2/11 Latte AMPS-316, PMPS-336, +3-398 Now Im worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Whoa! What a blur last night was! After picking up Bear Man at the Niptini bar, we noticed Alex and Putty staggering out of another down the street! drinking09 We picked them up and got them to the party palace, putting Polite Putty in place at the door for the initial meet and greets! Putty aint s polite after a few niptini's I tell ya! :lol: Would make a great 'bouncer' at a bar! ;-) To my surpise, BearMan's suitcase was a shakin' just a little. We opened it up and out jumped Max! Ha! Can you believe that? They didnt even let him out at the bar for a drink?!?!

latte noticed another cat on her throne and thought maybe it was that shadoe cat momma was talking about...but then she realized it didnt look the way I described...*gasp* it was Lya! :o "Shoooo!" She said, this is reserved! I dont think we saw shadoe, but eventually Logan showed up, so Latte got him all cozied up on the throne. Bear Man, Logan, and Latte had a little quiet time talking about how rough things have been at times, but how lucky they are to have beans that have not given up on them. cat_pet_icon Logan got lots of head butts and kisses as the many guests arrived. He was purring the whole time, and really seemed to enjoy the chicken treats. :mrgreen:

I found Latte sittin' by the door at one point. Apparently she was waiting for her best bud, Shadow to arrive. She was so excited to see him! Raja walked right past, as if she belonged right where she was! ;-) Found a spot right next to Logan and watched over him. Eventually, some of the OTJ kitties got together and talked about the good ol days! There were a few easedropping, though I couldnt specifically say which ones. I think at one point I found Gabby trying to work her way into the crowd. ;-)

Speaking of Gabby - that Gizmo sure did make an entrance! Also found every single toy of latte's...even the one's we no longer thought existed. :-D the disco ball was great, and all the special treats beans sent with their kitties! We thank you for trusting us to take care of them.

Just as the party was about over, guess who walked in...YUP! The "Jack and Coke" gang - leo, milo, Roxanne, Niko, and Carolyn haha_smiley Out came the disco ball, again dancing_cat . A few cats found the trampoline I had hiding flip_cat (sorry ohmygod_smile ). It was almost as if the party was just beginning again!

Loooooooooooooooooong Night! So many other things went on...most of them super top secret :cool: . Hopefully they will be revealed to their beans at some point. Or, er, uh...maybe you dont want to know! :shock:

Latte has agreed to clean house today while I do double duty again. 6th cycle this a.m. Might increase to even 2 units tonight, if Im feeling brave. Otherwise will wait for tomorrow night. Good appetite, since having the cypro yesterday. Nice to put numbers aside for a day and just celebrate her being!

yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5866

video link, if you missed it:
http://www.onetruemedia.com/shared?p=a5 ... kin_id=601
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

" Nice to put numbers aside for a day and just celebrate her being!" Here Here!!!
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

Well, my two came home to change and are on their way back over to help "clean up"! I heard some stuff about last night
but added to the little tidbits you shared, the picture is getting filled in. They don't really like us knowing everything that goes on at these wild parties of theirs, ya know? :lol:

Raja kept talking about how handsome and brave Logan is and Shadow kept talking about how gorgeous and brave Latte is...hmmmm....
anyway, they said some of the others might come by to help with the cleanup too. :roll: Sounds like the start of another party to me...but what do I know? Hope they actually help clean up Carolyn...if they begin making more of a mess, please send them right home, k? You must be tired after the big night....what a wonderful celebration it was! :mrgreen:

Thank you so much...for the beautiful video and for sharing with us all. We send cyber hugs to you and Latte and celebrate your time together. You are such a wonderful Mama Bean to her and you are doing so much....bless you Carolyn! ((hugs)) to you and Latte.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

Thank you for hosting this wonderful celebration. I don't know exactly what was on the menu, but Gabby and Latte were apparently into the same stuff. You must have kept Gizmo very busy -- no kitten races this morning, although he did ask for peacock feathers!
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

ok- so back to the numbers...WTH(eck)?!?!?!
+2-334 :shock:

Did someone replace her insulin with water during the party? Good grief!

I have a new box of syringes, unopened. Im going to see if I can exchange them for harpoons today. Im as certain as I have always been that I am actually getting the insulin in her...but?!?!?! This is really wrong. Why movement two days ago, none yesterday, and now movement in the wrong direction today? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

Hangover!! Of course...Hope Latte comes down from there--Moonie still is sleeping!! What was she up to I wonder??
Probably wth Morris--Those two?!!
Like I always say--Fd is unpredicatble!! Have a better day today-Hugs~!
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

I wish I could be of more help with her numbers, but at least stop in and thank Latte for throwing a fantastic party last night. Bear is a lttle hung over today, I think He was asking me where the Clamato juice is.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

I got 4 cats laid out on the floor right now, hairballs all over. I have a bangin' headache and I just listed my Rodeo on craigslist.. that smell is never coming out! Thanks for the party, and Happy 3 Years to you and Latte :-D
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316

Yep, she just must be partied out. Maybe sugarkitties hangovers show up in their #s rather than in the form of a headache. ;)

Latte, it's a wonderful day for a trip to the yellow side! Some of your friends are there and they miss you. :)
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358

Now I am beginning to really get concerned...not just mad or frustrated...but concerned.
it seems every increase is making her worse. Spot checks are NOT revealing any sort of lows. She is surfing high numbers, generally.

My concerns are these numbers causing a crisis I will not be able to afford helping her get over, and losing her because I cant keep her BG's at a decent level. Please keep in mind, she is going to be a lot more sensitive to high numbers because she is not a healthy cat, and her steroid use. I probably would not be AS concerned if she was a healthy9yr old cat, ya know? I would be patient and wait things out.

today:
amps-316
+2-330-something
+10-358
pmps I wont be able to post until later tonight, as I have to shoot and run.

She is only going to go up, or at the minimum, be about the same at pmps. She will rise over 100 pts because it is a pred cycle. The higher the pmps, the more the pred will raise her.

These are the only things I can think of:
1. Infection - but she is showing no typical signs of this
2. Bad Insulin - but why does it seem to show some action, sometimes?
3. Not getting the insulin in her - did not have time to stop and get syringes with longer needles because of 2 jobs today. Have some on hold to pick up from the pharmacy tomorrow on the way home. Its hard to believe that after 3 yrs of giving her injections with the same needle length I am suddenly unable to do it on a regular basis?!?! But yet, her other medicines are getting in just fine with the same syringes?!
4. Pain- I have a call in to her specialist, regular vet, and back up vet. Have not heard back. Will send out emails to regular vet and back up vet tonight.

When I hear back from one of these vets I will try to get some input. I can try and get a u/a done this weekend, but I cant afford a culture or anything like that. I think ketones are checked in that as well. I have not gotten a ketone check yet today. I keep missing her bathroom breaks.

I dont even know if I should increase her tonight. if I do and whatever is going on fixes itself (needle, pain meds, uti, etc) will she plummet? I guess I just wait until that happens and hope to be home for it?

could she suddenly become insulin resistant out of the blue?

Seriously, the insulin does not seem to be doing a darn thing. And, Im really worried.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

How old is the insulin? I would try one more cycle to see what's happening & see when you changed the cartridge..
Dont panic just yet...
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

ok, semi starting from square 1, where are you injecting her? flank? scruff? any difference between left and right side in terms of numbers?

are you shooting exactly 12 hrs apart? no late shots, right?

seems to me some cycles cleo just goes up and lantus will not slow her down. have a feeling that's not uncommon.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

I just changed the cartridge last weekend. It is from the freebie pens. The other two worked just fine. Nothing different with the storage. Cant afford to buy anymore w/ no clue what we will do when it runs out. LOL, though it seems like it wont really matter...cause it aint doing a darn thing anyway. (ok- not funny :sad: )
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

chriscleo said:
ok, semi starting from square 1, where are you injecting her? flank? scruff? any difference between left and right side in terms of numbers?

are you shooting exactly 12 hrs apart? no late shots, right?.

Injecting her where I always have. Shoot in the same side for insulin. Other injections/meds go on other side. I used to alternate, but couldnt keep track of what was going where. Figured insulin should sit alone with no possibility of mixing with other meds (make sense?)

uhhh flank? scruff? Same general area I give fluids...kinda side/scruff? Never in the exact same spot. Sometimes I wonder if her skin is getting too tough and the needle is not going in all the way, even if it feels like it?

Nope, no late shots.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

I should add -
during all of these high numbers she went over 2 days no kibble.
She had some yesterday, but its now been about 18hrs since she has anything. All other food is wellness turkey, chicken, or b/c, and c/l or c/b ff....and babyfood.
Even when she was eating more kibble on a daily basis than she did yesterday, AND on the pred, her numbers were not this high.

What else?

keep the ideas coming. I have not changed a thing in our routine, no new medicines, nada.
But maybe one thing someone says will be what needs fixing.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

was thinking that. if skin is getting thicker in certain area could affect absorbency.
belly shots are ok, too.
thinking you should try belly shot with short needle on cycles you think will run high, to see if that makes a difference.

Here's BD syringes' illustration of feline injection sites: http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx ... 01&id=7374
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

Shadow was higher tonight too....shall I mention the new moon coming on Saturday ?
Nah, I didn't think so.... :roll:
Hoping she will be lower later when you get back. Sometimes this happens..you'd think that not having kibble would
have the opposite effect. Oh Carolyn...hope she has better numbers later on.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

Is she constipated?

Is her hydration OK?

Do you ever take her temp (possible indicator of infection)?

Do you have anything on hand for pain? She may have a touch of Pancreatitis, or be having an IBD flare?

It sounds like she is eating canned but refusing kibble. Is there a chance her teeth are hurting her?

(((Carolyn))) (((Latte)))
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316, +10~358 Now, Im worried

Carolyn
I don't have any advice or better suggestions than what was offered already I just wanted
to say that I hope Latte feels better, especially after such a wonderful day yesterday, and you get some answers.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316,+10~358, PMPS-336, +3-398 Now Im worried

Chris- Thanks for that link. The photo was pretty helpful, along with the explanations. I would say I do the side of her chest, but up higher where it might be considered the scruff at times. Unfortunately she does not let me touch her belly (or back legs). She doesnt bite, but she would if I did that.

I thought I would shoot her other side tonight. Believed I did. Got a little wigged about increasing dose, again...in case Ive been messing up her shots. What if she reacted too much during the day while I was gone, blah, blah. So I backed off to see how she does the next two cycles. Then, as i was about to walk out of the house I realized the way she was laying when I shot...was NOT the 'other' side. It was the same side as usual. Arg! ohmygod_smile

Doesnt it seem strange that 2 days ago she went down to 104 on this dose and suddenly she cant get out of the 300's, 5 or 6 cycles later?!

NDW- ?!?!?! How long does that last? What is considered 'new'? I am moving faster than usual on increases. But no faster than the recommended every 6. Arg.

Constipated - gosh, she has had some real dry and small poops the last few weeks, with every few days offering a grand one to the goddesses. Constipation is a possibility. She has been worse, but better.

Temp - I wish I could do it. She is a pill at the vet for a temp, but we can get one done this weekend Im sure. Her ears have been burning hot most of the time. BUt there is often a direct correlation to high bg and hot ears with her.

Pain Meds - why I have been trying to reach the vets. They are usually much easier to get a hold of. If its pain, it would be from the arthritis - I think. Im scared. I dont want to give her something that will either hurt her forever (or worse). Nor do I want to give her something that will change her personality so much that she is no longer my gal. Im really scared of the pain meds.

kibble - I did worry about her teeth when she was not eating it, since that is unusual. That would be a horrific thing after all she has been through. I could never afford to take care of her teeth when/if they got bad. *sigh* thankfully she has always gotten wonderful comments on them. Its not that she was not wanting her kibble, though. It was more that I was diverting her or home to catch her when she was hungry and offered wet (with lots of treats of course). A few times I took her bowl away. :lol: yesterday, kibble was about all she wanted to eat, because of the cypro. It would be good to have them dbl check her teeth.
You know? She used to eat 1/3 cup evo/day. I would go through a small bag every week or two. She is still working on this bag I bought in the beginning of Jan! So she really is eating A LOT less kibble.

I hope I did the right thing by holding her dose tonight. I wonder if it would be best to keep it the same through tomorrow night when I can try the new needles. gosh, I just dont know.
 
Re: 2/11 Latte AMPS-316,+10~358, PMPS-336, +3-398 Now Im worried

I wonder with all of her medical complications and the renal disease, how easily she clears meds, whatever they are, out of her system. Maybe one of the things to discuss with her vets is which meds are metabolized through the liver vs. kidneys. I'm sure she's on meds that are easy on her kidneys but might it mean that some of these meds may hang around in her system a bit longer. One other thought is that it might not hurt to see if you can get a consultation with a veterinary pharmacologist -- not a pharmacist, a PharmD. (It's the equivalent of a PhD in pharmaceutical science. These are the guys we go to in the hospital to discuss med interactions and the nuances of medication actions. They are usually pretty incredible when it comes to drug issues.)
 
to me, this looks like a bounce from the blue the other day... add in the pred and the numbers have gone higher.
hope you wake up to better numbers...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top