2/12 Jax - PMPS 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning Everyone! ~O)

Not as tired as I thought I would be from attending the Hypo Event last night. Hope I don't attend that particular event again any time soon.

For those of you that were across the street at La La Land, I shall provide a recap:

PMPS 274 1.6u given from my shiny brand new vial. Fed Purina DM, higher carbs, in the event new vial was stronger. Didn't think I should go with the lower carb FF, just in case. Oh boy...
+3.5 121 Coming down fast and furious. Houston we have a problem. 1.5oz DM given to slow descent. HA!
+4 71
+5 40
+6 51
+7 67
+8 93 Zzzzz. Went to sleep, for a bit but I wanted to see when the bounce would happen.
+11 312 Here is the bounce!
AMPS 353 Reduced to 1.2u

Tigger showed up, but dressed in pink. I'm okay with that. Hope that I don't see bounces for the next few cycles like previously. If today looks 'off' I will drop him to 1u and hold. Cannot believe this new vial kicked me around like this. Very surprised. Debated on going with 1u this morning but decided on 1.2u. Did not want to skip the shot as I did not want him on the moon all day, although he may bounce around and end up there for PMPS. We shall see.

Hope everyone has a better day than we had last night! :-D
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

I always reduce on a new vial. I have always found that the new vials are more potent initially, or at least the effect they have on Kitty seems to support that. What else I have seen with Kitty is, the "extra punch" will last about a week or two, and then it will lose that "extra punch!"

Truly, about half way through the vials, I have to increase Kitty's dose a tad to maintain the same numbers. I don't think Prozinc poops out, but the potency does seem to vary between old and new vials when they are first opened, but I have found I can adjust the dose to compensate for the differences.

Glad everything worked out last night!
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

Wow! Sorry to hear you had to wear your special dance shoes most of the night. Sounds like you handled it like a pro! Good on you!

Also thankful you've shared about the possible wicked response from starting a new vial. I'm down to less than half a vial so know that will be coming up in our future. Seems like there's no sure decrease to try, more of a poke and hope type deal. Ye gads!

And here's hoping Tigger doesn't stick around long!
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

Glad things went well last night. Every 40 makes the next one less scary - guess that's the good news.

Hope you two have nice numbers today!
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

Sounds like you had an exciting night!
glad everything went well
hopefully you will ahve an eventful day
Just be careful now with the new vial as the strength does vary from vial to vial
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

So glad to read last night went as well as it did - great job! And, thanks for the heads up about the beginning of a vial of insulin

Hope y'all have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 2/12 Jax - The morning after

Good Evening all!

Much to my surprise he did not bounce! :razz:
PMPS 274 which throws all kinds of monkey wrenches into my plans because I have no idea what to shoot with this new vial of insulin. Do I hold at 1.2u?

Recap as folows:
AMPS 353 1.2u given and fed
+2 378 Food spike
+4 217
+7.5 152 Missed nadir, had to run errands
+10 212
PMPS 274

Not sure what nadir was but with 152 @ + 7.5 seems we may have had some room to go down. Any thoughts out there?
 
I know it's hard to be patient,but I'd say hold for a few cycles too. See if he settles in a bit?
 
Thanks. I think he does better on a fixed dose but I wasn't sure if I should hold at 1.2 or go down to 1. I decided to hold on the 1.2u and will keep him there. Very pleased with today. I guess he decided to give his Momma a break after what happened last night.
 
Nice post-hypo ps! Cass sometimes skips a cycle after a low before he bouncex, so don.t be.surprised if you still see a high ps. Hopefully not, & maybe Cass is just weird
 
bookw0rm said:
Nice post-hypo ps! Cass sometimes skips a cycle after a low before he bouncex, so don.t be.surprised if you still see a high ps. Hopefully not, & maybe Cass is just weird

Thanks for the heads up. Didn't know that they can skip a cycle and show the bounce later so this is good to know. If it happens at least I won't be left wondering what happened.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top