2/12 Moses PMPS 391 +3~278

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5972

Another snow day for Moses and I. :mrgreen: Alas, I'm taking the afternoon shift so I can still work and I can still afford testing strips for all of Moses' exciting tests in the future! It's all good :mrgreen:

I'm thrilled to see Moses out of the reds. He's surfing the pinks now, and all behavior is right on track. Hunting for treats and laps to crash in. Oh, how I wish he could be in the blues like January, the good ole days. But I know we'll get there soon enough.

He yelped a little bit, with the insulin injection this morning. This tends to worry me b/c in the past where he had a painful injection, eating anxiety usually follows. But his eats are looking good today, which is nice. He seems to be a lot more sensitive to the needles recently, or irritated? They have begun to pick up. Hope I'm not becoming a sloppy bean with sloppy technique!
 
Re: 2/12 Moses AMPS 386

Hmm. Could it be that the Lantus is colder than it was? I know they say cold insulin stings a bit going in. Or maybe he has a sore spot and you can just stick to the other side for a few days? I'm sure it is also possible to get individual syringes that are just not up to snuff. I hope this doesn't interfere with his eating. Poor baby and poor bean!
 
Re: 2/12 Moses AMPS 386

silly question, but humour me, and throw some noodles at me if u want - I will understand.
u are using a fresh syringe each injection right?

What Lydia suggested can help too, just a slight rotation around the inject site so not to create a sore spot if always injecting in the same spot.
 
Re: 2/12 Moses AMPS 386 +4~248

Yay!!! Moses has some yellow party_cat

And those are very good questions, Ronnie & Luna and Lydia & Basil. Of course, the profile would help... upload snow pics or profile or snow pics? Ha, I went with snow pics! Anyways...

This is a brand new Lantus cartridge.... and my mini-fridge is still at 40* so it's the same coldness. Maybe a little dethaw, next time? Shooting insulin for Moses has to be sneaky. Most times if he yelps, it's b/c he became aware of it or moved. I always shoot in the scruff, and I try new spots in the scruff. And when I tent, I try to choose the thinnest skin to pull. I don't want to get any muscle/fat and when I'm sloppy I sometimes grab too much.

He has been eating well, which I appreciate. Kinda a sleepy boy today, very hazy. Not very playful. Purrful though.

Oh, and I use a fresh syringe every time. That is very very important. Maybe I'll try to map out spots on the scruff, b/c I could be hitting the same ones. That's a very good idea.

Yay, he's yellow by the way! Did I already mention that? Okay, just to let you know, he's yellow :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/12 Moses PMPS 391

Surfin da pinks! Surfin da pinks! dancing_cat Stay outta the red zone!

He's lovin that dinner right now like there's no tomorrow :mrgreen:
 
An overall good day and night so far for Moses. He's purring in my lap right now :mrgreen:

I was eating a long sub sandwich and he took a big bite out of the bottom while I was mid-bite. Moses and I love the eats.
 
That is so funny-sharing your sub with Moses!!
Moonie still yelps after her shot after all these years, & if I'm done, she yelps after, so I know it's just her complaining whether it hurts or not--
What an actress! She has yelped at fur shots!!! :roll: :roll: I shoot her in the shoulder area now & leave the shot out for a couple of minoots.
Verra nice day today...Hope tomorrow is even better! You are doing great!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top