2/12/20 Claudio AMPS 334--PMPS 302

Hi Susan, welcome! The title looks good, and congrats on another AMPS! You are on a roll ;). It may have been mentioned, but in case not, have a look at the top of the subforum, we have stickies with a lot of great info that relates to Lantus and Levemir.

Doses can change (up and down) this sticky helps to understand the methods we follow here on this forum, Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. Sticky with Dosing Methods

Some of our advice will depend on what method you'd like to follow. You can do this at your own pace, and ask as many questions as you feel comfortable.
 
Thanks Christie. I will wait until someone suggests if dosage should go up or down. I'm kinda thinking upping to 2u.
As for TR or SLGS, I am home 24/7 majority of the time. Except when someone takes me grocery shopping. So I really don't have a preference for either method. I don't know which method would be more effective given
his numbers.
As for all the stickies, I have printed all of them out and put into a binder. Guess I'm old fashioned. And if the power goes out, I have something to fall back on until the power comes back on and I can then ask an
experienced person for advice.
 
Here's one term that you'll see often...bouncing. And an explanation from the Info Sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG o 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

The reason I mention it, is because I think Claudio is bouncing from the 180s you got yesterday. So, my suggestion is to hold the 1.75u for an additional 2 more days. The earliest you should consider increasing is the p.m. Cycle of Feb 14th. You should give him a chance to clear the bounce before increasing.

One other comment, many of us find that our kitties go lower at night, so if you feel able to get a before bed test, I'd highly recommend it. My Maverick is a good example of that, on Lantus, he'd go lower at night, then bounce during the day. Had I not gotten the evening test, I would have increased, seeing high numbers during the day and at preshot, when he actually would have earned a reduction. I've seen kitties here go from 400s to 40s and then bounce. I'm a big believer in before bed tests, just so I'm sure I'm not missing something then going to sleep.

Questions? :)
 
Why do the numbers seem to go lower at night ? All he does at night is sleep. He is somewhat active during the day when the civie decides it's play time. Otherwise, he is, as my daughter calls him, a lovable loaf.
But I will try to make a more determined effort to get a 4+. That seems to be his nadir.
 
Welcome. Please do read the two dosing methods as the advice you get will often depend on which you follow. Since you are home and can test I recommend you try TR.

Max would go lower at night as well. It’s common but I’m not sure anyone knows why. There were times I went to bed thinking he was past nadir only to find a lower green number at AMPS.
 
I liked the +2 or +3 when I first started out. why? Well, part of this process is to learn how the particular insulin we use works for our cat, (every cat is different) which means understanding concepts of onset (length of time the insulin reaches bloodstream and begins to lower blood glucose), nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and duration (how long does the dose continue to lower BG). For us, if I saw the same or lower number than PMPS, I'd consider testing again, depending on what the numbers were telling me.

If the numbers were higher, I wouldn't worry about an active cycle, and didn't test any further, although I also do feed a couple of mini-snacks during the early part of the cycle. Again, it just depends on your routine, and how Claudio responds.
 
Hello and welcome. Good plan to print out the important notes. Cats have the worst timing and power outages do happen. I have done testing and shots by candle and flashlight.

A +4 before bed was a standard test for me, but Neko onset a little later than “normal”. Your curve yesterday showed an onset, more downward action, at +2, so Claudio is typical in at least that part of his response to Lantus.
 
Let me see if I understand. Test at 2+ or 3+ to see how low or fast the numbers were (hopefully) dropping. If dropping too low or fast, continue testing ? That makes sense.
 
Wendy & Neko
Good plan to print out the important notes. Cats have the worst timing and power outages do happen. I have done testing and shots by candle and flashlight.

We seem to have several Nor'easters here a year. They are like a step below a hurricane. And for some reason, people like to hit and take down power lines.
I also got one of those headlamps since I only have 2 hands. All supplies are in a top & bottom rubbermaid type container with a handle. Ready to go if necessary. I still need to get a insulin insulator.
 
Back
Top