One kind of funny thing about diabetic cats and Lantus, at least, is that sometimes it seems like you go up in dose but you don't really see the BGs come down much until you hit a sweet spot in the dose and suddenly, the whole range of blood sugar will drop. You just want to be methodical and follow the protocol and keep increasing on time. Don't linger on a dose that's not getting him into greens. He'll get there!
If you want help figuring out if it's time to increase, just ask. Sometimes it's hard to tell when you're new if a cat is high because they are in a bounce or if it's because they need more insulin. If you want more of an explanation about a bounce,
take a peek here.
If you are happy with your testing schedule, carry on, but if you'd like to test a little less while he's high, you probably could. One thing you can see that Sienne was referring to - notice that your yellow streak today was almost exactly 3 days after the last yellow streak. A bounce can last as long as 3 days - which is what Phobos just did. So he got into the 200's 3 days ago, his body reacted to it as being "too low" for what it's gotten used to, and it sent him back high. He stayed in high numbers, bobbling around some, but still being mostly high, and then when it cleared he got back into the 200's again.
What this tells you is that this dose is capable of getting him at least into the 200's. Since you just increased to 2.0u you want to give it the full 6 cycles before you increase again. Unless you see some lower numbers when he clears the next bounce, you'd want to hold this the 6 cycles and then increase by 0.25u - I've bolded the part below that would apply to Phobos at this phase right now. If he goes lower in the next 3 cycles at 2.0, then this might change.
Hang in there! It gets infinitely easier and you'll see more progress before long.
The TR Protocol guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.