Here's one term that you'll see often...bouncing. And an explanation from the Info Sticky:
Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG o 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).
The reason I mention it, is because I think Claudio is bouncing from the 180s you got yesterday. So, my suggestion is to hold the 1.75u for an additional 2 more days. The earliest you should consider increasing is the p.m. Cycle of Feb 14th. You should give him a chance to clear the bounce before increasing.
One other comment, many of us find that our kitties go lower at night, so if you feel able to get a before bed test, I'd highly recommend it. My Maverick is a good example of that, on Lantus, he'd go lower at night, then bounce during the day. Had I not gotten the evening test, I would have increased, seeing high numbers during the day and at preshot, when he actually would have earned a reduction. I've seen kitties here go from 400s to 40s and then bounce. I'm a big believer in before bed tests, just so I'm sure I'm not missing something then going to sleep.
Questions?
