? 2/12 Help Kokkinoulis PMS 75 libre 2(90 accu-check) low pre-shot help

Hi Gabriella, sorry, but I only just saw your post. Looks like you gave the shot?
Hi...thanks a lot for your reply. I gave the shot and the BG numbers go up. It is strange as till the shot the numbers were stable. When I was prepared insulin and food Kokkinoulis was excited and the numbers were go up from 86 to 136 ( all measured with libre 2) so I shot him . Also with accu-check BGs were higher. For first time many hours more than 1 cycle all BG numbers were at green ( or blue & green with accu-check). Is this a sign that I should stay at 7.5 unit? The new vey requested libre for 2 weeks and I hadn't had it last night I would have freaked out.
 
Unfortunately now at +1.24 BG is 148...The IGF-1 test has not done yet. I am still waiting his lab results for Pancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity (PLI) and FIV that the new vet requested although I thing that he has not have pancreatitis ( no signs of it) . Then the vet will decide according also his BG numbers with libre. The fact that his body reacts to 7.5 units and he has BG at blue& green is it a sign that he does not have acromegaly?
 
I gave the shot and the BG numbers go up. It is strange as till the shot the numbers were stable.
He was slowly heading up at the end of the cycle as the insulin action wanes. Some of it can also be Libre wonkiness. If he didn't eat in the second half of last night, that would have also helped keep the numbers lower. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 (on a human meter) if you can monitor. It's good that you are verifying Libre lows with a ear poke. :-)


For first time many hours more than 1 cycle all BG numbers were at green ( or blue & green with accu-check). Is this a sign that I should stay at 7.5 unit?
Yes, I think you can hold the dose for now. If he drops below 50, he earns a reduction. I would go by the accucheck readings rather than the Libre for reductions.


The IGF-1 test has not done yet. I am still waiting his lab results for Pancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity (PLI) and FIV that the new vet requested although I thing that he has not have pancreatitis ( no signs of it) . Then the vet will decide according also his BG numbers with libre. The fact that his body reacts to 7.5 units and he has BG at blue& green is it a sign that he does not have acromegaly?
I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko to advice you on this. It's the middle of the night for her now, so she will see this only later today.
 
The fact that his body reacts to 7.5 units and he has BG at blue& green is it a sign that he does not have acromegaly?
Not true. Any cat that gets over 6 units likely has some secondary endocrine condition, and acromegaly is the most common one. Neko first saw greens at 3.5 units and got up to 8.75 units as her max and she had acromegaly. We've also seen cats on less than 6 units with acromegaly. The Royal Vet College study that found 1 in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly, also found the average acrocat dose was 7 units, but ranged from 1 unit to 35. We've seen higher than that here, though that's not very common.
 
Back
Top