2/12/11Choco+6 43, +6.25 44,+6.75 39,+7.25 52,+7.75 67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50

If nobody tells you otherwise in a couple minutes, I would go ahead and give Choco about a teaspoon of the HC with some gravy. And test again in about 20 minutes.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50

I gave him a little HC food and gravy. I wll test again in 10 minutes (11:00). I never thought this disease was going to be so complicated. I am worn out but I have to keep going for Choco. Thanks for everyone's help.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50

It's a little nerve wracking at first. It really does get to be easier. Those green numbers are where his pancreas heals.

Here are the written instructions for managing low numbers.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

+3.5 46. I'm really getting scared now. I'm going to give him more food.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Thank you Natalia. Does anybody think I need to put out a HELP or 911?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Looking at Sienne's post of handling low numbers, shouldn't tests be every 15 minutes now that Choco is under 50? Bumping this up.

Pattie
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

no need to be scared, we all had to go thru this once or twice too.

now you are in the 40's, you'll want to retest in 15 minutes from the last number...
do take some time out to read thru the link Sienne posted, it really does help.
You're doing fine!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Nope. A 911 isn't needed. I'm hanging around.

You want to feed some high carb. About a teaspoon of HC -- mostly gravy. If you don't have much in the house with gravy, you can add a couple of drops of Karo or other simple syrup (maple syrup, honey) to LC food. I literally mean drops. You'll test again in 15 - 20 min.

And, Choco has earned a dose reduction but we'll deal with later.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Just giving my support - you are in the best of hands with these ladies. They have helped me more than once when I have been in a panic. You are doing well.

Pattie
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

how about 2 tsp of gravy and another test in about 20 minutes. You're doing great, hang in there!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

You are in great hands... I just wanted to pop in to say you are doing a GREAT job!! If you look at Willie's spreadsheet at December 24th (was using an alphatrak, so subtract 30 points from those numbers!), you can see the exact moment I felt the same way for the first time. :) We've all been there, and your are handling it like a pro. :mrgreen: Hope you get some rest tonight!!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Choco is stubborn! You can mix a few drops of karo into some gravy, that should help bump him up.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Use more HC. You can add a drop or two of Karo to LC, and top it all off with gravy. It will bring numbers up. Sometimes it takes more than 15 - 20 min. You get to eat chocolate. Re-test in 15 - 20 min.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Also, you may need to remove some #s from your subject line to keep it current. It's very helpful for those of us who are watching your condo if we can see the current numbers at a glance.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

He is now at 35. I will go and try and fix the numbers but I don't know how to post these 15-12 minute times.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

good, the drop has stopped. How about a little more karo and gravy? Probably in the next test or two you'll start seeing the influence of the carbs. See you in 15-20 minutes.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

Don't worry about it then. Keep repeating the process -- a little bit of Karo mixed in with the LC food and a gravy topper. Then re-test. (Lather, rinse, repeat)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 4

I understood!! 15 min = .25, 20 min = .3.

So if you tested at 15 min after +3.5, it would be noted as +3.75.
If you test at 20 min. after the hour, it would be +4.3, 40 min. would be +4.6.

It takes some getting used to.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39

You're doing great, Maria. We're all here with you.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39

Thanks guys. I don't know about you all but I'm exhausted. Thanks for hanging out. :O)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39

I don't have any but that sounds really yummy right now.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39

We've all been in your shoes, Maria :YMHUG:
How about a nice cup of hot chocolate, or some ice cream ;-) .

If you want when you have a few minutes, you can change your subject line to 2/12/11 Choco +3.5 46, +3.75 34, +4 35
It's off by a few minutes, but I think that's pretty close. You can figure out what needs to be fixed in the morning.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39

No wine yet. Don't want Marie to doze off!! A little adrenalin is good right now. Chocolate is fine though!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50 +3.5 46 +5 39 5.25 40

mmmmm, chocolate. :smile: My favorite when Lucy used to keep me up late testing was Ben & Jerry's.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +3 50,+3.5 46,+3.75 34,+4 35,+5 39 5.25 40

I don't think Choco is concerned about any of this. He is laying on his back with his back legs wide open just snoozing away. :O)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +3 50,+3.5 46,+3.75 34,+4 35,+5 39 5.25 40

marleesan71 said:
I don't think Choco is concerned about any of this. He is laying on his back with his back legs wide open just snoozing away. :O)

that's good to read. You can take your cues from Choco - of course you don't want to start snoozing just yet, but it sounds like he is doing fine so you are too. :smile:
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +3 50,+3.5 46,+3.75 34,+4 35,+5 39 5.25 40

You guys are amazing. Libby, Sienne, Barbara, everyone.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco+3.5 46,+3.75 34,+4 35,+5 39 5.25 40,+5.5 4

Since he tested at +5.5 40, I gave him two more bites of LC with gravy and another drop of kayro.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco+3.5 46,+3.75 34,+4 35,+5 39 5.25 40,+5.5 4

He's just taking a little snooze for you. Keep up the good work Maria. Nothing like a PJ party on Saturday night.
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5 39 5.25 40,+5.5 40,+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25

I'm really, really tired. It seems like his numbers are going up but very slowly.
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5 39 5.25 40,+5.5 40,+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25

how much gravy are you giving each time? You can try giving a bigger glop of gravy or a bit more syrup mixed in. I'd like to see him at least in the 50s before bed.

I would reduce to 1.5 units in the morning.
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5 39 5.25 40,+5.5 40,+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25

Okay, I am going to give him some more food and syrup. He's dropped back down to 39.
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5.5 40,+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25 44,+6.75 39

Choco's surfing. You can be a bit more generous with the HC. It's normal for numbers to wobble around like this. As the HC wears off, the numbers slide down. If you can bump him up to the 50s or higher, you've got more room if he slides. a bit..
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5.5 40,+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25 44,+6.75 39

Nice work Maria. When the kitties fall, it is tiring for the mom's..Harley has decided to follow Choco (he has gone from 288 to 86). You should be proud of yourself - you have done well.

Pattie (and Harley)
 
Re: 2/12/11Choco+5.75 39,+6 43, +6.25 44,+6.75 39,+7.25 52

Thanks Pattie. How often does this happen? He just tested at 52! Finally. I think the Kayro helped.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top