11.5 and adjust that way?

Is she really already down to .1U?! I've studied those pictures and have no idea how I'm even going to see that dose...

Todays Full Numbers:
2/12
+10 338
AMPS 362
+3 288
+9.5 195
PMPS 145
+2 50 (LC)
+2.5 48 (LC)
+3 51 (MC)
+3.5 68 (no food)
+4 97 (no food)
+5 115 (no food)
 
Last edited:
For the .1 dose, you could measure your usual .25U dose in a used syringe with colored liquid. Hold the needle upright, and screw the plunger until you get a drop forming. Count the number of drops in .25U. Do that a few times so you are consistent. Half of that would be the .1U dose. Did you also look at the Fine Dose Pictorial Guide?

As for timing of next shots, you may have to let tomorrow morning's AMPS be your guide. If she's high, you can probably shoot at +11.5. Shooting farther apart reduces the depot a bit, which could be a good thing if she's low. The other option for +18 timing-ish would be a shot at +20 tomorrow (skip the AM if low and you said you'd be back by +8), then another one at +16 after that which would get you back on schedule for Saturday AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top