2/11 Mikan AMPS 148, +2 103, +3 86, +6 77, +10 53: PMBG 48. 43 (+12.25) Skipped, +3 180, +4.5 310

2/10/24

Good morning!

Mikan had an awesome day yesterday :)
Of course, I was dreading of the trampoline pink jump, but she somehow managed to start :cool: this morning.
I hope she can keep up!

Happy Sunday to you all!
Beautiful Amps, Kit. Mikan is giving beautiful cycles!! I think she’s getting the hang of things!! You’re so great with managing her care.
Looks like another sunny beach day with Nestle! Let’s see what they all do.
I hope you gave a great Sunday, watching from the East coast :)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Beautiful Amps, Kit. Mikan is giving beautiful cycles!! I think she’s getting the hang of things!! You’re so great with managing her care.
Looks like another sunny beach day with Nestle! Let’s see what they all do.
I hope you gave a great Sunday, watching from the East coast :)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good Sunday Morning, Staci!
Thanks for the kind words!
Mikan's pushing things through to get to the beach so she can play with Nestle and Ivy! :kiss:
Wishing you a very happy Sunday, sending back to the East coast from the Mt West ;)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Kit, Mikan is really doing awesome, I think she's finally getting with the program :cat:. Keep up the great work pretty girl :bighug:
Have a nice day Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane,
Hope you are right that Mikan's really getting this!
A part of me wants to believe that so bad, yet another part is expecting her to stall.
Time will tell either way!
Hope you are having a great Sunday, Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Kit and Mikan!
And what a beautiful cycle she's having. Spending lots of time on the beach with Nestle. I hope she keeps him there cause he was creeping up at around +8 (99)
Sweet Mikan you're doing so well and Kit you're taking such beautiful care of her. Way to go ladies!!!

upload_2024-2-11_17-37-35.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-11_17-37-35.png
    upload_2024-2-11_17-37-35.png
    164.8 KB · Views: 176
Hello Kit and Mikan!
And what a beautiful cycle she's having. Spending lots of time on the beach with Nestle. I hope she keeps him there cause he was creeping up at around +8 (99)
Sweet Mikan you're doing so well and Kit you're taking such beautiful care of her. Way to go ladies!!!

View attachment 69147
Thanks Karolina. Mikan had an awesome cycle - in fact, too good that she carried the momentum a bit too far :rolleyes:
PMPS was under 50 and I just couldn't shoot. Well, she may sky rocket but I had to make sure she's safe tonight!
Hope you and Nestle are having a lovely evening! :bighug:
 
I just couldn't shoot. I waited 15 min to retest, and it was even lower.
We are having a small group for the Super Bowl and it just isn't a good evening if I have to fend off the hypo threat.
I hope I don't regret the decision!
She has been doing so well, and I hate to stop the momentum. But the safety first!
She may have a setback, but I am hoping that it will be a temporary thing and we can get back to the program.
Hope everyone has a great evening!
 
I just couldn't shoot. I waited 15 min to retest, and it was even lower.
We are having a small group for the Super Bowl and it just isn't a good evening if I have to fend off the hypo threat.
I hope I don't regret the decision!
She has been doing so well, and I hate to stop the momentum. But the safety first!
She may have a setback, but I am hoping that it will be a temporary thing and we can get back to the program.
Hope everyone has a great evening!


Would you consider a token dose since you're home to monitor. That way she gets some insulin and wouldn't bounce tomorrow?
 
Would you consider a token dose since you're home to monitor. That way she gets some insulin and wouldn't bounce tomorrow?
I thought about it, Karolina. I agonized about it, in fact.
I really wanted to give her some - but we are having some people this evening - that makes it difficult if I need to monitor her closely, as she may hide.
I hope I won't regret this!
 
I thought about it, Karolina. I agonized about it, in fact.
I really wanted to give her some - but we are having some people this evening - that makes it difficult if I need to monitor her closely, as she may hide.
I hope I won't regret this!

I completely understand. Her safety and well being comes first. Maybe she'll surprise you and won't shoot to the moon and back tomorrow.
*whispers* Hide that damn trampoline.

Enjoy your night and the super bowl
 
I know the hind sight is always 20/20.
Mikan is on her way up to the Mars. I should have given her a token dose.
Tested her blood ketone at +4.5 0.1mmol/L.
I am almost afraid to wake up tomorrow to find how high she gets.
I have been beating myself up pretty good - sorry to say that I was not a very good company for Super Bowl
 
Don't beat yourself up about skipping the dose, having company and then have to keep checking on Mikan if you shot and had to monitor her often would have been nerve wracking for you. I'm sure she will get back on track. Safety first . :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Don't even give a token dose if they are under 50. With the depot you could still see some action the following cycle. So you did the right thing. One thing to consider, should you see a cycle like this where she is coming down all the way to your +10 test, is to give her a little low carb food at that point to see if it props her up so you can avoid the under 50 at PS. That still gives you a couple hours before the PMPS test for the food to wear off and give you a non influenced number.
 
Don't beat yourself up about skipping the dose, having company and then have to keep checking on Mikan if you shot and had to monitor her often would have been nerve wracking for you. I'm sure she will get back on track. Safety first . :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thank you Diane :bighug: Your kind word means so much to me. :bighug:
I was so worried that I may have made her condition far worse:(
This was the first ever skip we had since her diagnosis. When I saw 310 at +4.5, I thought, my goodness, how high will she go?
I was surprised to see her AMPS 275, but felt relieved. I hope we can get back on track from here!
 
Don't even give a token dose if they are under 50. With the depot you could still see some action the following cycle. So you did the right thing. One thing to consider, should you see a cycle like this where she is coming down all the way to your +10 test, is to give her a little low carb food at that point to see if it props her up so you can avoid the under 50 at PS. That still gives you a couple hours before the PMPS test for the food to wear off and give you a non influenced number.
Thank you Wendy as always for your kind and apt advice!
That's a great suggestion to give her a little LC at +10 when she continues to slide down like she did yesterday.
Such a tricky thing FD is.
I hope I will never have to do this again (of course, unless she is well enough for the trial). But I will keep your advice all written down. Thanks Wendy!
 
Hi Kit, you did the exactly correct thing last night. Safety first. :kiss:
And that depot was strong (like the Force in Star Wars…can you tell I have sons and watched those movies a million times? :p)

I digress…. But she did just fine recovering!! Very proud of you for sound thinking in a scary moment!
Onward today. Safe surfing Mikan. Hope your head is ok today, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top