2/12 Mandarin AMBG 58 / Walter AMPS 166, +3 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

I really wish that I didn't have any class preps that need to get finished today - I am physically and mentally exhausted. I am still trying to figure out how I can keep Lenny safe without making all of our lives miserable. He is a dog that has never been crated and he loves to be right by my side and in my lap. It is bad enough that he can't get go on any walks right now, I just can't imagine crating him while I am home. So, instead, I decided to rearrange furniture so he can't jump on anything. The couch is turned around and blocked off and I bought a twin mattress so we can all sit on the floor together.

My new set-up is certainly not going to win any design awards, but it should keep Lenny safe for the next few weeks. Jersey, on the other hand, decided that the blocked off couch can only mean one thing: an invitation to climb over the back of it. :rolleyes:

He's made great progress without surgery. Sounds like your vet made the same treatment plan. I make sure he can't jump up or down on anything, no stairs and at this point (he's beyond complete rest) short, flat leash walks.
A short course of Pred at first, still taking Gabapentin. I think acupuncture has been really helpful as well as Adequan.
Lenny's a young guy compared to Carlos, I bet he recovers beautifully.
Thank you so much for posting Carlos's story - that sounds a lot more hopeful than the ruptured discs that we have see at the shelter. We have had several paralyzed dogs recently that never regained their ability to walk.

How nice to have good insurance and to know you can get your pet the treatment he needs without emptying your bank account. May I ask what company you have pet insurance with? After the astronomical amount we spent on our four babies the past two years, we have vowed to insure any future kitties.
I use Nationwide (they used to be called VPI). I have insurance on my three younger dogs (Bear was already 9 when I adopted him and had too many pre-existing conditions). They have been fantastic! My plan doesn't cover routine care (like shots or dental cleanings without extractions) and hereditary issues (like hip dysplasia). So far, all of my dealings with them have been great and two of my dogs have had A LOT of medical issues. They have a benefits schedule that lists some upper limits, but I have never even been close to those (and the MRI, anesthesia, etc. was $2,700). The key is getting insurance early before they have medical issues.

Meanwhile, Water figured that he really need some extra attention and went on a little diving expedition over night. This was the first drop below 50 on this dose - so he still needs two more before he gets a reducie.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I am exhausted just reading your condo Christina. I hope you can get some rest today.

Sending more vines to Lenny!!
 
Walter looks great, pretty impressive after 2 recent skipped shots. Poor Lenny and you. I think the new furniture is sweet and genius of you. Hope it keeps his interest away from the couch and relaxed. Sending mega vines and prayers :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Nice that you made it to the lagoon Walter but a wee bit closer to shore please!
I can't imagine trying to keep a dog still and quiet! My daughter's dog recently had neck pain and was supposed to be crated. Instead, they just kept her at home instead of allowing her to go to the doggy daycare with the other two dogs (and where my son in law works). But of course when the other two dogs came home she wanted to run around with them.
 
Sounds like you have things in order. It must be hard to keep a dog on rest. You becoming a floor dweller I'm sure will help.
 
Oh Christina, I can only imagine how tired you are ! To be doing P parties alone is exhausting and then to add the worry of Lenny on top on it all :banghead:

You are a great bean for a that you do for your babies and to rearrange your furnishings is so loving and hope that Lenny doesn't try to follow in Jersy's pawprint :stop:
 
Christina, you are an inspiration
First Mandarin, and now Walter looking so good - something is going on @ChezChristina - unless as my Cambodian housekeeper would say - the cats have sucked up all the good luck, leaving Lenny with the bad luck (the disc). But it seems that now there is enough good luck to go around. Prayers to all
 
I use Nationwide (they used to be called VPI). I have insurance on my three younger dogs (Bear was already 9 when I adopted him and had too many pre-existing conditions). They have been fantastic! My plan doesn't cover routine care (like shots or dental cleanings without extractions) and hereditary issues (like hip dysplasia). So far, all of my dealings with them have been great and two of my dogs have had A LOT of medical issues. They have a benefits schedule that lists some upper limits, but I have never even been close to those (and the MRI, anesthesia, etc. was $2,700). The key is getting insurance early before they have medical issues.
Thanks so much for the info. We aren't concerned about the routine care - it's the four digit surgeries, CT scans, chemo, etc. that drained our bank accounts. We never hesitated to do whatever the vets thought was needed, but boy, did it hurt! I could have bought a really nice new car for the money we spent at UCD alone! But a car doesn't rub up against you and purr, or snuggle with you at night, so you see the choice was easy.

Mandarin, looking good! Walter, I hope you kept up that lovely, safe surf you had going.

You are an amazing bean, Christina. To go to such lengths to keep Lenny as happy as possible, but still safe! With all you have on your plate, I am in awe of you!

Sending many healing vines and :bighug:s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top