2/11 Vesper, AMPS 375

Kelly and Vesper

Member Since 2025
Hi everyone. Thank you for continuing to check in on us and sending us good thoughts.

We haven't been able to get in to see a vet yet. The ER has a 5 hour wait, and I don't want to put Vesper through the stress of that, because it would mean that she is not eating for at least 5+ hours, and I think that will cause more harm.

She continues to be negative for ketones (I think the grey test yesterday was a one-off), but she also continues to have a very low appetite and some food aversions. Behaviorally, she is pretty normal (wants to snuggle a lot and purrs), though she is a bit more lethargic.

We were able to make an appointment with an internal medicine specialist tomorrow, so as long as she doesn't dramatically worsen today, we are going to try to hold off until tomorrow to take her in somewhere.

Hope everyone else is doing well.

Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-10-vesper-amps-430-3-405-6-383-pmps-365.298244/
 
Hi everyone. Thank you for continuing to check in on us and sending us good thoughts.

We haven't been able to get in to see a vet yet. The ER has a 5 hour wait, and I don't want to put Vesper through the stress of that, because it would mean that she is not eating for at least 5+ hours, and I think that will cause more harm.

She continues to be negative for ketones (I think the grey test yesterday was a one-off), but she also continues to have a very low appetite and some food aversions. Behaviorally, she is pretty normal (wants to snuggle a lot and purrs), though she is a bit more lethargic.

We were able to make an appointment with an internal medicine specialist tomorrow, so as long as she doesn't dramatically worsen today, we are going to try to hold off until tomorrow to take her in somewhere.

Hope everyone else is doing well.

Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-10-vesper-amps-430-3-405-6-383-pmps-365.298244/
Hi Kelly, I'm so glad her ketones sound like not an issue and she's hanging in and purring and snuggling.

Are you able to try syringe feed her at all?

I know there are links here on how to stimulate appetite (have they been linked for you before?)

Sending lots of good wishes and I hope Vesper keeps eating for you. Hugs to both of you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kelly, I'm so glad her ketones sound like not an issue and she's hanging in and purring and snuggling.

Are you able to try syringe feed her at all?

I know there are links here on how to stimulate appetite (have they been linked for you before?)

Sending lots of good wishes and I hope Vesper keeps eating for you. Hugs to both of you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

She's pretty angry with me for all the poking and vet visits, so she growls and swats at me if I try to put anything near her face. I've tried all the other tricks (warming food, offering a buffet, using fortiflora, etc), so I think I'm just going to keep doing all of those and hope she eats enough on her own. Thank you for the hugs and good wishes!
 
Thank you for the update, I hope the vet visit will give you some answers and that she will be OK up to then. Thinking of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope the vet visit tomorrow works out well. Ask the vet if she is dehydrated.
Have you tried putting down some 100% meat freeze dried treats?
 
Hi Kelly
I thought I’d posted yesterday to you but when I looked back it had not posted. I’m sorry.
this is what I wrote:

Hi Kelly, I was so glad to read things seemed to be improving until I got to the end where she seems to regressing.

I would try the 4 mg of ondansetron and see if that helps. It’s really important to get the nausea under control in post DKA kitties.

With the dose of insulin, because you are giving dry food, you can’t be doing TR but because we are dealing with a kitty who is post DKA and is not out of the woods yet, I think an increase tomorrow if she does not drop into blues overnight is warranted.
I would only do the 0.25 unit increase becasue of what I have said above. So up to 1.5 U
I’m wondering if she is growling because she has some pain, possibly from pancreatitis.


I’m glad to see you have increased the dose this morning.
I would try the increased dose of ondansetron and see if that helps.
 
Back
Top