2/11 Rooh PMPS 76 +1 81 +2 78 +3 62 +4 67 +5 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Yesterday was awesome. We saw Green all morning and blue into the evening and hit the RED wall in the wee hours of the night.

I stuck with 3u this morning but am not really sure if that was the right thing to do.
 
Bouncing from the green numbers and or big drops is common for many of our kitties. Good luck with the reduction.
 
yup, i agree, sticking with the 3u is the right thing to do. It's hard when you see bounce numbers, but because Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW the dose will take a cat, your focus is on the greens yesterday and that drop below 50. That's the dose determiner. He successfully held the dose decrease from 3.5u to 3.25u - my fingers are crossed he'll hold this dose too. It almost looks like he may already be clearing this bounce. He's down into low yellows with your last test.

Sending green thoughts to Mr. Rooh!
 
Okay +11 is at 66 and possibly still going down.. I might need some advice in an hour when i get the next test.

We did a dose decrease yesterday.
 
Excellent, we'll review at PS but given that you haven't had great results stalling, reducing or skipping the greens I'm thinking if it's over 50 shoot it - very exciting!

You forgot Roohs name in the subject line.
 
Oops i edited his name right out of the title.. Fixed that. Okay I am going to test again in 10 mins.
 
+12 is 71 . I am really nervous about shooting that after he stayed in the 70's for 6-7 hrs yesterday only with a lot of gravy and especially since I dont know when he dropped this low. What if the shot throws him down fast and hard? He is not super carb senstive, not with gravy or karo anyway, but dry food does bring him up faster. His appetite was strong earlier today and he ate a lot, but he also got a B12 shot.

What do you suggest?
 
Doesn't look like you had too much trouble keeping him up from yesterdays spreadsheet entries but you haven't put anything in the remarks to show what was fed and when - naughty , naughty!

They don't usually drop fast and hard from a low number - which is why we like to shoot them but let me just have a read through yesterdays' condo to check out how the gravy went down.
 
ok so the condo's not too helpful about how much gravy you gave and at what points in the cycle either, but it clearly worked that was such a beautiful surf yesterday - just what you want to see more of. I would go ahead and shoot, I can sit with you through the cycle :)
 
You dont see yesterdays remarks in the SS? OOps sorry i see i didnt put it in.. I keep a SS on my pc too and sometimes get them confused.


Yesterdays food -
AMPS .5 can FF beef

+4.5 -1 tsp friskies gravy & LC food
+5.5 -1 TBS friskies gravy

+7.5 - 1 tsp friskeis gravy
+8.5 - 1 tbs friskies HC and gravy
 
That looks fine the gravy did it's job nicely yesterday, we can do the same again this cycle and intervene a little earlier than 50 since it most likely won't be a reduction earning cycle anyway (because of the depot action continuing from the previous dose) we can also use some syrup if it becomes necessary, I don't believe we will want to use dry food.

Good work on overcoming your fear :D I hope someone will be along with the BOS for you because you've earned them today :D:D:D

As long as Rooh eats/has eaten his full meal we can wait until +1 for the first test.
 
Yeah yesterday was easy, I was awake all day, tonight wont be too easy come 1 am I will get really sleepy :(
 
hehe Serryn is the Queen of the Balls of Steel for shooting low!

You'll do fine, Mel. Lantus works so much better at holding normal blood sugar numbers flat. This is the path to regulation.

I'm headed out for the evening, so am really glad Serryn's going to be checking in with you. Food is your tool - don't hesitate to use it! I might even have to pull out my phone to check in on The Rooh Show tonight. Have fun!

I would say the dry food can be used if you're afraid you can't stay awake, Mel. You don't usually want to use it for steering numbers, but if you're in danger of falling asleep and not waking up with your alarm, tell Serryn/people and see if you should put dry food out.
 
by the way, mel, take a peek at Vyktor's ss and you can see that Serryn's gone through this very same thing. His ss went all green at about 2.5u, so not too different from Rooh.
 
Omg you guys crack me up!!! I told my husband about the balls of steel and he said oh great, just what he always wanted..to be married to woman with balls and steel ones at that. Then he goes on to say, oh heck if you are falling asleep just grab a handful of dry food and eat it yourself..that should wake you up. :D:D:D

Serryn , it is almost 9pm here. He got his shot at 8:20pm, a little late tonight. it was due at 8.

"it most likely won't be a reduction earning cycle anyway (because of the depot action continuing from the previous dose) "..o_O
I dont fully understand this.. can you explain it?

I think I will go grab the karo and chug on it myself.

Julie have a good night.
 
you too! have fun with that Karo!

by the way, as you get tests in tonight (start with that +1), edit your subject line and put each new one in. That way if you're running into trouble people will see it. Keep the subject line current.

heehee on your husband's comments!
 
Your husband cracks me up!

Because of the lantus depot even after you've taken a reduction you may still see the effects of the old dose for up to 6 cycles (hence why I'm not a fan of the BCS). That being the case you usually wouldn't take another reduction for dropping under 50 in the next few cycles after a reduction. However, there are exceptions to this which usually occur when a kitty is on a race down the doses and it's too difficult to keep them up - see Vyktor's last few weeks.

ETA - because of that there's no reason for us to let Rooh go under 50 tonight so we'll try and get her surfing a little higher.
 
Hello Mel- I don't think I've posted on your condo before- congrats on shooting your first green!! :D:D:D Please allow me to present you with this special award (Marje & Gracie has a much prettier more elegant hand, but this is my un-elegant hand and it will have to do LOL!:smuggrin::smuggrin:)
bos.jpg
 
He's surfing beautifully this is awesome :D , again at +3

Sorry this is still Serryn I forgot I was still signed in as my mum after updating Purrdy's numbers
 
I would give a couple of tsp of lc at this point to try and encourage the surf

ETA - does Rooh free feed (sorry I forget, I suspect he does and I've asked you this before). When you get a chance it would be good if you could add a profile and link it to your signature so I (and others) don't keep asking you the same things.
 
@Vyktors Mum He just ate .25 can FF an hour ago and had .25 can at PS. He is a grazer. I dont think he will eat again unless its good stuff. He still has food in his bowl.
 
ok, in that case best to check again in half and hour, unless he helps himself to food in the meantime, then you can wait the full hour
 
Yes he free feeds. He does not eat as much as he probably should and he is not over weight.
 
Yay he ate..the eat your food song worked. Be back in an hour. If you have to leave, its okay, I will be alright and know what to do.

Add: I will work on the profile tomorrow.
 
Exciting condo of the night award goes here. Looking good Rooh - keep up that nice flat surf. :D

Marje lent me these to give you tonight.
boshand.gif
 
I think one more in an hour and if he's still surfing you can go to bed since there will be food out (don't forget to pick up anything that's left at +10)

Definitely the most exciting condo - he's kept me on the edge of my seat all day but just surfed so beautifully. Got to love a free feeder that does all the balancing out himself!
 
Yeah Rooh has had a GREAT cycle tonight!!

Hopefully that trampoline salesman won't come by and sell him a new trampoline to bounce on by morning!

Keep surfing Rooh!!...it's MUCH better than bouncing!!
 
Thanks Serryn, Julie and Chris. Wow I might get to sleep tonight, that is a pleasant surprise!

BTW - I do not think he seeks out food when he is low. I have to put it in front of him and encourage him to eat. At least that is how it has always been when I am awake.
 
So just for my curiosity, none of the feeds he had tonight he had by himself or was it just the last one you encouraged him for? I have to know - what is the eat your food song?

Wish we could post audio :woot:
 
He ate on his own at PS and and +2. I had to encourage eating +3 and +4.
Lmbo no way would i record me singing. Its just a silly song i sing to him and he will eat for me. I had another sick kitty a few years who was the same way, if i sang to her she would eat for me. I think they eat hoping I will stop singing.
 
Okay here is The Rooh Song -

I love my Rooh
You're very special to me
You're my rootie too
You're my little Boo bear
your my Boo bear boy.
A-hum A-hum da domp da domp da domp.

I love my Rooh
You need to eat for me
Please my rootie too
come eat your foodies
come and eat for me
A-hum A-hum da domp da domp da domp

It works every time :D
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top