2/12 Eddie AMBG 167/no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113571&p=1196508#p1196508

AMBG = 138/161/167 (no shot)
PMPS = 316 (2.4u) - started "shaved" scale
+3 = 212
+4 = 175
+5 = 186
+6 = 188

AM cycle was pretty flat as I expected, but Eddie surprised me by going low again in the PM cycle. Mom bean is sick with a cold or something, so I was actually halfway hoping the PM cycle would be a bit higher so I could get some more sleep. He continued to go down through +7 with a 71 :mrgreen: and then surfed well into the AM. The 71 was with a couple feedings to try to even him out so I could go to bed. @-) Unfortunately, at shot time this AM, he was at 138. Stalled and got 161 and then 167, after which I had to feed and get ready to go to work. I don't dare shoot on that since Eddie is going surprisingly low recently, and unfortunately, I couldn't stall any longer. So no shot this AM. :sad: Guess his ears will get a break for a cycle at least!

I'm debating whether to shave my sliding scale across the board by 0.2 to see if that's sufficient to bring him down into the greens without me having to feed to keep him up, and whether that might quell the bouncy cycles a bit. On the other hand, with no shot this AM, the PM cycle *should* be free of any bouncy hormones, so whatever I shoot should be a clear picture of what a given dose will do depending on his pre-shot number. I also hate to stall out the progress we're making. I guess I'm looking for some input on whether to reduce or to hold my scale.

Also, Eddie's puked about 4 hairballs this week. I used to think the occasional hairball was just part of being a fastidious cat, but now I'm not so sure. I think there might have been one hairball since December, and suddenly, he's had several over the course of a few days! He otherwise seems to feel pretty good. Is this something that warrants veterinary investigation?
 
bunni9 said:
I'm debating whether to shave my sliding scale across the board by 0.2 to see if that's sufficient to bring him down into the greens without me having to feed to keep him up, and whether that might quell the bouncy cycles a bit. On the other hand, with no shot this AM, the PM cycle *should* be free of any bouncy hormones, so whatever I shoot should be a clear picture of what a given dose will do depending on his pre-shot number. I also hate to stall out the progress we're making. I guess I'm looking for some input on whether to reduce or to hold my scale.

Also, Eddie's puked about 4 hairballs this week. I used to think the occasional hairball was just part of being a fastidious cat, but now I'm not so sure. I think there might have been one hairball since December, and suddenly, he's had several over the course of a few days! He otherwise seems to feel pretty good. Is this something that warrants veterinary investigation?

Hi Jen.

Quite the surprise this morning, Eddie! Yes, I think I'd shave your sliding scale a little. You could either start tonight or for the first "normal" number you get.

Not sure about the hairballs. Is he grooming more now than he was when he was first diabetic? Maybe he had a "hair build up" I think people do use a hairball ointment every couple of days as a preventative. I know I did with my Maine Coon as they have such long hair. Just be sure to get one without sugars. (You can probably search the site and find a choice.)
 
bunni9 said:
Quite the surprise this morning, Eddie! Yes, I think I'd shave your sliding scale a little. You could either start tonight or for the first "normal" number you get.

Thanks so much Sue! You seem to have to be everywhere at once lately. :smile: Hopefully a couple more of the experienced ProZinc users can start to pop in occasionally and help advise. I've learned a lot from Eddie about dosing, but he seems to dance to his own drumbeat, and I'm not comfortable recommending the aggressive approach I've been using for Eddie to anyone else. But maybe I can at least try to help advise about conservative dose changes for PZI users, if those types of questions pop up in our forum. :smile:

I think I will probably start a reduced scale tonight if he's not super high for PMPS. That way I should be able to see the effect of a reduced dose without the influence of a bounce (hopefully, anyway). If all else fails, maybe I can get a little sleep tonight, too. @-)

I do recall reading something about butter or vaseline for hairballs. I'll have to do a search for that. I'm not sure Eddie would intentionally eat vaseline but I'd be willing to bet he'd go for a bit of butter. Since diagnosis he has definitely been grooming more. He was always a very fastidious cat. Maybe he's been saving up some hairballs, and his whole digestive system is feeling better due to better BG control, so he can get them out. Probably couldn't hurt to give him a little "lube" to help avoid hairballs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top