2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +11/199 PMPS 225 +4/168

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 OK TO SHOOT 2.75U?

If you are going to be home and can monitor, have strips and HC, I'd shoot. You've shot a 91 so this would be the next step lower. Just please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43

His BG is now 43 and his nadir is usually 5pm? How much lower can he go? should I be feeding him HC now? Also will this mean a dose decrease for tonight?
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43

you can feed a tsp or two of high carb and test in 20 minutes. And breathe! Don't feed too much because you don't want him to get full yet.
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43

Remember the highest carbs are in the HC gravy...

& I'm not a dosing expert & not sure if you are following TR but here's what it says:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Hopefully a better qualified dosing expert will be along to advise as we watch this cycle & b4 you have to shoot again.
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43/+4.5/65

Ok, I did give him a Tsp of HC at +3.5 after getting the 43 BG reading. At +4.5 (3:30pm) he was up to 65 I gave him 1/2 tsp of HC just to keep him up. I have not retested since that.

He just had a dose decrease yesterday and his past reductions they didn't hold well so I'm not sure about reducing it again tonight???
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43/+4.5/65

Just a reminder, when you ar steering numbers up from below 50, you want to test every 20 - 30 min. For me, I would have gotten a +2.5 given the 52. Seeing the +3.5, I would have tested at +4. You want to be comfortable that Mikey's numbers are coming up.

This is from the handling low numbers sticky:
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
At this point, you might want to give Mikey a bit of LC to keep him surfing.

Given that he bounced and then cleared the bounce, I don't think this is left over shed. I would decrease tonight.
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43/+4.5/65

I know I should have tested him in shorter increments today but I can't tell you how hard it is to get blood from him. He became very agitated to the point of biting me. I had to shave the hair off his ears and even then it's taking up to 5 times for each test to get enough blood.
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43/+4.5/65 +6/77

I will try that. I think I may have had a bad batch of needles? They seemed very dull and I opened a new one and it was fine.

corrected, i am using lancets not needles. thanks for noticing that Marje!
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +1/69 +2/52 +3.5/43/+4.5/65 +6/77

Jenn...nice day for Mikey.

Are you using needles or lancets???? If you are using needles, that may be why he doesn't like his pokeys.

Great job and good luck on the reduction....hope he holds it this time :-D :-D
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +6/77 +8/117

Given that he bounced and then cleared the bounce, I don't think this is left over shed. I would decrease tonight.

Can you clarify for me where was the bounce and where it was cleared? The PMPS from last night?
Also, I did decrease him tonight, to 2.5 plus a sliver more. I can't find where I read that when you decrease back to back to decrease it that way if the cat is not used to holding the decrease or if the decrease is back to back with another. Was that correct?

Sorry, one more thing, just now I tested his ketones which were negative. I also have the strip that test for glucose in the urine, that was negative too even though he tested at 225 for PMPS??? The other day (2/7)I tested him and while his numbers where in the green he tested negative for both which I assumed was because his BG was so low, so now I'm confused as to why it's not showing glucose in the urine when he is yellow? Just when I think I understand I get another curve ball!!!
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +6/77 +8/117 +11/199 PMPS 225

Jenn:

He started bouncing last night and cleared sometime during the night.

I'm sorry...I didn't follow your statement about the decrease but he's newly diagnosed and he went below 50 the pm cycle of 2/11 and then again in today's am cycle so he earned another dosecrease.

ECID but as a generalization, cats spill sugar into their urine at about 250 Two things could be happening that you didnt' see any in Mikey's urine:

1. his renal threshold for spilling glucose is higher or more likely,

2. it takes time to see the urine show up in the glucose; it's not immediate like blood glucose. There is a delay of a few hours.

Did you see my question about using lancets?
 
Re: 2/12 Mikey AMPS 74 +6/77 +8/117 +11/199 PMPS 225

If you look at Mikey's SS, after the 45 during the PM cycles on 2/10, his numbers began creeping up. He hit pink at PMPS on 2/11. His numbers were in the yellows by +5.5. So, it looked like the bounce was clearing. Given the green pre-shot this morning, it was proof positive that the bounce cleared.

Usually, a back-to-back decrease would be when you decrease say at AMPS and then decrease at PMPS (or maybe AMPS the next day). In many cases, the 2nd drop into decrease-worthy numbers is due to the shed not having caught up with the first decrease -- it's still too full. When this happens, the second decrease doesn't hold. You then want to increase back to the last good dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top