2/11 Mandarin AMBG 88 / Walter AMPS 273, +3 190, +6 128 + Lenny ruptured a disc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

What a crazy couple of days! Nothing really worked out the way I had planned - but we are finally back home. Here's the recap: I got up at 4 am on Thursday to take Lenny to Ann Arbor for his appointment with the neurologist. The original plan was to do the consult in the morning and an MRI in the afternoon. However, everything took much longer than expected and Lenny ended up spending the night.

Since neither my friend Kristen (who came with me) nor I had planned to stay over night and needed to take care of our animals, we ended up driving back home on Thursday. I went back by myself on Friday. Taken together, I spent over 14 hours in the car in those two days.

I am very glad though that we went. The MRI showed that Lenny ruptured a disc in his neck. I only have great things to say about this clinic and the doctor that we saw. He was fantastic with Lenny (who is not usually too fond of men... or strangers in general) and spent a lot of time examining him and explaining everything. The thing that is still amazing is that Lenny is walking and didn't show any signs of being in pain (even though this is a very painful injury).

In light of the fact that the vet was also concerned about a tumor (that was either pressing on his spine or in his brain) or a series of "vascular events," a ruptured disc is better news. They also did extensive bloodwork (which looked fantastic), did an EKG (which was also completely normal) and took chest x-rays. So, overall, Lenny is a very healthy 6-year-old dog with a ruptured disc. For right now, we are doing a course of Presdnisone (40 mg a day), Gabapentin and complete rest. We will reassess in a week.

Surgery is of course an option.... but it's an option that comes with its own set of risks. I will be forever thankful that I got health insurance for Lenny when he was younger - so at least I don't have to worry about the costs of all of this (which are, of course, considerable).

On the agenda for today: I have to rearrange my house and somehow block off the couch/put it in the basement for now. Lenny has to be on strict crate rest when I am not home, but he can be out with me as long as there is no possibility that he will jump on anything (and he LOVES to be on the couch).

Walter's Insulin and food schedule has been a complete mess. We skipped two shots this week and yesterday's PM shot was over an hour late. And then I slept from 11 pm (+2) until 7 am this morning without ever waking up or feeding a snack. I guess I was officially exhausted.
 
Glad to see an update, I was worried but figured you had a couple of long days. Guess that is good news for Lenny but eeeks! Poor little boy, how in the heck could that have happened? What does pred do for this....reduce inflammation I guess? Thank goodness for pet insurance! Is there any chance the disc will resolve on it's own without surgery? Walter will recover from the skipped shots. Yellow is not all bad considering! Lots of vines, prayers and :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was wondering what happened and hoping you were just too busy to post. I'm glad it's only a ruptured disc. I hope the treatments take care of things and Lenny won't need surgery. I'm glad you have insurance for him. Walter will get back on track. It sounds like you needed the rest. Sending prayers.
 
I'm also happy to see an update :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Poor Lenny! I hope the pred helps him! Funny....my daughter and son-in-law recently took one of their dogs to the vetty because her front legs/paws seemed to be bothering her and she was yelping in pain at times, and after examining the legs and paws with no reaction the vetty started moving Neila's head around and it turned out the pain was in her neck.

Walter will be fine and his AMPS isn't bad considering what has been going on.
 
Poor Lenny, but yes - given all the possibilities, it sounds like the "best" possible diagnosis, and it's great that the doc and facility were so fabulous. Continuing tons of healing prayers for Lenny. You deserved that sleep!!!
 
I have a couple of friends of friends with dogs that had that surgery successfully should it be necessary. I'm no up on this thread. What kind of dog? Glad it's not cancer.
 
What kind of dog?
He's a 70-pound Chow mix (maybe mixed with Shepherd or Akita) - so he's a big dog... and not a breed that is prone to disc problems.

If Lenny likes the couch, would he use steps or a ramp to get up and down?
I have cat steps, but I think he is just plain too big for those. Luckily, I have a ramp for the steps outside.

So far, Lenny is resting very comfortably in his puppy pen. He is still mainly sleeping. The MRI took over 3 hours, so it was a long time to be under anesthesia. I'm going to run a few errands to get some more non-slip rugs and an elevated feeder for him.

Very happy with Walter's numbers too! Great to see him head back down so soon after a skipped shot!
 
I agree, with all of the other possible diagnosis this one is probably best. And all the other test results are great!!!

Not sure if I mentioned this to you before but Carlos is recovering from a ruptured disk as well. He was not able to lift his head first thing in the morning, his mobility improved as the day went on but I knew something was really wrong. Thankfully it only took a couple of x-rays to be able to diagnose the problem, I know that's not always the case.
He's made great progress without surgery. Sounds like your vet made the same treatment plan. I make sure he can't jump up or down on anything, no stairs and at this point (he's beyond complete rest) short, flat leash walks.
A short course of Pred at first, still taking Gabapentin. I think acupuncture has been really helpful as well as Adequan.
Lenny's a young guy compared to Carlos, I bet he recovers beautifully.
The kitties sure are looking swell :cat:
 
So glad to hear the update, and I'm glad you have a diagnosis and plan of action. Good luck keeping Lenny on bed rest. Please try to get some rest yourself, I'm sure you're worn out. Psst, Walter, that means you need to behave while Lenny recuperates. No shark dives! Mama bean has her hands full. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gosh, Christina, the past few weeks have really been insane in your world! I am so glad you found such a wonderful place to take Lenny, and that the problem is something treatable. I am sending lots of healing vines your way.

Walter, please listen to your aunties and take it easy on your Mamabean for a while. Gentle slides and nice, safe surfs would be great. ;)

How nice to have good insurance and to know you can get your pet the treatment he needs without emptying your bank account. May I ask what company you have pet insurance with? After the astronomical amount we spent on our four babies the past two years, we have vowed to insure any future kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top