2/12 Ann & Maggie11 AMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Maggie seems to be doing okay this week. Right now she is sunbathing by the patio window soaking up the sunny weather. Her dose was changed to half a unit on Tuesday.
 
Hi Ann! Welcome back

just took a peek at ss, u are shooting 1/2u like u said, so in ur ss that would be .50

Looks like Maggie had a pretty green today.
:mrgreen:
 
Hi Ronnie,
I did a .75 unit. I made sure she ate which appetite is no problem with Maggie. Now she is sitting beside me asking to be brushed.
 
Hi Ann

will u be able to get spot checks tonite?

I dont know if anyone has mentioned this, but a lot of kitties tend to go lower in the evening cycles....here in the Lantus forum, we follow the Tilly Protocol,

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

and dose reductions are typically based on nadirs (the lowest point of a cycle)
Lantus also works best if shot consistently.... I would really recommend you fill in some blanks in ur spreadsheet, as we have no idea what Maggie is doing after you shoot. Would you be willing to try that?

Your daytime checks are great!! But u are missing half the data, and want to make sure things are going good in the evening.

If you'd like, you could start with a +3 test and a before bedtime test, post here for updates.

Can you add your PMPS number to your subject line?
Glad to hear she eats well!!
 
Hi Ann.

I'm curious why you are shooting 0.5u in the AM and 0.75u in the PM. I'm not sure if anyone has mentioned that Lantus works best if you use the same dose consistently twice each day. One of the reasons that Lantus is such a gentle insulin and why it works the way it does is because it develops a depot, or "shed" -- it's like having an amount of Lantus in storage that allows doses to overlap. So, just as one dose is beginning to wear off, the shed keeps a steady amount of insulin available until the next dose begins to work. If you are not giving the same amount of insulin at each dose, you won't have enough, or you will have too much insulin in the shed. You need to have a steady amount in Maggie's system.

I also want to support what Ronnie is saying about PM spot checks. These are very important - otherwise you are missing half of your data and it will be next to impossible to guide you regarding dosing. Lantus dosing is not based on pre-shot values. It's based on the nadir of the cycle. If you don't have the spot checks, or at least a before bed check, you don't have any idea what's happening in the evening. You could have low numbers that warrant a dose reduction and you will miss that opportunity if you don't test.

If you're not already familiar with it, please take a look at the Tilly Procotol which will help you to understand why all of these issues are so important.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top