2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and ques

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

He's dropping roughly 21 points per hour. This rate can vary. Maybe give a teaspoon or two of low carb food.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

122 at +6, Ill never understand these levels. It should have been lower.

Oh well he is fine :)
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Vetsulin is a mixture of 2 different duration insulins.
You've just observed the shorter acting one is wearing off. There may be another slight dip as the longer acting one hits nadir, then it'll likely rise until pre-shot.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Don't ya think if I gave him the 2 units blindly twice everyday from the start, Wease would probably be dead right now from to much insulin?
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

And aren't you glad we insisted testing would help you keep him safe?
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Yea im glad, because if he died without research I wouldn't know the vet was wrong about the dose and figured it was Wease's time to pass.

I still need to figure out how to make it lower without going to low tho. I thought for sure 1.25 was going to keep him mostly in the blue and green.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

He is in really nice numbers. Anything under 250 is below the renal threshold and his pancreas can be healing. Would you want to try a fat one unit for the higher ranges and one unit for the lower? That'd be pulling up more than one unit and then squirting out till it's just past one. Although the one unit made us nervous this am, it turned out fine.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
He is in really nice numbers. Anything under 250 is below the renal threshold and his pancreas can be healing. Would you want to try a fat one unit for the higher ranges and one unit for the lower? That'd be pulling up more than one unit and then squirting out till it's just past one. Although the one unit made us nervous this am, it turned out fine.

Wease is at 107 at +6 tonight. He was 204 at pre shot. I gave him 1 unit.

If I gave a little extra like the thickness of a line is that a fat shot? You think 1.25 is to risky for now? He does seem to need to be somewhere between 1 unit and 1.25. That is not easy to measure. I can give the thickness of one line tho because I always align the base of the plunger on the bottom of the line. All I have to to is put the base so that the line is exposed. I guess it is hard to explain.

I really appreciate everyone!!!
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

You can test how that works, literally.
Try it when you're home to monitor.
Be prepared and have high and medium carb gravied foods at hand, so that if you're concerned, you can give him 1 to 2 teaspoons of higher carb food to steer the numbers, wait 30 minutes, retest.com and repeat as needed..
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

He is at 170 before his PMPS

Should I try a .75 dose or just go for 1 unit again? If im always scared ill never get him to stay under 100.

I don't know what to do right now but I wont be able to test tonight either. :(
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

The ss says he is at 170 at pmps. (not 107, right?). If that's the case, one unit should be okay, because it has been before. But I understand if you won't be able to monitor, that .75 might feel safer. Go with your gut.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

170 yes sorry :)

I will try 1 unit. Your right it was ok before :)

Ok 1 unit given to him. He will be ok, it will be good also if I can test him at +6 which I don't want to but I will. It will give me an idea how his numbers are doing with 1 unit at 170.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Hi my stinkin' cute baby...oh you're gonna kick this juice, good thing Dad's learning to dance so well!

HI Jason! Boy you got this whole thing goin' now! WOOT WOOT!!
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Time for a new pic! :-D

Wease is making GREAT progress! Just look how well he's doing in such a short time, and that's because he's got YOU - a wonderful, loving dad-bean. :-D

I tried to skim back through your very first post and I believe you had switched over to low carb wet food, but I'm not 100% certain. You may be able to bring Wease's overall numbers a little lower by going to a little bit lower carb food, depending on what you're currently feeding, or by spreading out his meals into smaller portions.

Can you remind us what you're currently feeding, and what Wease's feeding schedule looks like?
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

bunni9 said:
Time for a new pic! :-D

I believe you had switched over to low carb wet food, but I'm not 100% certain. You may be able to bring Wease's overall numbers a little lower by going to a little bit lower carb food, depending on what you're currently feeding, or by spreading out his meals into smaller portions.

Can you remind us what you're currently feeding, and what Wease's feeding schedule looks like?

I did start using Friskies Classic Pates variety pack. He eats twice a day right during his shot. He has been on it now about a week and a half.

It has Mixed Grill, Turkey & Giblets and Ocean Whitefish & tuna.

He use to have normal dry catfood out 24-7 before this, he is doing surprisingly well considering he is a little piglet. The switch to wet was easy, he loves that stuff.

Here is a couple more pics, I posted 2 because this is how he likes to lay on me lol

The first pic is from like 3 years ago and the second was a couple months ago. You can tell he lost weight but he still likes to lay the same way and stare at me lol.

0731092319_zps8dadb862.jpg


epy_zps2f850596.jpg
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

It should be illegal to be that cute. :-D

Ok so from Dr. Pierson's list, here's the carbs on those three varieties: Mixed Grill = 11%, Ocean Whitefish = 9%, Turkey & Giblets = 8%. Those are all relatively good, and I think a lot of people feed those ones. Some kitties are a bit more sensitive to carbohydrates, so even a bit lower carb rate can have an impact for some cats. For example, some people seem to notice a difference even between a 3% carb food versus a 9% carb food. It might be something to consider experimenting with gradually.

I'm not familiar with vetsulin and it's peak action, but as I understand, it's compounded so basically you've got a short acting insulin mixed with a longer-acting one. It may be possible to split Wease's meals into smaller portions throughout the day rather than feeding the two big meals. It's thought that a bigger meal can make the pancreas work harder, and smaller meals spread out throughout the day let kitty's pancreas rest and heal a bit more. You might also be able to time some of Wease's meals so that he's getting food primarily when the insulin is working the hardest.

Just wanted to toss out some ideas to you! Wease's numbers are really looking very, very good with you doing exactly what you are doing. Tweaking the food is really just that...tweaking things a bit. If you do decide to experiment a bit, my suggestion is to make one small change at a time, so you can see what effect, if any, a change has, before tweaking again.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Hey Jason, looked at last night's cycle. nice nadir! Is that your first green?

We're going to have to eat our words. vetsulin seems to be working beautifully for him!

Time to start a new thread......
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

He is at 160 at AMPS, now I am getting nervous about that 1 unit dose. He just keeps going down and down!!

Should I do 1 unit still?

I gave him 1 unit twice now when he was in the 170's

171 and dipped to 122 at +6
170 and dipped to 94 at +6

*** EDIT ok well I gave him 1 unit. I didn't want to wait to long for a reply so that he stays on the same schedule. If I don't take a chance then I will never know what the breaking point is I guess. Hopefully soon it will stop going down down down and react the same on a consistent basis.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Yep, time to start a new thread today 'cos THIS stinkin' cute kitty is gonna go OTJ!!!

Jason, got your dancin' shoes polished and ready? Wease is already tired of this - here's the NEXT OTJ trial coming soon...stay tuned!

WOOHOO! Oh I just wanna snuggle wif dat baby!
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Squeaky and KT said:
Yep, time to start a new thread today 'cos THIS stinkin' cute kitty is gonna go OTJ!!!

Jason, got your dancin' shoes polished and ready? Wease is already tired of this - here's the NEXT OTJ trial coming soon...stay tuned!

WOOHOO! Oh I just wanna snuggle wif dat baby!

That would be great but How do you know when that happens? How is that possible so quickly?

Incase anyone missed it I gave him 1 unit at 160 amps. I didn't want to wait to long for a reply so that he stays on the same schedule. If I don't take a chance then I will never know what the breaking point is I guess. Hopefully soon it will stop going down down down and react the same on a consistent basis.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

This is where the big decision comes, Jason. You can choose to be agressive and push for lower numbers. You'd need to be around to monitor and be ready to bring up the numbers with food if necessary. You can be less agressive and work with a little lower doses and higher nadirs if you think the food may be working to bring down the numbers also.

Your one unit this am should be fine. Just monitor maybe at +3 and +6
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

NitroViper said:
Incase anyone missed it I gave him 1 unit at 160 amps. I didn't want to wait to long for a reply so that he stays on the same schedule. If I don't take a chance then I will never know what the breaking point is I guess. Hopefully soon it will stop going down down down and react the same on a consistent basis.
Some fancy shooting this morning, Cowboy!
cowboy_.gif
Can't wait to see the results of this one!
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Just a note: Unless/until you have data showing it is safe, please don't shoot below 150 mg/dL on a human meter (180 mg/dL pet-specific meter).

When you start getting pre-shots below 150 mg/dL (180) or the nadir winds up below 50 mg/dL (80), reduce by 0.25 units.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

His + 6 is 124... see this is never going to make sense to me!

Last night he was 170 I gave him 1 unit and he dropped to 94 at +6
So today he was at 160 I gave him 1 unit and he dropped to 124 at +6

ARG!!!

Im trying to find a deal on relion confirm test strips online, these are going to cost more than any thing else. In 1 week I have already used 50 of them.

Even if I only test 3 times a day a month that still is 90 strips. That's about $38 a month alone.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Jason,
Remember - insulin is a hormone, NOT a 'chemical' medicine like a thyroid med. Many things can affect bg levels, they'll never be exactly the same. Example - a can of cat food is supposed to be 5% carbs BUT that particular can got more of the 'carb' than the next can. The cat that eats THAT can will be consuming a higher carb. This can't be helped, it just happens. Even seeing a squirrel or another animal outside can spike some cats!

Please give dat stinkin' cute boy a headbutt from me....

EDIT TO ADD: Strips - the strips are actually made by Arkray who also makes 'generic' meters. I think you can order them from American Diabetes Warehouse cheaper - check the 'SHOP' link at the top of each page. Confirm=Glucocard 01
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

Squeaky and KT said:
Strips - the strips are actually made by Arkray who also makes 'generic' meters. I think you can order them from American Diabetes Warehouse cheaper - check the 'SHOP' link at the top of each page. Confirm=Glucocard 01

The ReliOn Confirm/Micro are the same as the Arkray Glucocard 01. And, if you're feeling confident in getting blood, you might want to switch to the ReliOn Prime (requires more blood than the Confirm). There is no Arkray equivalent (Walmart only), but the strips are $9 for 50/$18 for 100 (although they don't sell boxes of 100).
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

NitroViper said:
His + 6 is 124... see this is never going to make sense to me!

Last night he was 170 I gave him 1 unit and he dropped to 94 at +6
So today he was at 160 I gave him 1 unit and he dropped to 124 at +6

You can't think of this as an exact science. Besides the things others have mentioned, remember that meters have a 20% variance, on the same sample. So if you look at your numbers in that light, he is definitely in the same range of numbers and you are getting very similar results.

And besides, all those numbers are very nice!


Time to start a new thread with the evening pmps.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

KPassa said:
if you're feeling confident in getting blood, you might want to switch to the ReliOn Prime (requires more blood than the Confirm).

A lot more blood? or like twice as much? Does it still suck it into it?

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
You can't think of this as an exact science. Besides the things others have mentioned, remember that meters have a 20% variance, on the same sample. So if you look at your numbers in that light, he is definitely in the same range of numbers and you are getting very similar results.

And besides, all those numbers are very nice!

Time to start a new thread with the evening pmps.

Well he is at 161 at this PMPS like this morning. I still gave him a 1 unit dose but I cant check him tonight but I think he is safe.

Is there a reason to start a new thread? Or does a thread get so long they are harder to keep up with?
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

You keep making my heart stop, Jason. 160, not 106, right?

Once you're on page 2, yes, it's harder to keep up with your thread. Just a better idea to post a page a day.
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

161 sorry, I don't know why I keep doing that, I guess I type fast and don't notice it. I always put it on the spreadsheet before I post here tho. :)
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

The ReliOn Confirm/Micro takes about .3ul of blood and the Prime takes about .5ul of blood. Not a huge difference but a big enough difference when you're first starting out and getting very little blood (if any) that it can cause some frustration. Once the ears have learned to bleed and you can consistently get a bead of blood the size of a pin then it's not much of a problem. Also, if you waste strips, you don't feel as bad. :lol:
 
Re: 2/12/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates and

KPassa said:
The ReliOn Confirm/Micro takes about .3ul of blood and the Prime takes about .5ul of blood. Not a huge difference but a big enough difference when you're first starting out and getting very little blood (if any) that it can cause some frustration. Once the ears have learned to bleed and you can consistently get a bead of blood the size of a pin then it's not much of a problem. Also, if you waste strips, you don't feel as bad. :lol:

I should switch, .5ul vs .3ul is really not even a noticeable amount.

Ill start a new thread tomorrow, I try not to post to much so it doesn't become a mess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top