2/12 Asia AMPS +10 206, PMPS 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-11-asia-amps-100-3-84.191005/

AMPS 397 at +13, I slept an hour past my alarm, it was a long night! Asia had a big drop early in the cycle and obviously I did not give enough Karo to slow her down. About 30 minutes before her +5 she was doing some fast breathing, which has become an occasional thing, she likely has undiagnosed heart disease. About 10 minutes before her +5 she went to her food bowl, which has a little mat in front of it to keep her from slipping on the floor, and laid down in front of the food bowl. Not something I’ve ever seen her do, so I decided to test her a few minutes early... 32! :eek:

She went from 65 to 32 in less than an hour! That’s also with a lot of food and a little bit of Karo on board! She had no symptom other than being very hungry and the unusual laying in front of the food bowl. I was able to bring her up quickly, but I didn’t feel comfortable trusting she was going to stay up so we stayed up. I’m not sure if the fast breathing was a symptom or a coincidence, but I do want to note it. I’m going to go back through my notes and see if her fast breathing corresponds to fast drops or anything like that.

In light of her recent piggy eating and she can finally surf sometimes, the unpredictable action of either surf or sudden drop, I can’t help but to suspect the insulin playing a part in this. I’ve read a bunch of threads on here about people who switch to Lev and I just can’t see a reason not to try and see if she gets smoother curves and less of this herky jerky stuff, I’m pretty fed up over it. I’ve read about humans and Lantus lows, so it sticks in my mind that indeed, some of this could be the insulin and how her body reacts to it. I’m going to ask my vet for an rx and switch as soon as possible, I’m down to the very last bit of a pen of Lantus.
 
Oh wow, that is super scary! I'm so glad that you were able to steer her to safety! Interesting how her numbers were mostly blue and green, and then a sudden drop into lime green. :eek:
 
Oh wow, that is super scary! I'm so glad that you were able to steer her to safety! Interesting how her numbers were mostly blue and green, and then a sudden drop into lime green. :eek:

She went from 140 to 99 and 99 to 52, those are big drops for her. It’s always a warning sign, but yes, was not at all expecting a 32, maybe a 48, but not a 32!
 
+2 326, guess she’s bounce clearing already. o_O

Two funny pictures today. Have you ever been fast asleep and get that creepy feeling that someone is staring at you?

9BBAE48E-04AE-4CD1-A6A1-6B2B060FF490.jpeg


Kitties holding hands...

5337E2CE-73E4-4B85-AF47-C2B9AE9418D3.jpeg
 
Well, Asia and Bubba must have spent some time talking last night about dropping low to scare the bejesus out of their momma! Glad she came up nicely for you. Did you by any chance switch up the injection site?

Love the pics!
 
Love the pictures. Wow on that 32. I'm glad she came back up for you. I hope she clears the bounce soon.

She is zooming down from the bounce as we speak. I wasn’t sure how much of a reduction to take since I’m between doses and in my haste of waking up late, I eyeballed the 1.25 instead of the “fat” on my calipers which was exactly in between 1.25 and 1.5, will readjust in the pm.
 
Well, Asia and Bubba must have spent some time talking last night about dropping low to scare the bejesus out of their momma! Glad she came up nicely for you. Did you by any chance switch up the injection site?

Love the pics!

It sure seems so, troublemakers!

Not last night, no, typical left side flank shot. I shot in her scruff, once, and it seemed like it was a slower absorption, but it was just once so I can’t call it either way, could have played out the same no matter where I shot. Waiting for a green PMPS to try it again.

I was honestly surprised how low she was and how easy it was to bring her up. To be fair though, the first time she threw me something in the 30s, I hadn’t quite worked out how much carbs give what result and the time before this from the 30s, she wasn’t eating very well. Regardless, I had figured it out by 1/31 and it was such a monumental effort to keep her above 50 that cycle that I gave her a reduction even though she didn’t “technically” earn one!
 
Great pics of the furbuddies. :cat::)

OK Asia, lets have a word about those 30's (I hope you retested Stacy). Not allowed, especially overnight! I hope Asia's depot listens about tonight.

Neko was easy to get up from the 30's and 20's with karo, except the times she wasn't. :confused::eek: Of course those dives were with Lev. I'm looking forward to seeing how Asia does on it. I got more sleep with Lev cause Neko was flatter and I could go longer between tests.

I'm off line for a couple of days, I'll have to pop in when I get back and see how Asia is handling the new dose.
 
Love the photo!!! Your two could be my two! They are both tabbies also - Martini bigger and Penny a bit smaller.
Way to go Asia.... Is mommy scaring you with thoughts of Lev? Keep up the great work Asia! :)
 
Great pics of the furbuddies. :cat::)

OK Asia, lets have a word about those 30's (I hope you retested Stacy). Not allowed, especially overnight! I hope Asia's depot listens about tonight.

Neko was easy to get up from the 30's and 20's with karo, except the times she wasn't. :confused::eek: Of course those dives were with Lev. I'm looking forward to seeing how Asia does on it. I got more sleep with Lev cause Neko was flatter and I could go longer between tests.

I'm off line for a couple of days, I'll have to pop in when I get back and see how Asia is handling the new dose.

It’s not that I didn’t see the potential for it coming with the big drop, but I didn’t expect the number I got, that was for sure!

I remembered to retest...after I freaked out and gave her a bunch of Karo! :joyful: It was dead on. I was in such a frenzy because I usually test her on my bed, but I tested her laying at the food bowl and I couldn’t figure out where I put her monitor down after I gave the Karo (next to the sink, of course). :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
Love the photo!!! Your two could be my two! They are both tabbies also - Martini bigger and Penny a bit smaller.
Way to go Asia.... Is mommy scaring you with thoughts of Lev? Keep up the great work Asia! :)

I love your profile pic, was Martini talking to you in that one?

My cats weight about the same, but look so different: Asia is smaller and sturdier, Toki is very long, lean and leggy (she reminds me of a large breed puppy that hasn’t grown in to her feet/legs yet, except she’s 8 years old).
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
Took a .25 reduction from 1.25 fat to 1 fat which measures 1.69mm on my calipers. PMPS was a falling number, hopefully she will behave tonight and the depot isn't going to push her anywhere crazy!

Cat stairs came today, thanks @Nan & Amber for the info about them. They are the perfect height for the couch and Asia doesn't have any problem using them. Maybe they've tweaked the design since you ordered, mine came with rubber feet to put on the bottom to prevent sliding.
 
I love your profile pic, was Martini talking to you in that one?

My cats weight about the same, but look so different: Asia is smaller and sturdier, Toki is very long, lean and leggy (she reminds me of a large breed puppy that hasn’t grown in to her feet/legs yet, except she’s 8 years old).

Yes, Martini is a big talker and chirper, she's passed that on to my my colony kitty too! :) Looking exactly like my two except opposite (if that makes sense! :) )
C'mon down Asia! You can do it!!!!!You'll be taking Martini's Bouncing Queen title from her this way!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top