2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 198...

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
Just took Max's AMPS and it was 185 (lowest I've seen a PS). I increased Max's PZI yesterday slightly to .3u. Last night his PMPS was 209 with 2+139, 4+116, 5+116. Seems like he peaked around 116. I'm going to retest Max in 15 min and make sure he's going up. Should I still shoot the .3u or go back .2u? Not used to such a low pre shot. I'm doing my 1st BG curve today so will be monitoring closely.

BG Curve
AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 198, 10+ 201, 12+ 225
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185 - Question?

Nice amps, Holly! Yes, I would test again in 30 minutes to be sure he is headed up, not down. And then I think I would go back to your .2 Even if you are going to be around and testing, with the food change and his response to the insulin, I would be cautious.

Remember that if you get a number that makes you nervous mid cycle (like under 50) head over to the Health forum. This forum is just not as busy as that one. I am guessing he will do just fine and give you a nice number mid cycle, but they don't always do what we think they will..... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185 - Question?

Thanks Sue. Every time I think I'm figuring things out, Max or the diabetes changes things but lower numbers are good :-D). I've got high carb wet and caro syrup on hand but hope never to have to use. I'll watch the mid-cycle numbers closely. Thank goodness it's Saturday.
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185 - Question?

You'll be fine. He is responding very well to be getting such tiny doses so early in the process. Looks to me like he wants off insulin all together!
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196

Wow Holly great numbers! Looks like he’s on his way back up now too :)

I know these low pre shoots can be a bit stressful, we’ve had them with Asher. (I think Asher was dx’ed just a few days prior to your Max)

Know you’ll get great support here from all these caring folks, and we have to remember to be psyched the kitties are responding so well to the insulin.

....plus it’s really nice when the kitties give you these lower preshoot numbers when you are home for the weekend and not on your way out the door. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196, 2+ 188

I have to admit low pre-shots are stressful for newbie me. Max's 1/2 hour re-check was 196 so I went ahead and shot the .2u. His 2+ was 188. Max usually drops more by 2+ but he may have sneaked some food 20 min before test. I have to admit with the small dose of insulin, I'm starting to hope Max can eventually be diet controlled. Either way, he has done a complete 180 since I joined the forum and changed his diet. I will FOREVER be grateful to all the wonderful people on this forum for their help and encouragement. I've been sharing the info about dry food with all my friends with cats (don't do it!).
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196, 2+ 188

Thanks Joanna. So sorry about Bix. Big hugs. BTW, I grew up in San Jose, CA.
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196, 2+ 188

Great going! dancing_cat Seems like diet controlled can easily be in your future! (anti-jinx, paws crossed)
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196, 2+ 188

I have been checking your spreadsheet, Holly. He seems to have an early nadir (around +4)pretty consistently. And you are getting some pretty blues, but still nice safe numbers. I wonder if he will surf in the same range or start up toward a pmps.

Regardles, very nice numbers on a tiny dose so early in the dance.
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185, 1/2hr recheck 196, 2+ 188

Hi Holly,

What great numbers you're Max is giving you, he's a very handsome guy BTW.

Hang in there.

Robin
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

Thanks Robin. I know I'm totally biased, but I think Max is pretty darn cute. Your Harley looks to be a cutie too and beautiful color. This week has been a roller coaster but feeling better today.

Sue thank you so much for looking at Max's spreadsheet. I was thinking the same thing (but so nice to have 2nd pair of eyes), that the insulin seems to start acting early and nadir around +4. We're creeping up on the back end of today's curve, which has got me thinking about tonight's dose...hmm.

AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 198, 10+ 201, 12+ 225
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

I'm hoping that you stuck with the same dose.

Every day will get easier, you are not alone in this anymore.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

With PMPS of 225 shot the .3u, which gave me some nice #'s yesterday, but wish I had shot the .2u. Max's 2+ was 111 (huh...2nd test was 108) so monitored mid-cycle #'s closely, 3+ 92, 4.5+ 125. Think I will stick with .2u and see where it takes Max next few cycles. Hopefully, less stress for me and good #'s for him.
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

I can understand the stress while it's happening---but in retrospect--those numbers look great!( Easy for me to say, I know.)
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

Numbers are looking great, Holly.

It is important that you not be stressed. And your numbers are good regardless, and you are shooting a tiny dose. So take a few cycles to settle in and feel confident. There are no right or wrong answers here. You are experimenting trying to find the dose that you and your cat are comfortable with. There is no rush.

Evidently you are hoping for ps in the 200s and a nadir somewhere in the 100s. You are already really close to that, which would qualify Max as a "regulated" cat. Getting that last little step to remission can take a while for cat and bean, if and when it happens. We'll be here to help.

I am sorry if I pushed too hard yesterday. You can certainly tell me to back off. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

I know that feeling when things go lower than you expect at night but you are doing great!
Hope you got some sleep last night :YMHUG:
Look at all those pretty blue numbers tho...

Keep on keepin on, we can do this!!!

Donna and Asher
 
Re: 2/12 Max PZI AMPS 185/196, 2+ 188, 4+ 153, 6+ 175, 8+ 19

Thanks so much everyone! The numbers are looking good and I'm happy. It was that drop on the 2+ reading, just freaked me out a bit. I'm sure, once I get used to how the PZI works on Max, a drop like that won't stress me so much. Seems like Max likes to be atypical and peak early.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top